Energy
upper quarter539 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 490 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 437–531 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 243 calories for 1 cup (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 45 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 45 g
243calories
Corn chips, plain (Fritos)
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 243 calories for 1 cup at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 539 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.8 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 231 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 5–458 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708198: “Corn chips, plain (Fritos).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708198, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 1 g | 5 kcal | 0.1 g | 0 g | 5 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 45 g | 243 kcal | 2.8 g | 1.8 g | 231 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 458 kcal | 5.2 g | 3.4 g | 437 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Tortilla, corn, other chips USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708198’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter539 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half514 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708198’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium32 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.8 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium231 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.9 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Corn chips, plain (Fritos),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708199 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 1 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 5 kcal to 458 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 190 mg less sodium than “Corn chips, flavored (Fritos).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “plain (Fritos)” fits. Inspect FDC 2708199 when “flavored (Fritos)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “plain (Fritos)”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCorn chips, plain (Fritos) | 45 g243 kcal | 539 kcal | 6.2 g | 33.4 g | 4 g | 514 mg |
| Corn chips, plain | 45 g241 kcal | 535 kcal | 6.1 g | 33.1 g | 4 g | 817 mg |
| Corn chips, flavored (Fritos) | 45 g241 kcal | 536 kcal | 6.1 g | 33.2 g | 4 g | 704 mg |
| Corn chips, flavored | 45 g244 kcal | 543 kcal | 6.1 g | 34 g | 4 g | 509 mg |
| Tortilla chips, plain | 30 g142 kcal | 472 kcal | 7.1 g | 20.7 g | 5.4 g | 328 mg |
| Corn chips, reduced sodium | 45 g247 kcal | 549 kcal | 6.8 g | 33.6 g | 3.9 g | 295 mg |
| Popcorn chips, plain | 30 g131 kcal | 438 kcal | 10.2 g | 11.2 g | 4.9 g | 586 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708198: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708198, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
5 kcal
1 g
151 kcal
28 g
307 kcal
57 g
458 kcal
85 g
108 kcal
20 g
243 kcal
45 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708198, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
15 g≈ 19% Daily ValueSodium
231.3 mg≈ 10% Daily ValueSaturated fat
1.9 g≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708198’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708198 at 45 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 243 kcal 539 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.8 g 6.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 25.8 g 57.3 g | 9% 21% |
| Total fat | 15 g 33.4 g | 19% 43% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 4 g | 6% 14% |
| Sugars | 0.1 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 231.3 mg 514 mg | 10% 22% |
| Saturated fat | 1.9 g 4.3 g | 10% 22% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.1 g 9.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 7.4 g 16.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 64.8 mg 144 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 62.1 mg 138 mg | 5% 11% |
| Iron | 0.5 mg 1.2 mg | 3% 7% |
| Magnesium | 32.4 mg 72 mg | 8% 17% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 1.4 µg 3 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.5 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708198, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708198 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Corn chips, plain (Fritos)” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plainUSDA ingredient 19003 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708198, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Tortilla, corn, other chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 539 kcal | 536 kcal | +3 kcal |
| Protein | 6.2 g | 6.1 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 57.3 g | 57 g | +0.3 g |
| Total fat | 33.4 g | 33.2 g | +0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4 g | 4 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 514 mg | 704 mg | −190 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 190 mg less sodium than “Corn chips, flavored (Fritos).”
Only the comparison record lists Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain.
Listed only in the comparison: Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (45 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (45 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708198 with FDC 2708199 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708198 versus FDC 2708199 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full tortilla, corn, other chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708198 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Corn chips, plain (Fritos)” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708198 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Corn chips, plain (Fritos),” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708198 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 539 kcal per 100 g becomes 243 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708198
FNDDS food code: 54401031
The scaling for FDC 2708198 can be exact while the match to “Corn chips, plain (Fritos)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.