Energy
middle half356 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 334 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 290–374 kcal
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 75 calories for 1 slice (21 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice · 21 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice · 21 g
75calories
Cheese, Port du Salut
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 75 calories for 1 slice at 21 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 356 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.2 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 172 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, gouda, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 32–470 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705732: “Cheese, Port du Salut.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705732, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cracker-size slice” through “1 cup, diced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cracker-size sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 9 g | 32 kcal | 2.2 g | 0 g | 74 mg |
| 1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 21 g | 75 kcal | 5.2 g | 0 g | 172 mg |
| 1 cup, dicedUSDA-listed household measure | 132 g | 470 kcal | 32.9 g | 0 g | 1,081 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705732’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half356 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half24.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half819 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705732’s 21 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium147 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.7 g
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium172 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cheese, Port du Salut,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705717 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 9 g and 132 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 32 kcal to 470 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Cheese, Gouda or Edam.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “Port du Salut” fits. Inspect FDC 2705717 when “Gouda or Edam” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Port du Salut”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCheese, Port du Salut | 21 g75 kcal | 356 kcal | 24.9 g | 27.4 g | 0 g | 819 mg |
| Cheese, Muenster | 21 g77 kcal | 368 kcal | 23.4 g | 30 g | 0 g | 628 mg |
| Cheese, Brick | 21 g78 kcal | 371 kcal | 23.2 g | 29.7 g | 0 g | 560 mg |
| Cheese, American | 21 g71 kcal | 340 kcal | 16.8 g | 27.2 g | 0 g | 1,430 mg |
| Cheese, Brie | 21 g70 kcal | 334 kcal | 20.8 g | 27.7 g | 0 g | 629 mg |
| Cheese, Limburger | 21 g69 kcal | 327 kcal | 20 g | 27.2 g | 0 g | 800 mg |
| Cheese, Fontina | 21 g82 kcal | 389 kcal | 25.6 g | 31.1 g | 0 g | 800 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705732: its source amount is 21 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705732, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
32 kcal
9 g
75 kcal
21 g
470 kcal
132 g
402 kcal
113 g
402 kcal
113 g
61 kcal
17 g
A source measure below uses USDA shorthand; the full glossary appears with the source formulation.
At a glance
For FDC 2705732, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
3.7 g≈ 19% Daily ValueCalcium
147 mg≈ 11% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705732’s 21 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705732 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 5.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 21 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 75 kcal 356 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.2 g 24.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0.5 g 2.2 g | 0% 1% |
| Total fat | 5.8 g 27.4 g | 7% 35% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0.5 g 2.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 172 mg 819 mg | 7% 36% |
| Saturated fat | 3.7 g 17.6 g | 18% 88% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.6 g 7.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 23.9 mg 114 mg | 8% 38% |
| Potassium | 25.4 mg 121 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 147 mg 700 mg | 11% 54% |
| Iron | 0.1 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 1% |
| Magnesium | 6.1 mg 29 mg | 1% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.5 µg | 1% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 34.7 µg 165 µg | 4% 18% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 8.7 g 41.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705732, approximate percentages divide the displayed 21 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705732 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cheese, Port du Salut” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Cheese, gouda is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cheese, goudaUSDA ingredient 1022 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705732, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 356 kcal | 356 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 24.9 g | 24.9 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 2.2 g | 2.2 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 27.4 g | 27.4 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 819 mg | 819 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Cheese, gouda.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705732 with FDC 2705717 at equal mass; use their 21 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705732 versus FDC 2705717 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cheese, Port du Salut” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705732 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.
For “Cheese, Port du Salut,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705732 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 356 kcal per 100 g becomes 75 kcal at 21 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705732
FNDDS food code: 14108200
The scaling for FDC 2705732 can be exact while the match to “Cheese, Port du Salut” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 21 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.