Energy
upper quarter543 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 490 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 437–531 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 244 calories for 1 cup (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 45 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 45 g
244calories
Corn chips, flavored
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 244 calories for 1 cup at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 543 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.8 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 229 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain, representing 99% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 5–462 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708197: “Corn chips, flavored.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708197, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 1 g | 5 kcal | 0.1 g | 0 g | 5 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 45 g | 244 kcal | 2.8 g | 1.8 g | 229 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 462 kcal | 5.2 g | 3.4 g | 433 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Tortilla, corn, other chips USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708197’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter543 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter6.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half509 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708197’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium32 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.8 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium229 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Corn chips, flavored,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708196 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 1 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 5 kcal to 462 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 308 mg less sodium than “Corn chips, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain supplies 99% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “flavored” fits. Inspect FDC 2708196 when “plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “flavored”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCorn chips, flavored | 45 g244 kcal | 543 kcal | 6.1 g | 34 g | 4 g | 509 mg |
| Corn chips, flavored (Fritos) | 45 g241 kcal | 536 kcal | 6.1 g | 33.2 g | 4 g | 704 mg |
| Corn chips, plain | 45 g241 kcal | 535 kcal | 6.1 g | 33.1 g | 4 g | 817 mg |
| Tortilla chips, flavored | 30 g156 kcal | 519 kcal | 7.4 g | 27.4 g | 5.1 g | 691 mg |
| Corn chips, plain (Fritos) | 45 g243 kcal | 539 kcal | 6.2 g | 33.4 g | 4 g | 514 mg |
| Corn chips, reduced sodium | 45 g247 kcal | 549 kcal | 6.8 g | 33.6 g | 3.9 g | 295 mg |
| Cheese flavored corn snacks | 35 g198 kcal | 567 kcal | 5.5 g | 36.5 g | 0.8 g | 928 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708197: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708197, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
5 kcal
1 g
152 kcal
28 g
310 kcal
57 g
462 kcal
85 g
109 kcal
20 g
244 kcal
45 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708197, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
15.3 g≈ 20% Daily ValueSodium
229.1 mg≈ 10% Daily ValueSaturated fat
2 g≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708197’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708197 at 45 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 244 kcal 543 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.8 g 6.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 25.5 g 56.7 g | 9% 21% |
| Total fat | 15.3 g 34 g | 20% 44% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 4 g | 6% 14% |
| Sugars | 0.1 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 229.1 mg 509 mg | 10% 22% |
| Saturated fat | 2 g 4.4 g | 10% 22% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.2 g 9.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 7.6 g 16.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 64.4 mg 143 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 61.7 mg 137 mg | 5% 11% |
| Iron | 0.5 mg 1.2 mg | 3% 7% |
| Magnesium | 32 mg 71 mg | 8% 17% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 1.4 µg 3 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.5 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708197, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708197 to 2 source inputs totaling 101 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Corn chips, flavored” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain, Oil, corn. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
101 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plainUSDA ingredient 19003 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 99% |
| 2 | Oil, cornUSDA ingredient 4518 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708197, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Tortilla, corn, other chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 543 kcal | 535 kcal | +8 kcal |
| Protein | 6.1 g | 6.1 g | −0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 56.7 g | 56.8 g | −0.1 g |
| Total fat | 34 g | 33.1 g | +0.9 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4 g | 4 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 509 mg | 817 mg | −308 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 308 mg less sodium than “Corn chips, plain.”
Only this record lists Oil, corn. Only the comparison record lists Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain.
Listed only in this record: Oil, corn.
Listed only in the comparison: Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (45 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (45 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708197 with FDC 2708196 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708197 versus FDC 2708196 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full tortilla, corn, other chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708197 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Corn chips, flavored” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708197 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Corn chips, flavored,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708197 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 543 kcal per 100 g becomes 244 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708197
FNDDS food code: 54401026
The scaling for FDC 2708197 can be exact while the match to “Corn chips, flavored” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.