Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar calories: 99 per 1 bar (21 g)

This exact USDA record reports 99 calories for 1 bar (21 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)

Quick facts

1 bar · 21 g

Calories
99 kcal
Protein
2.1 g
Carbohydrate
13.5 g
Total fat
4.2 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
62 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 bar · 21 g

99calories

Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)

Protein
2.1 g
Carbs
13.5 g
Fat
4.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708094

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 99 calories for 1 bar at 21 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 471 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.1 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 62 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, granola bars, hard, plain, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 bar at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 99–198 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708094: “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708094, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 package (2 bars)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 15.8 g 74 kcal 1.6 g 0.8 g 46 mg
1 barUSDA-listed household measure 21 g 99 kcal 2.1 g 1.1 g 62 mg
1 package (2 bars)USDA-listed household measure 42 g 198 kcal 4.2 g 2.2 g 123 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cereal bars

The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Cereal bars USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708094’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

471 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
416 kcal
Middle 50%
389–473 kcal

Based on 28 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

10.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.2 g
Middle 50%
5–9.2 g

Based on 28 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

5.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4.3 g
Middle 50%
3–5.7 g

Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

294 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
293 mg
Middle 50%
193–350 mg

Based on 28 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708094’s 21 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium62 mg

≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.5 g

≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708093 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 bar to 1 package (2 bars)

    USDA assigns those measures 21 g and 42 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 99 kcal to 198 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708093

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.4 g more dietary fiber than “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Sweet and Salty Granola Bar).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)” fits. Inspect FDC 2708093 when the exact wording “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Sweet and Salty Granola Bar)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)

Exact source wording
“Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708094 · FNDDS 53710906
Source inputs unique in this pair
Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar) 21 g99 kcal 471 kcal 10.1 g 19.8 g 5.3 g 294 mg
Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Sweet and Salty Granola Bar) 35 g170 kcal 487 kcal 9.1 g 22.9 g 2.9 g 414 mg
Cereal or granola bar, with yogurt coating (General Mills Nature Valley Chewy Granola Bar) 35 g148 kcal 423 kcal 5.7 g 11.4 g 4.4 g 271 mg
Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Chewy Trail Mix) 35 g145 kcal 415 kcal 5.7 g 11.4 g 3.8 g 185 mg
Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Fiber One Chewy Bar) 40 g156 kcal 389 kcal 5 g 10 g 22.5 g 237 mg
Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Granola Bites) 20 g90 kcal 451 kcal 7.2 g 17.5 g 5.7 g 167 mg
Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal 28 g117 kcal 417 kcal 3.4 g 9 g 0 g 351 mg

How to compare FDC 2708094: its source amount is 21 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708094, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 bar

99 kcal

21 g

1 package (2 bars)

198 kcal

42 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708094, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Total fat

4.2 g≈ 5% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

13.5 g≈ 5% Daily Value

Magnesium

20.4 mg≈ 5% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708094’s 21 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 21 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 99 kcal Not established
Protein 2.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 13.5 g 5%
Total fat 4.2 g 5%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 6 g Not established
Sodium 61.7 mg 3%
Saturated fat 0.5 g 2%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 70.6 mg 2%
Calcium 12.8 mg 1%
Iron 0.6 mg 3%
Magnesium 20.4 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0.2 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0.4 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.8 g Not established

For FDC 2708094, approximate percentages divide the displayed 21 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708094 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, granola bars, hard, plainUSDA ingredient 19015 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708094, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cereal bars” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories471 kcal487 kcal−16 kcal
Protein10.1 g9.1 g+1 g
Carbohydrate64.4 g61.1 g+3.3 g
Total fat19.8 g22.9 g−3.1 g
Dietary fiber5.3 g2.9 g+2.4 g
Sodium294 mg414 mg−120 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.1 g less total fat, 2.4 g more dietary fiber, and 120 mg less sodium than “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Sweet and Salty Granola Bar).”

Only this record lists Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, granola bar, GENERAL MILLS NATURE VALLEY, SWEET&SALTY NUT, peanut. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain.

Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, granola bar, GENERAL MILLS NATURE VALLEY, SWEET&SALTY NUT, peanut.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (21 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 35 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (35 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708094 with FDC 2708093 at equal mass; use their 21 g and 35 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708094 versus FDC 2708093 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cereal bars source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar),” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708094 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 471 kcal per 100 g becomes 99 kcal at 21 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 bar has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708094

FNDDS food code: 53710906

The scaling for FDC 2708094 can be exact while the match to “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 21 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.