Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Potato chips, barbecue flavored calories: 136 per 1 small bag (28 g)

This exact USDA record reports 136 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 small bag · 28 g

Calories
136 kcal
Protein
1.8 g
Carbohydrate
15.7 g
Total fat
8.7 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
153 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g

136calories

Potato chips, barbecue flavored

Protein
1.8 g
Carbs
15.7 g
Fat
8.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709423

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 136 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 487 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.8 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 153 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, potato chips, barbecue-flavor, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 10–414 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709423: “Potato chips, barbecue flavored.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709423, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 chipUSDA-listed household measure 2 g 10 kcal 0.1 g 0.1 g 11 mg
1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure 28 g 136 kcal 1.8 g 1.1 g 153 mg
1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure 85 g 414 kcal 5.5 g 3.2 g 463 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Potato chips

The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Potato chips USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709423’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

487 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
487 kcal
Middle 50%
487–532 kcal

Based on 25 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

6.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.5 g
Middle 50%
5–6.5 g

Based on 25 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

3.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.8 g
Middle 50%
3.4–4.2 g

Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

545 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
545 mg
Middle 50%
527–633 mg

Based on 25 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709423’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C17 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium333 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium153 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.1 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Potato chips, barbecue flavored,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709426 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 chip to 1 large single serving bag

    USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 10 kcal to 414 kcal.

  2. 02

    Source identity: FDC 2709423 versus 2709426

    The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Snacks, potato chips, barbecue-flavor

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2709423 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Potato chips, barbecue flavored

Exact source wording
“Potato chips, barbecue flavored”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709423 · FNDDS 71200110
Named qualifiers
barbecue flavored

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Potato chips, other flavored

Exact source wording
“Potato chips, other flavored”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709426 · FNDDS 71200140
Named qualifiers
other flavored

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “barbecue flavored”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPotato chips, barbecue flavored 28 g136 kcal 487 kcal 6.5 g 31.1 g 3.8 g 545 mg
Potato chips, ruffled, barbecue flavored 28 g136 kcal 487 kcal 6.5 g 31.1 g 3.8 g 545 mg
Potato chips, cheese flavored 28 g136 kcal 487 kcal 6.5 g 31.1 g 3.8 g 545 mg
Potato chips, other flavored 28 g136 kcal 487 kcal 6.5 g 31.1 g 3.8 g 545 mg
Potato chips, baked, flavored 28 g131 kcal 467 kcal 5 g 18.1 g 4.8 g 726 mg
Potato chips, popped, flavored 28 g131 kcal 467 kcal 5 g 18.1 g 4.8 g 726 mg
Potato chips, restructured, flavored 28 g152 kcal 542 kcal 4.6 g 35.1 g 2.9 g 757 mg

How to compare FDC 2709423: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709423, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 chip

10 kcal

2 g

1 small single serving bag

136 kcal

28 g

1 medium single serving bag

278 kcal

57 g

1 large single serving bag

414 kcal

85 g

1 100 calorie package

88 kcal

18 g

1 cup

122 kcal

25 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709423, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin C

17.5 mg≈ 19% Daily Value

Total fat

8.7 g≈ 11% Daily Value

Potassium

333.2 mg≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709423’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 136 kcal Not established
Protein 1.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 15.7 g 6%
Total fat 8.7 g 11%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 1.5 g Not established
Sodium 152.6 mg 7%
Saturated fat 1.1 g 6%
Monounsaturated Fat 3.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 333.2 mg 7%
Calcium 9 mg 1%
Iron 0.4 mg 2%
Magnesium 16.2 mg 4%
Vitamin C 17.5 mg 19%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 5.6 µg 1%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.7 g Not established

For FDC 2709423, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709423 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato chips, barbecue flavored” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Snacks, potato chips, barbecue-flavor is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, potato chips, barbecue-flavorUSDA ingredient 19042 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709423, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Potato chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Source-equivalent fields

Different source identities, matching published reference fields

Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2709423 and FDC 2709426 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.

Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709423 versus FDC 2709426 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full potato chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Potato chips, barbecue flavored,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709423 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 487 kcal per 100 g becomes 136 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709423

FNDDS food code: 71200110

The scaling for FDC 2709423 can be exact while the match to “Potato chips, barbecue flavored” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.