Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter calories: 230 per 35 g

This exact USDA record reports 230 calories for 35 g. That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

USDA reference amount · 35 g

Calories
230 kcal
Protein
1.7 g
Carbohydrate
11.1 g
Total fat
20.6 g
Fiber
1.9 g
Sodium
265 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 35 g

230calories

Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter

Protein
1.7 g
Carbs
11.1 g
Fat
20.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708217

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 230 calories for USDA reference amount at 35 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 656 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.7 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 265 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, popcorn, home-prepared, oil-popped, unsalted, representing 54.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The reference amount and 1 order, NS as to size answer different portion questions. Their values are scaled independently from the same per-100-gram source record.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 1–1,837 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708217: “Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708217, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 kernel” through “1 extra large order” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 kernelUSDA-listed household measure 0.2 g 1 kcal 0 g 0 g 2 mg
1 kids size orderUSDA-listed household measure 84 g 551 kcal 4.2 g 4.5 g 635 mg
1 extra large orderUSDA-listed household measure 280 g 1,837 kcal 13.9 g 15.1 g 2,117 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Popcorn

The comparison set contains 23 exact records in the Popcorn USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708217’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

656 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
496 kcal
Middle 50%
429–522 kcal

Based on 23 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.1 g
Middle 50%
7–10.7 g

Based on 23 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

5.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
10.2 g
Middle 50%
8.4–11.9 g

Based on 23 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

756 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
601 mg
Middle 50%
398–764 mg

Based on 23 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708217’s 35 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A60.9 µg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber1.9 g

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat12.4 g

≈ 62% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium265 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708218 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 kernel to 1 extra large order

    USDA assigns those measures 0.2 g and 280 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 1 kcal to 1,837 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708218

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.5 g less dietary fiber than “Popcorn, movie theater, no butter added.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Snacks, popcorn, home-prepared, oil-popped, unsalted

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Snacks, popcorn, home-prepared, oil-popped, unsalted supplies 54.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “movie theater; with added butter” fits. Inspect FDC 2708218 when “movie theater; no butter added” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter

Exact source wording
“Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708217 · FNDDS 54403005
Named qualifiers
movie theater · with added butter
Source inputs unique in this pair
Butter oil, anhydrous

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Popcorn, movie theater, no butter added

Exact source wording
“Popcorn, movie theater, no butter added”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708218 · FNDDS 54403006
Named qualifiers
movie theater · no butter added

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “movie theater” and “with added butter”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPopcorn, movie theater, with added butter 35 g230 kcal 656 kcal 5 g 58.8 g 5.4 g 756 mg
Popcorn, movie theater, no butter added 28 g169 kcal 603 kcal 6.2 g 48.7 g 6.9 g 762 mg
Popcorn, popped in oil, with added butter 35 g184 kcal 525 kcal 7.7 g 35.2 g 8.4 g 223 mg
Popcorn, popped in oil, no butter added 28 g139 kcal 498 kcal 9 g 28 g 10 g 157 mg
Popcorn, air-popped, with added butter 28 g120 kcal 430 kcal 11 g 15.3 g 12.2 g 227 mg
Popcorn, air-popped, no butter added 20 g77 kcal 385 kcal 12.9 g 4.5 g 14.4 g 162 mg
Popcorn, microwave, butter flavored 35 g181 kcal 518 kcal 9.1 g 30.6 g 10.2 g 764 mg

How to compare FDC 2708217: its source amount is 35 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708217, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 kids size order

551 kcal

84 g

1 small order

735 kcal

112 g

1 medium order

1,194 kcal

182 g

1 large order

1,561 kcal

238 g

1 extra large order

1,837 kcal

280 g

1 order, NS as to size

1,194 kcal

182 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708217, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

12.4 g≈ 62% Daily Value

Total fat

20.6 g≈ 26% Daily Value

Sodium

264.6 mg≈ 12% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708217’s 35 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708217 at 35 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 265 mg sodium, about 12% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 35 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 230 kcal Not established
Protein 1.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 11.1 g 4%
Total fat 20.6 g 26%
Dietary fiber 1.9 g 7%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 264.6 mg 12%
Saturated fat 12.4 g 62%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3 g Not established
Cholesterol 18.2 mg 6%
Potassium 43.4 mg 1%
Calcium 2.8 mg 0%
Iron 0.5 mg 3%
Magnesium 20.7 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 60.9 µg 7%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.6 g Not established

For FDC 2708217, approximate percentages divide the displayed 35 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708217 to 4 source inputs totaling 128.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, popcorn, home-prepared, oil-popped, unsalted, Oil, industrial, coconut, confection fat, typical basis for ice cream coatings, Butter oil, anhydrous. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

128.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, popcorn, home-prepared, oil-popped, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 42259 · encyclopedia page available 70 GM 70 g 54.5%
2 Oil, industrial, coconut, confection fat, typical basis for ice cream coatingsUSDA ingredient 4659 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 23.3%
3 Butter oil, anhydrousUSDA ingredient 1003 · encyclopedia page available 26 GM 26 g 20.2%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 2.5 GM 2.5 g 1.9%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708217, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Popcorn” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories656 kcal603 kcal+53 kcal
Protein5 g6.2 g−1.2 g
Carbohydrate31.6 g39.9 g−8.3 g
Total fat58.8 g48.7 g+10.1 g
Dietary fiber5.4 g6.9 g−1.5 g
Sodium756 mg762 mg−6 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 53 more calories, 1.2 g less protein, and 8.3 g less carbohydrate than “Popcorn, movie theater, no butter added.”

Only this record lists Butter oil, anhydrous. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Snacks, popcorn, home-prepared, oil-popped, unsalted; Oil, industrial, coconut, confection fat, typical basis for ice cream coatings; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Butter oil, anhydrous.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 35 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 order, NS as to size (182 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 order, NS as to size (143 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708217 with FDC 2708218 at equal mass; use their 35 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708217 versus FDC 2708218 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full popcorn source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708217 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708217 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 656 kcal per 100 g becomes 230 kcal at 35 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” We display it as a USDA reference amount because it is a database comparison point—not a suggested portion or a claim about what most people should eat.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708217

FNDDS food code: 54403005

The scaling for FDC 2708217 can be exact while the match to “Popcorn, movie theater, with added butter” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 35 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.