Energy
middle half285 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 322 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 285–368 kcal
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 285 calories for 1 cake slice (100 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cake slice · 100 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 piece/slice, any size · 100 g
285calories
Cake, jelly roll
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 285 calories for 1 cake slice at 100 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 285 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.1 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, and 357 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cake, sponge, representing 55% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707878: “Cake, jelly roll.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707878, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 75 g | 214 kcal | 2.4 g | 0.6 g | 268 mg |
| 1 piece/slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 100 g | 285 kcal | 3.1 g | 0.8 g | 357 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 125 g | 356 kcal | 3.9 g | 1 g | 446 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707878’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half285 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter357 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707878’s 100 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium357 mg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.4 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cake, jelly roll,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707896 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 75–125 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 214 kcal and 356 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.2 g less total fat than “Cake, strawberry shortcake.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Cake, sponge supplies 55% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “jelly roll” fits. Inspect FDC 2707896 when “strawberry shortcake” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “jelly roll”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCake, jelly roll | 100 g285 kcal | 285 kcal | 3.1 g | 1.5 g | 0.8 g | 357 mg |
| Cake, cream | 200 g572 kcal | 286 kcal | 3.8 g | 17 g | 0.4 g | 234 mg |
| Cake, sponge | 65 g189 kcal | 290 kcal | 5.4 g | 2.7 g | 0.5 g | 623 mg |
| Ice cream cake | 34 g96 kcal | 283 kcal | 3 g | 12.7 g | 0.5 g | 196 mg |
| Cake, fruit cake | 115 g373 kcal | 324 kcal | 2.9 g | 9.1 g | 3.7 g | 101 mg |
| Cake, torte | 200 g482 kcal | 241 kcal | 3.3 g | 10.4 g | 0.9 g | 273 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, gingerbread | 115 g317 kcal | 276 kcal | 3.6 g | 9.2 g | 1 g | 411 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707878: its source amount is 100 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707878, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
285 kcal
100 g
285 kcal
100 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707878, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
64.5 g≈ 24% Daily ValueCholesterol
56 mg≈ 19% Daily ValueSodium
357 mg≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707878’s 100 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707878 at 100 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 100 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 285 kcal 285 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.1 g 3.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 64.5 g 64.5 g | 23% 23% |
| Total fat | 1.5 g 1.5 g | 2% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g 0.8 g | 3% 3% |
| Sugars | 42 g 42 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 357 mg 357 mg | 16% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 0.4 g 0.4 g | 2% 2% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.5 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 56 mg 56 mg | 19% 19% |
| Potassium | 89 mg 89 mg | 2% 2% |
| Calcium | 48 mg 48 mg | 4% 4% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 1.7 mg | 10% 10% |
| Magnesium | 8 mg 8 mg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 4 mg 4 mg | 4% 4% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 24 µg 24 µg | 3% 3% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 30 g 30 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707878, approximate percentages divide the displayed 100 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707878 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake, jelly roll” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cake, sponge, Jams and preserves. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cake, spongeUSDA ingredient 53118100 | 55 GM | 55 g | 55% |
| 2 | Jams and preservesUSDA ingredient 19297 · encyclopedia page available | 45 GM | 45 g | 45% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707878, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 285 kcal | 214 kcal | +71 kcal |
| Protein | 3.1 g | 3.3 g | −0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 64.5 g | 40.1 g | +24.4 g |
| Total fat | 1.5 g | 4.7 g | −3.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g | 0.9 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 357 mg | 313 mg | +44 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 71 more calories, 24.4 g more carbohydrate, and 3.2 g less total fat than “Cake, strawberry shortcake.”
Only this record lists Jams and preserves. Only the comparison record lists Strawberries, frozen, unsweetened (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Sugars, granulated; Cream, whipped, cream topping, pressurized. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cake, sponge.
Listed only in this record: Jams and preserves.
Listed only in the comparison: Strawberries, frozen, unsweetened (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Sugars, granulated; Cream, whipped, cream topping, pressurized.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 100 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (100 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (175 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707878 with FDC 2707896 at equal mass; use their 100 g and 175 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707878 versus FDC 2707896 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cake, jelly roll” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707878 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cake, jelly roll,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707878 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 285 kcal per 100 g becomes 285 kcal at 100 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707878
FNDDS food code: 53113000
The scaling for FDC 2707878 can be exact while the match to “Cake, jelly roll” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 100 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.