Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Cereal, K's, plain calories: 125 per 1 cup (35 g)

This exact USDA record reports 125 calories for 1 cup (35 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 35 g

Calories
125 kcal
Protein
6.7 g
Carbohydrate
23.8 g
Total fat
0.6 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
238 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 35 g

125calories

Cereal, K's, plain

Protein
6.6 g
Carbs
23.8 g
Fat
0.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708471

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 125 calories for 1 cup at 35 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 356 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 6.7 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 238 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, representing 35.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 11 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 107–125 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708471: “Cereal, K's, plain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708471, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 26.3 g 93 kcal 5 g 0.8 g 179 mg
1 prepackaged single servingUSDA-listed household measure 30 g 107 kcal 5.7 g 1 g 204 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 35 g 125 kcal 6.7 g 1.1 g 238 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g)

The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708471’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

356 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
367 kcal
Middle 50%
358–373 kcal

Based on 19 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

19 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.5 g
Middle 50%
7.8–10.5 g

Based on 19 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

3.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
8 g
Middle 50%
5.4–10.7 g

Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

680 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
509 mg
Middle 50%
387–595 mg

Based on 19 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708471’s 35 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron10 mg

≈ 57% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin C8 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium238 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.1 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cereal, K's, plain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708448 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 prepackaged single serving to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 30 g and 35 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 107 kcal to 125 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708448

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.6 g less total fat than “Cereal, O's, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached

    The source formulation has 11 input rows; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached supplies 35.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “K's; plain” fits. Inspect FDC 2708448 when “O's; plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cereal, K's, plain

Exact source wording
“Cereal, K's, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708471 · FNDDS 57344000
Named qualifiers
K's · plain
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached · Flour, rice, white, unenriched · Soy protein isolate

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cereal, O's, plain

Exact source wording
“Cereal, O's, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708448 · FNDDS 57123000
Named qualifiers
O's · plain
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry · Calcium as ingredient

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “K's” and “plain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCereal, K's, plain 35 g125 kcal 356 kcal 19 g 1.6 g 3.2 g 680 mg
Cereal, O's, plain 30 g112 kcal 374 kcal 12.4 g 6.2 g 10.5 g 506 mg
Cereal, plain puffs 15 g54 kcal 357 kcal 9.5 g 1.7 g 8.7 g 4 mg
Cereal, other, plain 30 g111 kcal 370 kcal 9.4 g 3.9 g 7 g 605 mg
Cereal, rice crispy, plain 25 g90 kcal 358 kcal 7 g 1.2 g 0.4 g 505 mg
Cereal, shredded wheat, plain 45 g161 kcal 358 kcal 11.9 g 1.7 g 13 g 2 mg
Cereal, bran flakes, plain 50 g181 kcal 361 kcal 9.7 g 2.4 g 20.5 g 585 mg

How to compare FDC 2708471: its source amount is 35 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708471, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

125 kcal

35 g

1 prepackaged single serving

107 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708471, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Iron

10.3 mg≈ 57% Daily Value

Sodium

238 mg≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708471’s 35 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708471 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 6.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708471 at 35 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 238 mg sodium, about 10% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 35 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 125 kcal Not established
Protein 6.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 23.8 g 9%
Total fat 0.6 g 1%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 4.6 g Not established
Sodium 238 mg 10%
Saturated fat 0.1 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 32.2 mg 1%
Calcium 12.6 mg 1%
Iron 10.3 mg 57%
Magnesium 9.1 mg 2%
Vitamin C 8 mg 9%
Vitamin D 1.8 µg 9%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 3.1 g Not established

For FDC 2708471, approximate percentages divide the displayed 35 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708471 to 11 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, K's, plain” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

11 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, Flour, rice, white, unenriched, Soy protein isolate. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20481 · encyclopedia page available 36 GM 36 g 35.7%
2 Flour, rice, white, unenrichedUSDA ingredient 20061 · encyclopedia page available 36 GM 36 g 35.7%
3 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 13 GM 13 g 12.9%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.4 GM 1.4 g 1.4%
5 Fiber, total dietary, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999291 · encyclopedia page available 0.2 GM 0.2 g 0.2%
6 Soy protein isolateUSDA ingredient 16122 · encyclopedia page available 14 GM 14 g 13.9%
7 Vitamin B composite in cerealsUSDA ingredient 999001 · encyclopedia page available 0.02 GM 0 g 0%
8 Folic acid as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999431 · encyclopedia page available 0.06 GM 0.1 g 0.1%
9 Iron as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999303 · encyclopedia page available 0.03 GM 0 g 0%
10 Vitamin D as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999328 · encyclopedia page available 0.05 GM 0.1 g 0%
11 Vitamin C as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999401 · encyclopedia page available 0.02 GM 0 g 0%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708471, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories356 kcal374 kcal−18 kcal
Protein19 g12.4 g+6.6 g
Carbohydrate68 g67.9 g+0.1 g
Total fat1.6 g6.2 g−4.6 g
Dietary fiber3.2 g10.5 g−7.3 g
Sodium680 mg506 mg+174 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 6.6 g more protein, 4.6 g less total fat, and 7.3 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal, O's, plain.”

Only this record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Flour, rice, white, unenriched; Soy protein isolate. Only the comparison record lists Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Calcium as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; Vitamin B composite in cereals; and 4 more.

Listed only in this record: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Flour, rice, white, unenriched; Soy protein isolate.

Listed only in the comparison: Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Calcium as ingredient.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 35 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (35 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708471 with FDC 2708448 at equal mass; use their 35 g and 30 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708471 versus FDC 2708448 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Cereal, K's, plain,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708471 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 356 kcal per 100 g becomes 125 kcal at 35 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708471

FNDDS food code: 57344000

The scaling for FDC 2708471 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, K's, plain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 35 g weight, 11-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.