Energy
middle half370 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 367 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 358–373 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 111 calories for 1 cup (30 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 30 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 30 g
111calories
Cereal, other, plain
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 111 calories for 1 cup at 30 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 370 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.8 g protein, 2.1 g fiber, and 182 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cereal, o's, plain, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708482: “Cereal, other, plain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708482, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 22.5 g | 83 kcal | 2.1 g | 1.6 g | 136 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 111 kcal | 2.8 g | 2.1 g | 182 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 37.5 g | 139 kcal | 3.5 g | 2.6 g | 227 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708482’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half370 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter605 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708482’s 30 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron9 mg
≈ 49% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber2.1 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium182 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.2 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal, other, plain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708448 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 22.5–37.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 83 kcal and 139 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.3 g less total fat than “Cereal, O's, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Cereal, O's, plain supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “other; plain” fits. Inspect FDC 2708448 when “O's; plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “other” and “plain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal, other, plain | 30 g111 kcal | 370 kcal | 9.4 g | 3.9 g | 7 g | 605 mg |
| Cereal, O's, plain | 30 g112 kcal | 374 kcal | 12.4 g | 6.2 g | 10.5 g | 506 mg |
| Cereal, K's, plain | 35 g125 kcal | 356 kcal | 19 g | 1.6 g | 3.2 g | 680 mg |
| Cereal, plain puffs | 15 g54 kcal | 357 kcal | 9.5 g | 1.7 g | 8.7 g | 4 mg |
| Cereal, corn flakes, plain | 30 g110 kcal | 365 kcal | 6.4 g | 1.6 g | 3.5 g | 703 mg |
| Cereal, bran flakes, plain | 50 g181 kcal | 361 kcal | 9.7 g | 2.4 g | 20.5 g | 585 mg |
| Cereal, rice crispy, plain | 25 g90 kcal | 358 kcal | 7 g | 1.2 g | 0.4 g | 505 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708482: its source amount is 30 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708482, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
111 kcal
30 g
111 kcal
30 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708482, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
8.8 mg≈ 49% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
22.1 g≈ 8% Daily ValueSodium
181.5 mg≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708482’s 30 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 30 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 111 kcal 370 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.8 g 9.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 22.1 g 73.7 g | 8% 27% |
| Total fat | 1.2 g 3.9 g | 1% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.1 g 7 g | 8% 25% |
| Sugars | 2.2 g 7.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 181.5 mg 605 mg | 8% 26% |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g 0.6 g | 1% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 1.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 70.5 mg 235 mg | 2% 5% |
| Calcium | 55.8 mg 186 mg | 4% 14% |
| Iron | 8.8 mg 29.4 mg | 49% 163% |
| Magnesium | 24 mg 80 mg | 6% 19% |
| Vitamin C | 3.4 mg 11.4 mg | 4% 13% |
| Vitamin D | 1.5 µg 5 µg | 8% 25% |
| Vitamin A | 1.5 µg 5 µg | 0% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 3.1 g 10.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708482, approximate percentages divide the displayed 30 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708482 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, other, plain” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cereal, O's, plain, Cereal, corn flakes, plain. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cereal, O's, plainUSDA ingredient 57123000 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
| 2 | Cereal, corn flakes, plainUSDA ingredient 57134000 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708482, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 370 kcal | 374 kcal | −4 kcal |
| Protein | 9.4 g | 12.4 g | −3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 73.7 g | 67.9 g | +5.8 g |
| Total fat | 3.9 g | 6.2 g | −2.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 7 g | 10.5 g | −3.5 g |
| Sodium | 605 mg | 506 mg | +99 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3 g less protein, 2.3 g less total fat, and 3.5 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal, O's, plain.”
Only this record lists Cereal, O's, plain; Cereal, corn flakes, plain. Only the comparison record lists Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Cereal, O's, plain; Cereal, corn flakes, plain.
Listed only in the comparison: Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; and 6 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708482 with FDC 2708448 at equal mass; use their 30 g and 30 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708482 versus FDC 2708448 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cereal, other, plain” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708482 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Cereal, other, plain,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708482 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 370 kcal per 100 g becomes 111 kcal at 30 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708482
FNDDS food code: 57420110
The scaling for FDC 2708482 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, other, plain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 30 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.