Energy
lower quarter356 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 367 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 358–373 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 214 calories for 1 cup (60 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 60 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 60 g
214calories
Cereal, wheat squares
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 214 calories for 1 cup at 60 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 356 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.3 g protein, 8.1 g fiber, and 347 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, representing 87.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 10 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 107–214 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708476: “Cereal, wheat squares.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708476, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 prepackaged single serving” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 prepackaged single servingUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 107 kcal | 3.2 g | 4.1 g | 173 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 45 g | 160 kcal | 4.7 g | 6.1 g | 260 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 60 g | 214 kcal | 6.3 g | 8.1 g | 347 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708476’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter356 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter10.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter13.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half578 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708476’s 60 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron17 mg
≈ 93% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber8.1 g
≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium347 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal, wheat squares,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708480 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 30 g and 60 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 107 kcal to 214 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.1 g more dietary fiber than “Cereal, wheat flakes.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 10 input rows; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached supplies 87.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “wheat squares” fits. Inspect FDC 2708480 when “wheat flakes” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “wheat squares”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal, wheat squares | 60 g214 kcal | 356 kcal | 10.5 g | 1.5 g | 13.5 g | 578 mg |
| Cereal, rice squares | 30 g107 kcal | 357 kcal | 7 g | 2.2 g | 5.4 g | 813 mg |
| Cereal, wheat flakes | 40 g144 kcal | 359 kcal | 10.1 g | 1.5 g | 10.4 g | 574 mg |
| Cereal, corn squares | 30 g111 kcal | 369 kcal | 7.9 g | 2.6 g | 5.4 g | 729 mg |
| Cereal, oat squares | 45 g171 kcal | 379 kcal | 10.4 g | 5.2 g | 8 g | 388 mg |
| Cereal, shredded wheat, plain | 45 g161 kcal | 358 kcal | 11.9 g | 1.7 g | 13 g | 2 mg |
| Cereal, shredded wheat, flavored | 50 g184 kcal | 367 kcal | 9.5 g | 1.4 g | 10.3 g | 2 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708476: its source amount is 60 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708476, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
214 kcal
60 g
107 kcal
30 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708476, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
16.7 mg≈ 93% Daily ValueDietary fiber
8.1 g≈ 29% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
45 g≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708476’s 60 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708476 at 60 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 60 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 214 kcal 356 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.3 g 10.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 45 g 75 g | 16% 27% |
| Total fat | 0.9 g 1.5 g | 1% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 8.1 g 13.5 g | 29% 48% |
| Sugars | 6.1 g 10.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 346.8 mg 578 mg | 15% 25% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | 0% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 78.6 mg 131 mg | 2% 3% |
| Calcium | 202.8 mg 338 mg | 16% 26% |
| Iron | 16.7 mg 27.8 mg | 93% 154% |
| Magnesium | 18.6 mg 31 mg | 4% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 13.7 mg 22.8 mg | 15% 25% |
| Vitamin D | 3 µg 5 µg | 15% 25% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 5.8 g 9.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708476, approximate percentages divide the displayed 60 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708476 to 10 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, wheat squares” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, Sugars, granulated, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20481 · encyclopedia page available | 88 GM | 88 g | 87.3% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 9.9% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1.5 GM | 1.5 g | 1.5% |
| 4 | Fiber, total dietary, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999291 · encyclopedia page available | 1.1 GM | 1.1 g | 1.1% |
| 5 | Vitamin B composite in cerealsUSDA ingredient 999001 · encyclopedia page available | 0.02 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 6 | Folic acid as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999431 · encyclopedia page available | 0.01 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 7 | Iron as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999303 · encyclopedia page available | 0.03 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 8 | Calcium as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999301 · encyclopedia page available | 0.03 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 9 | Vitamin D as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999328 · encyclopedia page available | 0.05 GM | 0.1 g | 0% |
| 10 | Vitamin C as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999401 · encyclopedia page available | 0.02 GM | 0 g | 0% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708476, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 356 kcal | 359 kcal | −3 kcal |
| Protein | 10.5 g | 10.1 g | +0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 75 g | 76.3 g | −1.3 g |
| Total fat | 1.5 g | 1.5 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 13.5 g | 10.4 g | +3.1 g |
| Sodium | 578 mg | 574 mg | +4 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.1 g more dietary fiber than “Cereal, wheat flakes.”
Only this record lists Calcium as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; and 5 more.
Listed only in this record: Calcium as ingredient.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (60 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708476 with FDC 2708480 at equal mass; use their 60 g and 40 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708476 versus FDC 2708480 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, lower sugar (=<21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cereal, wheat squares” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708476 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Cereal, wheat squares,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708476 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 356 kcal per 100 g becomes 214 kcal at 60 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708476
FNDDS food code: 57411000
The scaling for FDC 2708476 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, wheat squares” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 60 g weight, 10-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.