Energy
lower quarter38 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 50 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 39–54 kcal
Based on 10 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 93 calories for 1 cup (244 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 244 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 244 g
93calories
Soy milk, unsweetened
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 93 calories for 1 cup at 244 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 38 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 8.7 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 83 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is soy milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 12–93 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705405: “Soy milk, unsweetened.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705405, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure | 30.5 g | 12 kcal | 1.1 g | 0 g | 10 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 183 g | 70 kcal | 6.5 g | 0 g | 62 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 244 g | 93 kcal | 8.7 g | 0 g | 83 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 10 exact records in the Plant-based milk USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705405’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter38 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter3.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter34 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705405’s 244 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium246 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A141.5 µg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.8 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium83 mg
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Soy milk, unsweetened,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705404 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 30.5 g and 244 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 12 kcal to 93 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.9 g less carbohydrate than “Soy milk, sweetened.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “unsweetened” fits. Inspect FDC 2705404 when “sweetened” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “unsweetened”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSoy milk, unsweetened | 244 g93 kcal | 38 kcal | 3.6 g | 2.1 g | 0 g | 34 mg |
| Soy milk, sweetened | 244 g129 kcal | 53 kcal | 3.4 g | 2.1 g | 0 g | 33 mg |
| Almond milk, unsweetened | 244 g37 kcal | 15 kcal | 0.6 g | 1.2 g | 0 g | 60 mg |
| Soy milk, chocolate | 244 g156 kcal | 64 kcal | 3.4 g | 2 g | 0.1 g | 32 mg |
| Rice milk | 244 g115 kcal | 47 kcal | 0.3 g | 1 g | 0.3 g | 39 mg |
| Almond milk, chocolate | 244 g105 kcal | 43 kcal | 0.6 g | 1.2 g | 0.1 g | 56 mg |
| Almond milk, sweetened | 244 g73 kcal | 30 kcal | 0.5 g | 1.2 g | 0 g | 58 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705405: its source amount is 244 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705405, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
93 kcal
244 g
12 kcal
31 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705405, Calcium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Calcium
246.4 mg≈ 19% Daily ValueVitamin A
141.5 µg≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705405’s 244 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705405 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 8.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 244 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 93 kcal 38 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 8.7 g 3.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 3.1 g 1.3 g | 1% 0% |
| Total fat | 5.2 g 2.1 g | 7% 3% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 1.4 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 83 mg 34 mg | 4% 1% |
| Saturated fat | 0.8 g 0.3 g | 4% 2% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.8 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 385.5 mg 158 mg | 8% 3% |
| Calcium | 246.4 mg 101 mg | 19% 8% |
| Iron | 1.3 mg 0.5 mg | 7% 3% |
| Magnesium | 53.7 mg 22 mg | 13% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 1.7 µg 0.7 µg | 9% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 141.5 µg 58 µg | 16% 6% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 225.5 g 92.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705405, approximate percentages divide the displayed 244 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705405 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soy milk, unsweetened” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Soy milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Soy milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stableUSDA ingredient 16222 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705405, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Plant-based milk” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 38 kcal | 53 kcal | −15 kcal |
| Protein | 3.6 g | 3.4 g | +0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 1.3 g | 5.2 g | −3.9 g |
| Total fat | 2.1 g | 2.1 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 34 mg | 33 mg | +1 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 15 less calories and 3.9 g less carbohydrate than “Soy milk, sweetened.”
Only the comparison record lists Sugars, granulated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Soy milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable.
Listed only in the comparison: Sugars, granulated.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705405 with FDC 2705404 at equal mass; use their 244 g and 244 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705405 versus FDC 2705404 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full plant-based milk source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Soy milk, unsweetened” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705405 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.
For “Soy milk, unsweetened,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705405 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 38 kcal per 100 g becomes 93 kcal at 244 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705405
FNDDS food code: 11320100
The scaling for FDC 2705405 can be exact while the match to “Soy milk, unsweetened” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 244 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.