Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Bread, French or Vienna calories: 174 per 1 medium or regular slice (64 g)

This exact USDA record reports 174 calories for 1 medium or regular slice (64 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium or regular slice · 64 g

Calories
174 kcal
Protein
6.9 g
Carbohydrate
33.2 g
Total fat
1.5 g
Fiber
1.4 g
Sodium
385 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium or regular slice · 64 g

174calories

Bread, French or Vienna

Protein
6.9 g
Carbs
33.2 g
Fat
1.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707610

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 174 calories for 1 medium or regular slice at 64 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 272 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 6.9 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 385 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough), representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium or regular slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 10–1,278 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707610: “Bread, French or Vienna.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707610, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 loaf (14" long)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 3.7 g 10 kcal 0.4 g 0.1 g 22 mg
1 medium or regular sliceUSDA-listed household measure 64 g 174 kcal 6.9 g 1.4 g 385 mg
1 loaf (14" long)USDA-listed household measure 470 g 1,278 kcal 50.8 g 10.3 g 2,829 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Yeast breads

The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707610’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

272 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
277 kcal
Middle 50%
262–299 kcal

Based on 104 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

10.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.8 g
Middle 50%
8.8–11.4 g

Based on 104 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

2.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–6.3 g

Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

602 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
495 mg
Middle 50%
447–585 mg

Based on 104 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707610’s 64 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber1.4 g

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium385 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.3 g

≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Bread, French or Vienna,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707611 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 loaf (14" long)

    USDA assigns those measures 3.7 g and 470 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 10 kcal to 1,278 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707611

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 27 kcal less calories than “Bread, French or Vienna, toasted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough)

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “French or Vienna” fits. Inspect FDC 2707611 when “French or Vienna; toasted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Bread, French or Vienna

Exact source wording
“Bread, French or Vienna”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707610 · FNDDS 51107010
Named qualifiers
French or Vienna

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Bread, French or Vienna, toasted

Exact source wording
“Bread, French or Vienna, toasted”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707611 · FNDDS 51107040
Named qualifiers
French or Vienna · toasted

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “French or Vienna”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBread, French or Vienna 64 g174 kcal 272 kcal 10.8 g 2.4 g 2.2 g 602 mg
Bread, French or Vienna, toasted 59 g176 kcal 299 kcal 11.8 g 2.7 g 2.4 g 662 mg
Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat 64 g153 kcal 239 kcal 8.3 g 1 g 4.2 g 375 mg
Bread, French or Vienna, whole wheat, toasted 59 g155 kcal 263 kcal 9.2 g 1.1 g 4.6 g 412 mg
Bread, Cuban 20 g54 kcal 272 kcal 10.8 g 2.4 g 2.2 g 602 mg
Bread, raisin 28 g76 kcal 270 kcal 8.8 g 3.3 g 2.5 g 408 mg
Bread, barley 28 g77 kcal 274 kcal 10.7 g 4.5 g 4 g 450 mg

How to compare FDC 2707610: its source amount is 64 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707610, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small or thin/very thin slice

87 kcal

32 g

1 medium or regular slice

174 kcal

64 g

1 large or thick slice

261 kcal

96 g

1 slice, crust not eaten

84 kcal

31 g

1 slice, snack-size

27 kcal

10 g

1 slice, Vienna bread

76 kcal

28 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707610, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

385.3 mg≈ 17% Daily Value

Iron

2.5 mg≈ 14% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707610’s 64 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707610 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 6.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707610 at 64 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 385 mg sodium, about 17% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 64 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 174 kcal Not established
Protein 6.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 33.2 g 12%
Total fat 1.5 g 2%
Dietary fiber 1.4 g 5%
Sugars 3 g Not established
Sodium 385.3 mg 17%
Saturated fat 0.3 g 2%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 74.9 mg 2%
Calcium 33.3 mg 3%
Iron 2.5 mg 14%
Magnesium 20.5 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 21.1 g Not established

For FDC 2707610, approximate percentages divide the displayed 64 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707610 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, French or Vienna” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough) is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough)USDA ingredient 18029 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707610, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories272 kcal299 kcal−27 kcal
Protein10.8 g11.8 g−1 g
Carbohydrate51.9 g57 g−5.1 g
Total fat2.4 g2.7 g−0.2 g
Dietary fiber2.2 g2.4 g−0.2 g
Sodium602 mg662 mg−60 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 less calories than “Bread, French or Vienna, toasted.”

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough).

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 64 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (64 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 59 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (59 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707610 with FDC 2707611 at equal mass; use their 64 g and 59 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707610 versus FDC 2707611 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2707610 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Bread, French or Vienna,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707610 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 272 kcal per 100 g becomes 174 kcal at 64 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium or regular slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707610

FNDDS food code: 51107010

The scaling for FDC 2707610 can be exact while the match to “Bread, French or Vienna” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 64 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.