Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Cake, fruit cake calories: 373 per 1 cake slice (115 g)

This exact USDA record reports 373 calories for 1 cake slice (115 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cake slice · 115 g

Calories
373 kcal
Protein
3.3 g
Carbohydrate
70.8 g
Total fat
10.5 g
Fiber
4.3 g
Sodium
116 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 piece/slice, any size · 115 g

373calories

Cake, fruit cake

Protein
3.3 g
Carbs
70.8 g
Fat
10.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707875

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 373 calories for 1 cake slice at 115 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 324 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3.3 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 116 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cake, fruitcake, commercially prepared, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 373–389 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707875: “Cake, fruit cake.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707875, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 86.3 g 279 kcal 2.5 g 3.2 g 87 mg
1 piece/slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 115 g 373 kcal 3.3 g 4.3 g 116 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 120 g 389 kcal 3.5 g 4.4 g 121 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cakes and pies

The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707875’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

324 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
322 kcal
Middle 50%
285–368 kcal

Based on 65 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

2.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.6–4.8 g

Based on 65 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

3.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.7–1.9 g

Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

101 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
280 mg
Middle 50%
214–313 mg

Based on 65 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707875’s 115 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber4.3 g

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron2 mg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat1.2 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium116 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cake, fruit cake,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707854 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 115 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 86.3–143.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 279 kcal and 466 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707854

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 8.8 g more total fat than “Cake, angel food.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Cake, fruitcake, commercially prepared

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “fruit cake” fits. Inspect FDC 2707854 when “angel food” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cake, fruit cake

Exact source wording
“Cake, fruit cake”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707875 · FNDDS 53110000
Named qualifiers
fruit cake
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cake, fruitcake, commercially prepared

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cake, angel food

Exact source wording
“Cake, angel food”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707854 · FNDDS 53101100
Named qualifiers
angel food
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cake, angelfood, dry mix, prepared

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fruit cake”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCake, fruit cake 115 g373 kcal 324 kcal 2.9 g 9.1 g 3.7 g 101 mg
Cake, pound 115 g406 kcal 353 kcal 5 g 14 g 0.6 g 377 mg
Cake, sponge 65 g189 kcal 290 kcal 5.4 g 2.7 g 0.5 g 623 mg
Cake, cream 200 g572 kcal 286 kcal 3.8 g 17 g 0.4 g 234 mg
Cake or cupcake, strawberry 175 g571 kcal 326 kcal 2.2 g 12.9 g 0.5 g 283 mg
Cake, torte 200 g482 kcal 241 kcal 3.3 g 10.4 g 0.9 g 273 mg
Cake or cupcake, lemon 175 g593 kcal 339 kcal 2.4 g 13.5 g 0.4 g 304 mg

How to compare FDC 2707875: its source amount is 115 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707875, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece/slice, any size

373 kcal

115 g

1 cup

389 kcal

120 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707875, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

70.8 g≈ 26% Daily Value

Dietary fiber

4.3 g≈ 15% Daily Value

Total fat

10.5 g≈ 13% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707875’s 115 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707875 at 115 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 4.3 g dietary fiber, about 15% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 115 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 373 kcal Not established
Protein 3.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 70.8 g 26%
Total fat 10.5 g 13%
Dietary fiber 4.3 g 15%
Sugars 31.5 g Not established
Sodium 116.2 mg 5%
Saturated fat 1.2 g 6%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 5.8 mg 2%
Potassium 176 mg 4%
Calcium 38 mg 3%
Iron 2.4 mg 13%
Magnesium 18.4 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0.6 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 8.1 µg 1%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 29.1 g Not established

For FDC 2707875, approximate percentages divide the displayed 115 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707875 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake, fruit cake” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Cake, fruitcake, commercially prepared is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cake, fruitcake, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18110 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707875, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories324 kcal257 kcal+67 kcal
Protein2.9 g6.1 g−3.2 g
Carbohydrate61.6 g58.7 g+2.9 g
Total fat9.1 g0.3 g+8.8 g
Dietary fiber3.7 g0.2 g+3.5 g
Sodium101 mg511 mg−410 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 67 more calories, 3.2 g less protein, and 8.8 g more total fat than “Cake, angel food.”

Only this record lists Cake, fruitcake, commercially prepared. Only the comparison record lists Cake, angelfood, dry mix, prepared. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Cake, fruitcake, commercially prepared.

Listed only in the comparison: Cake, angelfood, dry mix, prepared.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (115 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (60 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707875 with FDC 2707854 at equal mass; use their 115 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707875 versus FDC 2707854 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Cake, fruit cake,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707875 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 324 kcal per 100 g becomes 373 kcal at 115 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707875

FNDDS food code: 53110000

The scaling for FDC 2707875 can be exact while the match to “Cake, fruit cake” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 115 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.