Energy
upper quarter413 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 334 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 290–374 kcal
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 87 calories for 1 slice (21 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice · 21 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice · 21 g
87calories
Cheese, Gruyere
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 87 calories for 1 slice at 21 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 413 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.3 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 150 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, gruyere, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 37–702 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705718: “Cheese, Gruyere.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705718, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cracker-size slice” through “1 package (6 oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cracker-size sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 9 g | 37 kcal | 2.7 g | 0 g | 64 mg |
| 1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 21 g | 87 kcal | 6.3 g | 0 g | 150 mg |
| 1 package (6 oz)USDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 702 kcal | 50.7 g | 0 g | 1,214 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Cheese USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705718’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter413 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter29.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half714 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705718’s 21 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium212 mg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A56.9 µg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4 g
≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium150 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cheese, Gruyere,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705706 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 9 g and 170 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 37 kcal to 702 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.4 g less carbohydrate than “Cheese, Brick.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “Gruyere” fits. Inspect FDC 2705706 when “Brick” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Gruyere”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCheese, Gruyere | 21 g87 kcal | 413 kcal | 29.8 g | 32.3 g | 0 g | 714 mg |
| Cheese, Cheddar | 21 g86 kcal | 409 kcal | 23.3 g | 34 g | 0 g | 654 mg |
| Cheese, Colby | 21 g83 kcal | 394 kcal | 23.8 g | 32.1 g | 0 g | 604 mg |
| Cheese, Swiss | 21 g83 kcal | 393 kcal | 27 g | 31 g | 0 g | 185 mg |
| Cheese, Monterey | 21 g82 kcal | 392 kcal | 22.6 g | 32.6 g | 0 g | 662 mg |
| Cheese, Fontina | 21 g82 kcal | 389 kcal | 25.6 g | 31.1 g | 0 g | 800 mg |
| Cheese, Brick | 21 g78 kcal | 371 kcal | 23.2 g | 29.7 g | 0 g | 560 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705718: its source amount is 21 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705718, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
37 kcal
9 g
87 kcal
21 g
702 kcal
170 g
446 kcal
108 g
545 kcal
132 g
446 kcal
108 g
A source measure below uses USDA shorthand; the full glossary appears with the source formulation.
At a glance
For FDC 2705718, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
4 g≈ 20% Daily ValueCalcium
212.1 mg≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705718’s 21 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705718 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 6.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 21 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 87 kcal 413 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.3 g 29.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0.1 g 0.4 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 6.8 g 32.3 g | 9% 41% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0.1 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 149.9 mg 714 mg | 7% 31% |
| Saturated fat | 4 g 18.9 g | 20% 95% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.1 g 10 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 23.1 mg 110 mg | 8% 37% |
| Potassium | 17 mg 81 mg | 0% 2% |
| Calcium | 212.1 mg 1,010 mg | 16% 78% |
| Iron | 0 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 1% |
| Magnesium | 7.6 mg 36 mg | 2% 9% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.6 µg | 1% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 56.9 µg 271 µg | 6% 30% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 7 g 33.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705718, approximate percentages divide the displayed 21 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705718 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cheese, Gruyere” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Cheese, gruyere is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cheese, gruyereUSDA ingredient 1023 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705718, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 413 kcal | 371 kcal | +42 kcal |
| Protein | 29.8 g | 23.2 g | +6.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0.4 g | 2.8 g | −2.4 g |
| Total fat | 32.3 g | 29.7 g | +2.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 714 mg | 560 mg | +154 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 42 more calories, 6.6 g more protein, and 2.4 g less carbohydrate than “Cheese, Brick.”
Only this record lists Cheese, gruyere. Only the comparison record lists Cheese, brick. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Cheese, gruyere.
Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, brick.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705718 with FDC 2705706 at equal mass; use their 21 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705718 versus FDC 2705706 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cheese, Gruyere” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705718 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.
For “Cheese, Gruyere,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705718 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 413 kcal per 100 g becomes 87 kcal at 21 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705718
FNDDS food code: 14105200
The scaling for FDC 2705718 can be exact while the match to “Cheese, Gruyere” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 21 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.