Energy
middle half367 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 367 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 358–373 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 184 calories for 1 cup (50 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 50 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 50 g
184calories
Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 184 calories for 1 cup at 50 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 367 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.8 g protein, 5.2 g fiber, and 1 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, representing 79.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 11–184 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708457: “Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708457, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 spoon size biscuit” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 spoon size biscuitUSDA-listed household measure | 3 g | 11 kcal | 0.3 g | 0.3 g | 0 mg |
| 1 prepackaged single servingUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 110 kcal | 2.9 g | 3.1 g | 1 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 50 g | 184 kcal | 4.8 g | 5.2 g | 1 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708457’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half367 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half10.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter2 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708457’s 50 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron14 mg
≈ 77% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber5.2 g
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1 mg
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708479 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 3 g and 50 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 11 kcal to 184 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.7 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal, shredded wheat, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached supplies 79.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “shredded wheat; flavored” fits. Inspect FDC 2708479 when “shredded wheat; plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “shredded wheat” and “flavored”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal, shredded wheat, flavored | 50 g184 kcal | 367 kcal | 9.5 g | 1.4 g | 10.3 g | 2 mg |
| Cereal, shredded wheat, plain | 45 g161 kcal | 358 kcal | 11.9 g | 1.7 g | 13 g | 2 mg |
| Cereal, wheat flakes | 40 g144 kcal | 359 kcal | 10.1 g | 1.5 g | 10.4 g | 574 mg |
| Cereal, wheat squares | 60 g214 kcal | 356 kcal | 10.5 g | 1.5 g | 13.5 g | 578 mg |
| Cereal, multigrain | 50 g187 kcal | 373 kcal | 11.6 g | 3.6 g | 14.6 g | 233 mg |
| Cereal, O's, multigrain | 30 g112 kcal | 373 kcal | 8.5 g | 3.8 g | 10.9 g | 385 mg |
| Cereal, O's, plain | 30 g112 kcal | 374 kcal | 12.4 g | 6.2 g | 10.5 g | 506 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708457: its source amount is 50 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708457, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
184 kcal
50 g
110 kcal
30 g
11 kcal
3 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708457, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
13.9 mg≈ 77% Daily ValueDietary fiber
5.2 g≈ 18% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
39.5 g≈ 14% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708457’s 50 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708457 at 50 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 50 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 184 kcal 367 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.8 g 9.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 39.5 g 78.9 g | 14% 29% |
| Total fat | 0.7 g 1.4 g | 1% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 5.2 g 10.3 g | 18% 37% |
| Sugars | 10 g 20 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1 mg 2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | 0% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 59.5 mg 119 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 9 mg 18 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 13.9 mg 27.7 mg | 77% 154% |
| Magnesium | 14.5 mg 29 mg | 3% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 4.4 g 8.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708457, approximate percentages divide the displayed 50 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708457 to 5 source inputs totaling 100.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, Sugars, granulated, Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20481 · encyclopedia page available | 80 GM | 80 g | 79.3% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.8% |
| 3 | Fiber, total dietary, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999291 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
| 4 | Folic acid as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999431 · encyclopedia page available | 0.03 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 5 | Iron as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999303 · encyclopedia page available | 0.03 GM | 0 g | 0% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708457, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 367 kcal | 358 kcal | +9 kcal |
| Protein | 9.5 g | 11.9 g | −2.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 78.9 g | 73.8 g | +5.1 g |
| Total fat | 1.4 g | 1.7 g | −0.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 10.3 g | 13 g | −2.7 g |
| Sodium | 2 mg | 2 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 2.4 g less protein and 2.7 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal, shredded wheat, plain.”
Only this record lists Sugars, granulated; Folic acid as ingredient; Iron as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient.
Listed only in this record: Sugars, granulated; Folic acid as ingredient; Iron as ingredient.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 50 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (50 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (45 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708457 with FDC 2708479 at equal mass; use their 50 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708457 versus FDC 2708479 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708457 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708457 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708457 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 367 kcal per 100 g becomes 184 kcal at 50 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708457
FNDDS food code: 57214000
The scaling for FDC 2708457 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 50 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.