Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Cream of rice calories: 166 per 1 cup, cooked (240 g)

This exact USDA record reports 166 calories for 1 cup, cooked (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup, cooked · 240 g

Calories
166 kcal
Protein
2.8 g
Carbohydrate
36.7 g
Total fat
0.2 g
Fiber
0.2 g
Sodium
166 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g

166calories

Cream of rice

Protein
2.8 g
Carbs
36.7 g
Fat
0.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708415

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 166 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 69 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.8 g protein, 0.2 g fiber, and 166 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 84.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 107–562 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708415: “Cream of rice.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708415, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, dry, yields” through “1 cup, dry, yields” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 155 g 107 kcal 1.8 g 0.2 g 107 mg
1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 240 g 166 kcal 2.8 g 0.2 g 166 mg
1 cup, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 815 g 562 kcal 9.5 g 0.8 g 562 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Grits and other cooked cereals

The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Grits and other cooked cereals USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708415’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

69 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
68 kcal
Middle 50%
58–84 kcal

Based on 18 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

1.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1.2–1.7 g

Based on 18 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.7 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.2 g

Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

69 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
84 mg
Middle 50%
71–197 mg

Based on 18 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708415’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron12 mg

≈ 67% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium166 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.1 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cream of rice,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708434 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, dry, yields to 1 cup, dry, yields

    USDA assigns those measures 155 g and 815 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 107 kcal to 562 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708434

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.7 g more carbohydrate than “Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 84.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Cream of rice” fits. Inspect FDC 2708434 when “regular or quick; made with water; no added fat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cream of rice

Exact source wording
“Cream of rice”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708415 · FNDDS 56205050
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cereals, CREAM OF RICE, dry

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat

Exact source wording
“Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708434 · FNDDS 56207016
Named qualifiers
regular or quick · made with water · no added fat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cereals, CREAM OF WHEAT, regular, 10 minute cooking, dry

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCream of rice 240 g166 kcal 69 kcal 1.2 g 0.1 g 0.1 g 69 mg
Cream of wheat, instant, made with water, no added fat 240 g161 kcal 67 kcal 1.5 g 0.2 g 0.5 g 85 mg
Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, fat added 240 g156 kcal 65 kcal 1.4 g 1.8 g 0.5 g 83 mg
Cream of wheat, instant, made with water, fat added 240 g197 kcal 82 kcal 1.5 g 2.1 g 0.5 g 98 mg
Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat 240 g122 kcal 51 kcal 1.5 g 0.2 g 0.5 g 72 mg
Grits, regular or quick, made with water, fat added 240 g170 kcal 71 kcal 1.2 g 1.8 g 0.7 g 81 mg
Cornmeal mush, fat added 240 g170 kcal 71 kcal 1.1 g 1.8 g 0.6 g 82 mg

How to compare FDC 2708415: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708415, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked

166 kcal

240 g

1 cup, dry, yields

562 kcal

815 g

1 oz, dry, yields

107 kcal

155 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708415, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Iron

12 mg≈ 67% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

36.7 g≈ 13% Daily Value

Sodium

165.6 mg≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708415’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 166 kcal Not established
Protein 2.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 36.7 g 13%
Total fat 0.2 g 0%
Dietary fiber 0.2 g 1%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 165.6 mg 7%
Saturated fat 0.1 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 60 mg 1%
Calcium 9.6 mg 1%
Iron 12 mg 67%
Magnesium 12 mg 3%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 199.4 g Not established

For FDC 2708415, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708415 to 3 source inputs totaling 285.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cream of rice” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Cereals, CREAM OF RICE, dry, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

285.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cereals, CREAM OF RICE, dryUSDA ingredient 8100 45 GM 45 g 15.8%
2 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 240 GM 240 g 84.1%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708415, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Grits and other cooked cereals” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories69 kcal51 kcal+18 kcal
Protein1.2 g1.5 g−0.3 g
Carbohydrate15.3 g10.6 g+4.7 g
Total fat0.1 g0.2 g−0.1 g
Dietary fiber0.1 g0.5 g−0.4 g
Sodium69 mg72 mg−3 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 18 more calories and 4.7 g more carbohydrate than “Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat.”

Only this record lists Cereals, CREAM OF RICE, dry. Only the comparison record lists Cereals, CREAM OF WHEAT, regular, 10 minute cooking, dry. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Cereals, CREAM OF RICE, dry.

Listed only in the comparison: Cereals, CREAM OF WHEAT, regular, 10 minute cooking, dry.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708415 with FDC 2708434 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708415 versus FDC 2708434 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full grits and other cooked cereals source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Cream of rice,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708415 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 69 kcal per 100 g becomes 166 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708415

FNDDS food code: 56205050

The scaling for FDC 2708415 can be exact while the match to “Cream of rice” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.