Energy
middle half107 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 134 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 101–170 kcal
Based on 94 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 214 calories for 1 cup (200 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 200 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 200 g
214calories
Fish curry with rice
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 214 calories for 1 cup at 200 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 107 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 8.1 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 618 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fish curry, representing 60% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706461: “Fish curry with rice.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706461, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 150 g | 161 kcal | 6 g | 1.5 g | 464 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 200 g | 214 kcal | 8.1 g | 2 g | 618 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 250 g | 268 kcal | 10.1 g | 2.5 g | 773 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 94 exact records in the Seafood mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706461’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half107 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half309 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706461’s 200 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C11 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron2 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium618 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.6 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Fish curry with rice,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706460 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 150–250 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 161 kcal and 268 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 8.6 g more carbohydrate than “Fish curry.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Fish curry supplies 60% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Fish curry with rice” fits. Inspect FDC 2706460 when the exact wording “Fish curry” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFish curry with rice | 200 g214 kcal | 107 kcal | 4 g | 3.4 g | 1 g | 309 mg |
| Fish curry | 240 g223 kcal | 93 kcal | 4.9 g | 5.4 g | 1.4 g | 351 mg |
| Fish and rice with cream sauce | 310 g412 kcal | 133 kcal | 5.5 g | 5 g | 0.2 g | 305 mg |
| Fish and rice with mushroom sauce | 310 g419 kcal | 135 kcal | 5.3 g | 5.2 g | 0.4 g | 307 mg |
| Fish and rice with tomato-based sauce | 310 g419 kcal | 135 kcal | 5.4 g | 5.1 g | 0.7 g | 310 mg |
| Gumbo with rice | 305 g271 kcal | 89 kcal | 8.2 g | 3.4 g | 0.9 g | 400 mg |
| Gumbo, no rice | 122 g101 kcal | 83 kcal | 8.5 g | 3.7 g | 0.9 g | 433 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706461: its source amount is 200 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706461, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
214 kcal
200 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706461, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
618 mg≈ 27% Daily ValueVitamin C
10.8 mg≈ 12% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706461’s 200 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706461 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 8.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706461 at 200 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 200 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 214 kcal 107 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 8.1 g 4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 30.4 g 15.2 g | 11% 6% |
| Total fat | 6.7 g 3.4 g | 9% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g 1 g | 7% 4% |
| Sugars | 3.1 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 618 mg 309 mg | 27% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 1.6 g 0.8 g | 8% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.4 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.2 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 28 mg 14 mg | 9% 5% |
| Potassium | 358 mg 179 mg | 8% 4% |
| Calcium | 38 mg 19 mg | 3% 1% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 0.9 mg | 9% 5% |
| Magnesium | 32 mg 16 mg | 8% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 10.8 mg 5.4 mg | 12% 6% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 66 µg 33 µg | 7% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 152.2 g 76.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706461, approximate percentages divide the displayed 200 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706461 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Fish curry with rice” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fish curry, Rice, cooked, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fish curryUSDA ingredient 27150320 | 60 GM | 60 g | 60% |
| 2 | Rice, cooked, NFSUSDA ingredient 56205000 | 40 GM | 40 g | 40% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706461, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Seafood mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 107 kcal | 93 kcal | +14 kcal |
| Protein | 4 g | 4.9 g | −0.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 15.2 g | 6.7 g | +8.6 g |
| Total fat | 3.4 g | 5.4 g | −2.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g | 1.4 g | −0.4 g |
| Sodium | 309 mg | 351 mg | −42 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 14 more calories, 8.6 g more carbohydrate, and 2.1 g less total fat than “Fish curry.”
Only this record lists Fish curry; Rice, cooked, NFS. Only the comparison record lists Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Fish, haddock, steamed; Shrimp, steamed or boiled. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Fish curry; Rice, cooked, NFS.
Listed only in the comparison: Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Fish, haddock, steamed; Shrimp, steamed or boiled; and 2 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 200 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (200 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (240 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706461 with FDC 2706460 at equal mass; use their 200 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706461 versus FDC 2706460 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full seafood mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Fish curry with rice” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706461 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.
For “Fish curry with rice,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706461 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 107 kcal per 100 g becomes 214 kcal at 200 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706461
FNDDS food code: 27150325
The scaling for FDC 2706461 can be exact while the match to “Fish curry with rice” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 200 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.