Energy
lower quarter6 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 47 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 35–61 kcal
Based on 45 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 14 calories for 1 cup (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 240 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 240 g
14calories
Soup, broth
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 14 calories for 1 cup at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 6 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.1 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 893 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 14–55 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707132: “Soup, broth.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707132, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 carton” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 14 kcal | 2.1 g | 0 g | 893 mg |
| 1 individual containerUSDA-listed household measure | 440 g | 26 kcal | 3.9 g | 0 g | 1,637 mg |
| 1 cartonUSDA-listed household measure | 910 g | 55 kcal | 8.1 g | 0 g | 3,385 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 45 exact records in the Soups, broth-based USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707132’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter6 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter0.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter372 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707132’s 240 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium893 mg
≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Soup, broth,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707123 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 240 g and 910 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 14 kcal to 55 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.9 g less dietary fiber than “Soup, meatball.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “broth” fits. Inspect FDC 2707123 when “meatball” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “broth”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSoup, broth | 240 g14 kcal | 6 kcal | 0.9 g | 0.2 g | 0 g | 372 mg |
| Soup, tomato | 245 g47 kcal | 19 kcal | 0.7 g | 0.4 g | 0.9 g | 244 mg |
| Soup, borscht | 245 g49 kcal | 20 kcal | 0.5 g | 0.4 g | 0.8 g | 245 mg |
| Soup, gazpacho | 245 g64 kcal | 26 kcal | 0.8 g | 0.6 g | 1 g | 208 mg |
| Soup, vegetable | 245 g66 kcal | 27 kcal | 0.8 g | 0.5 g | 1 g | 243 mg |
| Soup, fruit | 245 g74 kcal | 30 kcal | 0.5 g | 0.1 g | 0.8 g | 8 mg |
| Soup, chicken | 245 g98 kcal | 40 kcal | 3.4 g | 1.1 g | 0.8 g | 249 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707132: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707132, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
14 kcal
240 g
32 kcal
525 g
55 kcal
910 g
26 kcal
440 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707132, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
892.8 mg≈ 39% Daily ValuePotassium
86.4 mg≈ 2% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707132’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707132 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 2.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707132 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 14 kcal 6 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.1 g 0.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0.6 g 0.2 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 0.5 g 0.2 g | 1% 0% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0.5 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 892.8 mg 372 mg | 39% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | 1% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 2.4 mg 1 mg | 1% 0% |
| Potassium | 86.4 mg 36 mg | 2% 1% |
| Calcium | 12 mg 5 mg | 1% 0% |
| Iron | 0.3 mg 0.1 mg | 2% 1% |
| Magnesium | 4.8 mg 2 mg | 1% 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 234.5 g 97.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707132, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707132 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, broth” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve, Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6008 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
| 2 | Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6194 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707132, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, broth-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 6 kcal | 52 kcal | −46 kcal |
| Protein | 0.9 g | 2.7 g | −1.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0.2 g | 5.5 g | −5.3 g |
| Total fat | 0.2 g | 2.2 g | −2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0.9 g | −0.9 g |
| Sodium | 372 mg | 285 mg | +87 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 46 less calories, 1.8 g less protein, and 5.3 g less carbohydrate than “Soup, meatball.”
Only this record lists Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve; Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve. Only the comparison record lists Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added; Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Potato, cooked, as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve; Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve.
Listed only in the comparison: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added; Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Potato, cooked, as ingredient; and 5 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (240 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707132 with FDC 2707123 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 245 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707132 versus FDC 2707123 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full soups, broth-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Soup, broth” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707132 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.
For “Soup, broth,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707132 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 6 kcal per 100 g becomes 14 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707132
FNDDS food code: 28340120
The scaling for FDC 2707132 can be exact while the match to “Soup, broth” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.