Energy
lower quarter48 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 117 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 106–138 kcal
Based on 99 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 122 calories for 1 cup (255 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables
Quick facts
1 cup · 255 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 255 g
122calories
Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 122 calories for 1 cup at 255 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 48 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 7 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, and 615 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708982: “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708982, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 191.3 g | 92 kcal | 5.2 g | 0.6 g | 461 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 255 g | 122 kcal | 7 g | 0.8 g | 615 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 318.8 g | 153 kcal | 8.7 g | 1 g | 768 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 99 exact records in the Rice mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708982’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter48 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 99 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half2.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 99 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 99 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half241 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 99 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708982’s 255 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium615 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.6 g
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708981 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 191.3–318.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 92 kcal and 153 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.6 g less protein than “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “with meat; poultry; and/or seafood; and vegetables” fits. Inspect FDC 2708981 when “with meat; poultry; and/or seafood” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with meat”, “poultry”, “and/or seafood”, and “and vegetables”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCongee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables | 255 g122 kcal | 48 kcal | 2.7 g | 0.7 g | 0.3 g | 241 mg |
| Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood | 255 g148 kcal | 58 kcal | 4.3 g | 1.3 g | 0.1 g | 246 mg |
| Congee, with vegetables | 255 g97 kcal | 38 kcal | 1.1 g | 0.1 g | 0.4 g | 235 mg |
| Congee, with egg | 255 g153 kcal | 60 kcal | 3.1 g | 2.1 g | 0.1 g | 213 mg |
| Biryani with vegetables | 215 g234 kcal | 109 kcal | 1.9 g | 3.2 g | 1.2 g | 177 mg |
| Paella with seafood | 300 g429 kcal | 143 kcal | 8 g | 4.8 g | 0.7 g | 609 mg |
| Biryani with meat | 245 g355 kcal | 145 kcal | 8.5 g | 6.8 g | 1 g | 98 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708982: its source amount is 255 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708982, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
122 kcal
255 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708982, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
614.6 mg≈ 27% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
19 g≈ 7% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708982’s 255 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708982 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708982 at 255 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 255 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 122 kcal 48 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 7 g 2.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 19 g 7.4 g | 7% 3% |
| Total fat | 1.8 g 0.7 g | 2% 1% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g 0.3 g | 3% 1% |
| Sugars | 0.5 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 614.6 mg 241 mg | 27% 10% |
| Saturated fat | 0.6 g 0.2 g | 3% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 17.9 mg 7 mg | 6% 2% |
| Potassium | 158.1 mg 62 mg | 3% 1% |
| Calcium | 20.4 mg 8 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 1.1 mg 0.4 mg | 6% 2% |
| Magnesium | 15.3 mg 6 mg | 4% 1% |
| Vitamin C | 1.5 mg 0.6 mg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 5.1 µg 2 µg | 1% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 225.2 g 88.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708982, approximate percentages divide the displayed 255 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708982 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, Congee, with vegetables. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafoodUSDA ingredient 58157300 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
| 2 | Congee, with vegetablesUSDA ingredient 58157320 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708982, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Rice mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 48 kcal | 58 kcal | −10 kcal |
| Protein | 2.7 g | 4.3 g | −1.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 7.4 g | 7 g | +0.4 g |
| Total fat | 0.7 g | 1.3 g | −0.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.3 g | 0.1 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 241 mg | 246 mg | −5 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 10 less calories and 1.6 g less protein than “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood.”
Only this record lists Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood; Congee, with vegetables. Only the comparison record lists Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Salt, table; Beef as ingredient in recipes. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood; Congee, with vegetables.
Listed only in the comparison: Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Salt, table; Beef as ingredient in recipes; and 2 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708982 with FDC 2708981 at equal mass; use their 255 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708982 versus FDC 2708981 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full rice mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708982 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708982 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 48 kcal per 100 g becomes 122 kcal at 255 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708982
FNDDS food code: 58157310
The scaling for FDC 2708982 can be exact while the match to “Congee, with meat, poultry, and/or seafood, and vegetables” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 255 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.