Energy
middle half263 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 155 calories for 1 medium or regular slice (59 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium or regular slice · 59 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium or regular slice · 59 g
155calories
Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 155 calories for 1 medium or regular slice at 59 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 263 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.4 g protein, 2.7 g fiber, and 243 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, french or vienna, whole wheat, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium or regular slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 9–1,126 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707729: “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707729, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 loaf (14" long)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 3.4 g | 9 kcal | 0.3 g | 0.2 g | 14 mg |
| 1 medium or regular sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 59 g | 155 kcal | 5.4 g | 2.7 g | 243 mg |
| 1 loaf (14" long)USDA-listed household measure | 428 g | 1,126 kcal | 39.2 g | 19.7 g | 1,763 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707729’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half263 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter412 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707729’s 59 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber2.7 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium34 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium243 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707728 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 3.4 g and 428 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 9 kcal to 1,126 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 24 kcal more calories than “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “French or Vienna; whole wheat; toasted” fits. Inspect FDC 2707728 when “French or Vienna; whole wheat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “French or Vienna”, “whole wheat”, and “toasted”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted | 59 g155 kcal | 263 kcal | 9.2 g | 1.1 g | 4.6 g | 412 mg |
| Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat | 64 g153 kcal | 239 kcal | 8.3 g | 1 g | 4.2 g | 375 mg |
| Bread, whole wheat, toasted | 33 g92 kcal | 279 kcal | 13.5 g | 3.9 g | 6.6 g | 473 mg |
| Bread, French or Vienna, toasted | 59 g176 kcal | 299 kcal | 11.8 g | 2.7 g | 2.4 g | 662 mg |
| Bread, whole wheat, with raisins, toasted | 33 g105 kcal | 319 kcal | 9.5 g | 4.6 g | 7.2 g | 528 mg |
| Bread, French or Vienna | 64 g174 kcal | 272 kcal | 10.8 g | 2.4 g | 2.2 g | 602 mg |
| Bread, whole wheat | 36 g91 kcal | 254 kcal | 12.3 g | 3.6 g | 6 g | 430 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707729: its source amount is 59 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707729, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
9 kcal
3 g
74 kcal
28 g
1,126 kcal
428 g
76 kcal
29 g
155 kcal
59 g
231 kcal
88 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707729, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
31.9 g≈ 12% Daily ValueSodium
243.1 mg≈ 11% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707729’s 59 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707729 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 5.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707729 at 59 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 59 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 155 kcal 263 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.4 g 9.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 31.9 g 54 g | 12% 20% |
| Total fat | 0.7 g 1.1 g | 1% 1% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.7 g 4.6 g | 10% 16% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 243.1 mg 412 mg | 11% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 105.6 mg 179 mg | 2% 4% |
| Calcium | 27.1 mg 46 mg | 2% 4% |
| Iron | 0.5 mg 0.8 mg | 3% 5% |
| Magnesium | 33.6 mg 57 mg | 8% 14% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 20 g 33.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707729, approximate percentages divide the displayed 59 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707729 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheatUSDA ingredient 51301540 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707729, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 263 kcal | 239 kcal | +24 kcal |
| Protein | 9.2 g | 8.3 g | +0.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 54 g | 49.1 g | +4.9 g |
| Total fat | 1.1 g | 1 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4.6 g | 4.2 g | +0.4 g |
| Sodium | 412 mg | 375 mg | +37 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 24 more calories than “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat.”
Only this record lists Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat. Only the comparison record lists Bread, french or vienna, whole wheat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat.
Listed only in the comparison: Bread, french or vienna, whole wheat.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 59 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (59 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 64 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (64 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707729 with FDC 2707728 at equal mass; use their 59 g and 64 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707729 versus FDC 2707728 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2707729 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707729 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707729 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 263 kcal per 100 g becomes 155 kcal at 59 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium or regular slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707729
FNDDS food code: 51301550
The scaling for FDC 2707729 can be exact while the match to “Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 59 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.