Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake calories: 17 per 1 cone (4 g)

This exact USDA record reports 17 calories for 1 cone (4 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cone · 4 g

Calories
17 kcal
Protein
0.3 g
Carbohydrate
3.2 g
Total fat
0.3 g
Fiber
0.1 g
Sodium
10 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cone · 4 g

17calories

Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake

Protein
0.3 g
Carbs
3.2 g
Fat
0.3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707931

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 17 calories for 1 cone at 4 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 417 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 0.3 g protein, 0.1 g fiber, and 10 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cone at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 17–121 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707931: “Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707931, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 large waffle cone” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 3 g 13 kcal 0.2 g 0.1 g 8 mg
1 coneUSDA-listed household measure 4 g 17 kcal 0.3 g 0.1 g 10 mg
1 large waffle coneUSDA-listed household measure 29 g 121 kcal 2.3 g 0.9 g 74 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cookies and brownies

The comparison set contains 83 exact records in the Cookies and brownies USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707931’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

417 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
450 kcal
Middle 50%
428–486 kcal

Based on 83 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

8.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5 g
Middle 50%
4–6.2 g

Based on 83 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.1 g
Middle 50%
1.5–2.9 g

Based on 83 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

256 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
351 mg
Middle 50%
259–433 mg

Based on 83 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707931’s 4 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium10 mg

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707924 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cone to 1 large waffle cone

    USDA assigns those measures 4 g and 29 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 17 kcal to 121 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707924

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 324 mg less sodium than “Cookie, chocolate wafer.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cone shell; ice cream type; wafer or cake” fits. Inspect FDC 2707924 when “chocolate wafer” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake

Exact source wording
“Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707931 · FNDDS 53222020
Named qualifiers
cone shell · ice cream type · wafer or cake
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cookie, chocolate wafer

Exact source wording
“Cookie, chocolate wafer”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707924 · FNDDS 53210000
Named qualifiers
chocolate wafer
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cookies, chocolate wafers

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cone shell”, “ice cream type”, and “wafer or cake”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake 4 g17 kcal 417 kcal 8.1 g 6.9 g 3 g 256 mg
Cookie, chocolate wafer 18 g78 kcal 433 kcal 6.6 g 14.2 g 3.4 g 580 mg
Cookie, vanilla wafer 16 g73 kcal 455 kcal 4.9 g 16.4 g 1.6 g 325 mg
Cookie, raisin sandwich, cream-filled 42 g167 kcal 398 kcal 2.6 g 18.3 g 2.6 g 500 mg
Cookie, vanilla wafer, reduced fat 16 g71 kcal 441 kcal 5 g 15.2 g 1.9 g 388 mg
Cookie, sugar wafer 24 g120 kcal 502 kcal 3.8 g 23.2 g 1.6 g 103 mg
Cookie, gingersnaps 60 g250 kcal 416 kcal 5.6 g 9.8 g 2.2 g 555 mg

How to compare FDC 2707931: its source amount is 4 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707931, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cone

17 kcal

4 g

1 large waffle cone

121 kcal

29 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707931, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

3.2 g≈ 1% Daily Value

Iron

0.1 mg≈ 1% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707931’s 4 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707931 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 0.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 4 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 17 kcal Not established
Protein 0.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 3.2 g 1%
Total fat 0.3 g 0%
Dietary fiber 0.1 g 0%
Sugars 0.2 g Not established
Sodium 10.2 mg 0%
Saturated fat 0 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 4.5 mg 0%
Calcium 1 mg 0%
Iron 0.1 mg 1%
Magnesium 1 mg 0%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.2 g Not established

For FDC 2707931, approximate percentages divide the displayed 4 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707931 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-typeUSDA ingredient 18271 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707931, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cookies and brownies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories417 kcal433 kcal−16 kcal
Protein8.1 g6.6 g+1.5 g
Carbohydrate79 g72.7 g+6.3 g
Total fat6.9 g14.2 g−7.3 g
Dietary fiber3 g3.4 g−0.4 g
Sodium256 mg580 mg−324 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.5 g more protein, 7.3 g less total fat, and 324 mg less sodium than “Cookie, chocolate wafer.”

Only this record lists Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type. Only the comparison record lists Cookies, chocolate wafers. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type.

Listed only in the comparison: Cookies, chocolate wafers.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 4 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cone (4 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 18 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (10 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707931 with FDC 2707924 at equal mass; use their 4 g and 18 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707931 versus FDC 2707924 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cookies and brownies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707931 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 417 kcal per 100 g becomes 17 kcal at 4 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cone has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707931

FNDDS food code: 53222020

The scaling for FDC 2707931 can be exact while the match to “Cookie, cone shell, ice cream type, wafer or cake” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 4 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.