Dairymoderate variability

Cheese, Blue or Roquefort calories: 74 per 1 slice (21 g)

This exact USDA record reports 74 calories for 1 slice (21 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 slice · 21 g

Calories
74 kcal
Protein
4.5 g
Carbohydrate
0.5 g
Total fat
6 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
242 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 slice · 21 g

74calories

Cheese, Blue or Roquefort

Protein
4.5 g
Carbs
0.5 g
Fat
6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705705

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 74 calories for 1 slice at 21 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 353 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 4.5 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 242 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, blue, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 32–477 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705705: “Cheese, Blue or Roquefort.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705705, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cracker-size slice” through “1 cup, crumbled” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cracker-size sliceUSDA-listed household measure 9 g 32 kcal 1.9 g 0 g 104 mg
1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure 21 g 74 kcal 4.5 g 0 g 242 mg
1 cup, crumbledUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 477 kcal 28.9 g 0 g 1,553 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cheese

The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705705’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

353 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
334 kcal
Middle 50%
290–374 kcal

Based on 41 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

21.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.3 g
Middle 50%
20–27 g

Based on 41 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

1,150 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
743 mg
Middle 50%
626–1,100 mg

Based on 41 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705705’s 21 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium111 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat3.9 g

≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium242 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cheese, Blue or Roquefort,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705706 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cracker-size slice to 1 cup, crumbled

    USDA assigns those measures 9 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 32 kcal to 477 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705706

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 590 mg more sodium than “Cheese, Brick.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Cheese, blue

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “Blue or Roquefort” fits. Inspect FDC 2705706 when “Brick” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cheese, Blue or Roquefort

Exact source wording
“Cheese, Blue or Roquefort”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705705 · FNDDS 14101010
Named qualifiers
Blue or Roquefort
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, blue

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cheese, Brick

Exact source wording
“Cheese, Brick”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705706 · FNDDS 14102010
Named qualifiers
Brick
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, brick

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Blue or Roquefort”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCheese, Blue or Roquefort 21 g74 kcal 353 kcal 21.4 g 28.7 g 0 g 1,150 mg
Cheese, American 21 g71 kcal 340 kcal 16.8 g 27.2 g 0 g 1,430 mg
Cheese, Muenster 21 g77 kcal 368 kcal 23.4 g 30 g 0 g 628 mg
Cheese, Brick 21 g78 kcal 371 kcal 23.2 g 29.7 g 0 g 560 mg
Cheese, Brie 21 g70 kcal 334 kcal 20.8 g 27.7 g 0 g 629 mg
Cheese, Limburger 21 g69 kcal 327 kcal 20 g 27.2 g 0 g 800 mg
Cheese, Fontina 21 g82 kcal 389 kcal 25.6 g 31.1 g 0 g 800 mg

How to compare FDC 2705705: its source amount is 21 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705705, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cracker-size slice

32 kcal

9 g

1 slice

74 kcal

21 g

1 cup, crumbled

477 kcal

135 g

1 cubic inch

61 kcal

17 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705705, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

3.9 g≈ 20% Daily Value

Sodium

241.5 mg≈ 11% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705705’s 21 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705705 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705705 at 21 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 242 mg sodium, about 11% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 21 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 74 kcal Not established
Protein 4.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0.5 g 0%
Total fat 6 g 8%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 241.5 mg 11%
Saturated fat 3.9 g 20%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 15.8 mg 5%
Potassium 53.8 mg 1%
Calcium 110.9 mg 9%
Iron 0.1 mg 0%
Magnesium 4.8 mg 1%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.1 µg 1%
Vitamin A 41.6 µg 5%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 8.9 g Not established

For FDC 2705705, approximate percentages divide the displayed 21 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705705 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cheese, Blue or Roquefort” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Cheese, blue is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cheese, blueUSDA ingredient 1004 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705705, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories353 kcal371 kcal−18 kcal
Protein21.4 g23.2 g−1.8 g
Carbohydrate2.3 g2.8 g−0.5 g
Total fat28.7 g29.7 g−1 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium1,150 mg560 mg+590 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 590 mg more sodium than “Cheese, Brick.”

Only this record lists Cheese, blue. Only the comparison record lists Cheese, brick. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Cheese, blue.

Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, brick.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705705 with FDC 2705706 at equal mass; use their 21 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705705 versus FDC 2705706 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.

For “Cheese, Blue or Roquefort,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added flavors or sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705705 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 353 kcal per 100 g becomes 74 kcal at 21 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705705

FNDDS food code: 14101010

The scaling for FDC 2705705 can be exact while the match to “Cheese, Blue or Roquefort” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 21 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.