Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Cereal, corn flakes, plain calories: 110 per 1 cup (30 g)

This exact USDA record reports 110 calories for 1 cup (30 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 30 g

Calories
110 kcal
Protein
1.9 g
Carbohydrate
23.9 g
Total fat
0.5 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
211 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 30 g

110calories

Cereal, corn flakes, plain

Protein
1.9 g
Carbs
23.8 g
Fat
0.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708453

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 110 calories for 1 cup at 30 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 365 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.9 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 211 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow, representing 90.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708453: “Cereal, corn flakes, plain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708453, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 22.5 g 82 kcal 1.4 g 0.8 g 158 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 30 g 110 kcal 1.9 g 1.1 g 211 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 37.5 g 137 kcal 2.4 g 1.3 g 264 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g)

The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708453’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

365 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
367 kcal
Middle 50%
358–373 kcal

Based on 19 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

6.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.5 g
Middle 50%
7.8–10.5 g

Based on 19 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

3.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
8 g
Middle 50%
5.4–10.7 g

Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

703 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
509 mg
Middle 50%
387–595 mg

Based on 19 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708453’s 30 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron8 mg

≈ 47% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin D1.5 µg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium211 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.1 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cereal, corn flakes, plain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708480 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 30 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 22.5–37.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 82 kcal and 137 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708480

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 6.9 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal, wheat flakes.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow supplies 90.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “corn flakes; plain” fits. Inspect FDC 2708480 when “wheat flakes” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cereal, corn flakes, plain

Exact source wording
“Cereal, corn flakes, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708453 · FNDDS 57134000
Named qualifiers
corn flakes · plain
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cereal, wheat flakes

Exact source wording
“Cereal, wheat flakes”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708480 · FNDDS 57418000
Named qualifiers
wheat flakes
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached · Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient · Vitamin C as ingredient

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “corn flakes” and “plain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCereal, corn flakes, plain 30 g110 kcal 365 kcal 6.4 g 1.6 g 3.5 g 703 mg
Cereal, bran flakes, plain 50 g181 kcal 361 kcal 9.7 g 2.4 g 20.5 g 585 mg
Cereal, O's, plain 30 g112 kcal 374 kcal 12.4 g 6.2 g 10.5 g 506 mg
Cereal, K's, plain 35 g125 kcal 356 kcal 19 g 1.6 g 3.2 g 680 mg
Cereal, corn squares 30 g111 kcal 369 kcal 7.9 g 2.6 g 5.4 g 729 mg
Cereal, other, plain 30 g111 kcal 370 kcal 9.4 g 3.9 g 7 g 605 mg
Cereal, corn puffs 25 g93 kcal 371 kcal 7.7 g 2.6 g 7.3 g 525 mg

How to compare FDC 2708453: its source amount is 30 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708453, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

110 kcal

30 g

1 prepackaged single serving

110 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708453, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Iron

8.4 mg≈ 47% Daily Value

Sodium

210.9 mg≈ 9% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

23.9 g≈ 9% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708453’s 30 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 30 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 110 kcal Not established
Protein 1.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 23.9 g 9%
Total fat 0.5 g 1%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 2.8 g Not established
Sodium 210.9 mg 9%
Saturated fat 0.1 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 38.4 mg 1%
Calcium 1.2 mg 0%
Iron 8.4 mg 47%
Magnesium 8.7 mg 2%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 1.5 µg 8%
Vitamin A 3 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 3 g Not established

For FDC 2708453, approximate percentages divide the displayed 30 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708453 to 7 source inputs totaling 99.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, corn flakes, plain” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow, Sugars, granulated, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

99.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellowUSDA ingredient 20422 · encyclopedia page available 90 GM 90 g 90.1%
2 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 8 GM 8 g 8%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.8 GM 1.8 g 1.8%
4 Vitamin B composite in cerealsUSDA ingredient 999001 · encyclopedia page available 0.03 GM 0 g 0%
5 Folic acid as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999431 · encyclopedia page available 0.03 GM 0 g 0%
6 Iron as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999303 · encyclopedia page available 0.03 GM 0 g 0%
7 Vitamin D as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999328 · encyclopedia page available 0.05 GM 0.1 g 0.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708453, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories365 kcal359 kcal+6 kcal
Protein6.4 g10.1 g−3.7 g
Carbohydrate79.5 g76.3 g+3.2 g
Total fat1.6 g1.5 g+0.1 g
Dietary fiber3.5 g10.4 g−6.9 g
Sodium703 mg574 mg+129 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.7 g less protein, 6.9 g less dietary fiber, and 129 mg more sodium than “Cereal, wheat flakes.”

Only this record lists Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow. Only the comparison record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; Vitamin C as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Vitamin B composite in cereals; Folic acid as ingredient; and 2 more.

Listed only in this record: Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow.

Listed only in the comparison: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; Vitamin C as ingredient.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708453 with FDC 2708480 at equal mass; use their 30 g and 40 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708453 versus FDC 2708480 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Cereal, corn flakes, plain,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708453 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 365 kcal per 100 g becomes 110 kcal at 30 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708453

FNDDS food code: 57134000

The scaling for FDC 2708453 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, corn flakes, plain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 30 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.