Energy
middle half226 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 267 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 208–343 kcal
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 45 calories for 1 tablespoon (20 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 tablespoon · 20 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 tablespoon · 20 g
45calories
Bean paste, sweetened
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 45 calories for 1 tablespoon at 20 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 226 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 1.2 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 25 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, representing 67.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 tablespoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710309: “Bean paste, sweetened.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710309, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 15 g | 34 kcal | 0.9 g | 0.8 g | 19 mg |
| 1 tablespoonUSDA-listed household measure | 20 g | 45 kcal | 1.2 g | 1.1 g | 25 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 25 g | 57 kcal | 1.6 g | 1.3 g | 31 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Jams, syrups, toppings USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710309’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half226 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter6.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter5.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half124 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710309’s 20 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium25 mg
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bean paste, sweetened,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710308 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 15–25 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 34 kcal and 57 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 123 mg more sodium than “Sweet potato paste.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt supplies 67.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “sweetened” fits. Inspect FDC 2710308 when the exact wording “Sweet potato paste” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “sweetened”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBean paste, sweetened | 20 g45 kcal | 226 kcal | 6.2 g | 0.5 g | 5.3 g | 124 mg |
| Sweet potato paste | 20 g61 kcal | 305 kcal | 0.5 g | 0.3 g | 0.9 g | 1 mg |
| Simple syrup | 40 g74 kcal | 184 kcal | 0 g | 0.2 g | 0 g | 3 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710309: its source amount is 20 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710309, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
45 kcal
20 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710309, Dietary fiber is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Dietary fiber
1.1 g≈ 4% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
10 g≈ 4% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710309’s 20 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2710309 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 1.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 20 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 45 kcal 226 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 1.2 g 6.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 10 g 50 g | 4% 18% |
| Total fat | 0.1 g 0.5 g | 0% 1% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g 5.3 g | 4% 19% |
| Sugars | 6.8 g 33.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 24.8 mg 124 mg | 1% 5% |
| Saturated fat | 0 g 0.1 g | 0% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 58 mg 290 mg | 1% 6% |
| Calcium | 4.2 mg 21 mg | 0% 2% |
| Iron | 0.4 mg 2.1 mg | 2% 12% |
| Magnesium | 6.4 mg 32 mg | 2% 8% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.9 mg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 8.4 g 42.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710309, approximate percentages divide the displayed 20 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710309 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bean paste, sweetened” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, Sugars, granulated, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without saltUSDA ingredient 16033 · encyclopedia page available | 68 GM | 68 g | 67.8% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 32 GM | 32 g | 31.9% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710309, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Jams, syrups, toppings” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 226 kcal | 305 kcal | −79 kcal |
| Protein | 6.2 g | 0.5 g | +5.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 50 g | 75.1 g | −25.1 g |
| Total fat | 0.5 g | 0.3 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 5.3 g | 0.9 g | +4.4 g |
| Sodium | 124 mg | 1 mg | +123 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 79 less calories, 5.7 g more protein, and 25.1 g less carbohydrate than “Sweet potato paste.”
Only this record lists Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Salt, table. Only the comparison record lists Sweet potato, cooked, as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Sugars, granulated.
Listed only in this record: Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Sweet potato, cooked, as ingredient.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 20 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (20 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 20 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (20 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710309 with FDC 2710308 at equal mass; use their 20 g and 20 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710309 versus FDC 2710308 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full jams, syrups, toppings source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount and type of sweetener, amount used, recipe or brand, concentration.
For “Bean paste, sweetened,” resolve amount and type of sweetener first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710309 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 226 kcal per 100 g becomes 45 kcal at 20 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 tablespoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710309
FNDDS food code: 91407150
The scaling for FDC 2710309 can be exact while the match to “Bean paste, sweetened” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 20 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.