Energy
middle half353 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 322 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 285–368 kcal
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 406 calories for 1 cake slice (115 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cake slice · 115 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 piece/slice, any size · 115 g
406calories
Cake, pound
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 406 calories for 1 cake slice at 115 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 353 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.8 g protein, 0.7 g fiber, and 434 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cake, pound, commercially prepared, butter (includes fresh and frozen), representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 353–406 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707882: “Cake, pound.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707882, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 piece/slice, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 86.3 g | 304 kcal | 4.3 g | 0.5 g | 325 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 100 g | 353 kcal | 5 g | 0.6 g | 377 mg |
| 1 piece/slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 115 g | 406 kcal | 5.8 g | 0.7 g | 434 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707882’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half353 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter377 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707882’s 115 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A80.5 µg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.5 g
≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium434 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cake, pound,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707854 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 100 g and 115 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 353 kcal to 406 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 13.7 g more total fat than “Cake, angel food.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “pound” fits. Inspect FDC 2707854 when “angel food” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “pound”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCake, pound | 115 g406 kcal | 353 kcal | 5 g | 14 g | 0.6 g | 377 mg |
| Cake, fruit cake | 115 g373 kcal | 324 kcal | 2.9 g | 9.1 g | 3.7 g | 101 mg |
| Cake, sponge | 65 g189 kcal | 290 kcal | 5.4 g | 2.7 g | 0.5 g | 623 mg |
| Cake, cream | 200 g572 kcal | 286 kcal | 3.8 g | 17 g | 0.4 g | 234 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, marble | 175 g607 kcal | 347 kcal | 3.1 g | 15.1 g | 1.2 g | 305 mg |
| Cake, torte | 200 g482 kcal | 241 kcal | 3.3 g | 10.4 g | 0.9 g | 273 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, lemon | 175 g593 kcal | 339 kcal | 2.4 g | 13.5 g | 0.4 g | 304 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707882: its source amount is 115 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707882, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
406 kcal
115 g
353 kcal
100 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707882, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
5.5 g≈ 28% Daily ValueCholesterol
75.9 mg≈ 25% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
61.6 g≈ 22% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707882’s 115 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707882 at 115 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 115 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 406 kcal 353 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.8 g 5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 61.6 g 53.6 g | 22% 19% |
| Total fat | 16.1 g 14 g | 21% 18% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.7 g 0.6 g | 2% 2% |
| Sugars | 38.4 g 33.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 433.6 mg 377 mg | 19% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 5.5 g 4.8 g | 28% 24% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.5 g 3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.9 g 3.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 75.9 mg 66 mg | 25% 22% |
| Potassium | 171.4 mg 149 mg | 4% 3% |
| Calcium | 54.1 mg 47 mg | 4% 4% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 1.5 mg | 9% 8% |
| Magnesium | 9.2 mg 8 mg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.9 µg 0.8 µg | 5% 4% |
| Vitamin A | 80.5 µg 70 µg | 9% 8% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 29.8 g 25.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707882, approximate percentages divide the displayed 115 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707882 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake, pound” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Cake, pound, commercially prepared, butter (includes fresh and frozen) is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cake, pound, commercially prepared, butter (includes fresh and frozen)USDA ingredient 18120 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707882, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 353 kcal | 257 kcal | +96 kcal |
| Protein | 5 g | 6.1 g | −1.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 53.6 g | 58.7 g | −5.1 g |
| Total fat | 14 g | 0.3 g | +13.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.6 g | 0.2 g | +0.4 g |
| Sodium | 377 mg | 511 mg | −134 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 96 more calories, 1.1 g less protein, and 13.7 g more total fat than “Cake, angel food.”
Only this record lists Cake, pound, commercially prepared, butter (includes fresh and frozen). Only the comparison record lists Cake, angelfood, dry mix, prepared. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Cake, pound, commercially prepared, butter (includes fresh and frozen).
Listed only in the comparison: Cake, angelfood, dry mix, prepared.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (115 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (60 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707882 with FDC 2707854 at equal mass; use their 115 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707882 versus FDC 2707854 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cake, pound” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707882 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cake, pound,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707882 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 353 kcal per 100 g becomes 406 kcal at 115 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707882
FNDDS food code: 53116000
The scaling for FDC 2707882 can be exact while the match to “Cake, pound” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 115 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.