Dairymoderate variability

Almond milk, unsweetened calories: 37 per 1 cup (244 g)

This exact USDA record reports 37 calories for 1 cup (244 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 244 g

Calories
37 kcal
Protein
1.3 g
Carbohydrate
0.8 g
Total fat
3 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
146 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 244 g

37calories

Almond milk, unsweetened

Protein
1.3 g
Carbs
0.8 g
Fat
3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705409

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 37 calories for 1 cup at 244 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 15 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.3 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 146 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is almond milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 5–37 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705409: “Almond milk, unsweetened.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705409, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure 30.5 g 5 kcal 0.2 g 0 g 18 mg
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 183 g 27 kcal 1 g 0 g 110 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 244 g 37 kcal 1.3 g 0 g 146 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Plant-based milk

The comparison set contains 10 exact records in the Plant-based milk USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705409’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

15 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
50 kcal
Middle 50%
39–54 kcal

Based on 10 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

0.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.6–2.9 g

Based on 10 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.1 g
Middle 50%
0–0.1 g

Based on 10 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

60 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
56 mg
Middle 50%
35–60 mg

Based on 10 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705409’s 244 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium422 mg

≈ 32% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A100 µg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium146 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.3 g

≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Almond milk, unsweetened,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705407 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fl oz to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 30.5 g and 244 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 5 kcal to 37 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705407

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4 g less carbohydrate than “Almond milk, sweetened.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Almond milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “unsweetened” fits. Inspect FDC 2705407 when “sweetened” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Almond milk, unsweetened

Exact source wording
“Almond milk, unsweetened”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705409 · FNDDS 11350020
Named qualifiers
unsweetened

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Almond milk, sweetened

Exact source wording
“Almond milk, sweetened”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705407 · FNDDS 11350000
Named qualifiers
sweetened
Source inputs unique in this pair
Sugars, granulated

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “unsweetened”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordAlmond milk, unsweetened 244 g37 kcal 15 kcal 0.6 g 1.2 g 0 g 60 mg
Almond milk, sweetened 244 g73 kcal 30 kcal 0.5 g 1.2 g 0 g 58 mg
Soy milk, unsweetened 244 g93 kcal 38 kcal 3.6 g 2.1 g 0 g 34 mg
Almond milk, chocolate 244 g105 kcal 43 kcal 0.6 g 1.2 g 0.1 g 56 mg
Rice milk 244 g115 kcal 47 kcal 0.3 g 1 g 0.3 g 39 mg
Soy milk, sweetened 244 g129 kcal 53 kcal 3.4 g 2.1 g 0 g 33 mg
Soy milk, chocolate 244 g156 kcal 64 kcal 3.4 g 2 g 0.1 g 32 mg

How to compare FDC 2705409: its source amount is 244 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705409, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

37 kcal

244 g

1 fl oz

5 kcal

31 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705409, Calcium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Calcium

422.1 mg≈ 33% Daily Value

Vitamin A

100 µg≈ 11% Daily Value

Vitamin D

2.2 µg≈ 11% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705409’s 244 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 244 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 37 kcal Not established
Protein 1.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0.8 g 0%
Total fat 3 g 4%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 146.4 mg 6%
Saturated fat 0.3 g 1%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.7 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 75.6 mg 2%
Calcium 422.1 mg 32%
Iron 0.7 mg 4%
Magnesium 17.1 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 2.2 µg 11%
Vitamin A 100 µg 11%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 237.7 g Not established

For FDC 2705409, approximate percentages divide the displayed 244 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705409 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Almond milk, unsweetened” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Almond milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Almond milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stableUSDA ingredient 14091 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705409, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Plant-based milk” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories15 kcal30 kcal−15 kcal
Protein0.6 g0.5 g+0 g
Carbohydrate0.3 g4.3 g−4 g
Total fat1.2 g1.2 g+0 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium60 mg58 mg+2 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 15 less calories and 4 g less carbohydrate than “Almond milk, sweetened.”

Only the comparison record lists Sugars, granulated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Almond milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable.

Listed only in the comparison: Sugars, granulated.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705409 with FDC 2705407 at equal mass; use their 244 g and 244 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705409 versus FDC 2705407 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full plant-based milk source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.

For “Almond milk, unsweetened,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added flavors or sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705409 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 15 kcal per 100 g becomes 37 kcal at 244 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705409

FNDDS food code: 11350020

The scaling for FDC 2705409 can be exact while the match to “Almond milk, unsweetened” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 244 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.