Fish & seafoodmoderate variability

Gumbo with rice calories: 271 per 305 g

This exact USDA record reports 271 calories for 305 g. That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

USDA reference amount · 305 g

Calories
271 kcal
Protein
24.9 g
Carbohydrate
20 g
Total fat
10.5 g
Fiber
2.7 g
Sodium
1,220 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 305 g

271calories

Gumbo with rice

Protein
24.9 g
Carbs
20 g
Fat
10.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706726

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 271 calories for USDA reference amount at 305 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 89 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 24.9 g protein, 2.7 g fiber, and 1,220 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve, representing 34.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 12 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The reference amount and 1 cup answer different portion questions. Their values are scaled independently from the same per-100-gram source record.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 217–271 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706726: “Gumbo with rice.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706726, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “USDA reference amount” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 228.8 g 204 kcal 18.7 g 2.1 g 915 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 244 g 217 kcal 19.9 g 2.2 g 976 mg
USDA reference amountExact record reference weight 305 g 271 kcal 24.9 g 2.7 g 1,220 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Seafood mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 94 exact records in the Seafood mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706726’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

89 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
134 kcal
Middle 50%
101–170 kcal

Based on 94 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

8.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.3 g
Middle 50%
7.1–10.7 g

Based on 94 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.7 g
Middle 50%
0.4–1 g

Based on 94 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

400 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
347 mg
Middle 50%
268–453 mg

Based on 94 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706726’s 305 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C14 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium537 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium1,220 mg

≈ 53% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat2.3 g

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Gumbo with rice,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706879 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 305 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 228.8–381.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 204 kcal and 339 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706879

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.5 g more carbohydrate than “Gumbo, no rice.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve

    The source formulation has 12 input rows; Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve supplies 34.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Gumbo with rice” fits. Inspect FDC 2706879 when “no rice” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Gumbo with rice

Exact source wording
“Gumbo with rice”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706726 · FNDDS 27363000
Source inputs unique in this pair
Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Gumbo, no rice

Exact source wording
“Gumbo, no rice”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706879 · FNDDS 27464000
Named qualifiers
no rice

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordGumbo with rice 305 g271 kcal 89 kcal 8.2 g 3.4 g 0.9 g 400 mg
Gumbo, no rice 122 g101 kcal 83 kcal 8.5 g 3.7 g 0.9 g 433 mg
Shrimp gumbo 122 g74 kcal 61 kcal 6.5 g 1.9 g 0.9 g 377 mg
Lobster gumbo 122 g72 kcal 59 kcal 6.2 g 1.8 g 0.9 g 288 mg
Fish curry with rice 200 g214 kcal 107 kcal 4 g 3.4 g 1 g 309 mg
Shrimp creole, with rice 304 g374 kcal 123 kcal 10.1 g 3.6 g 0.8 g 436 mg
Shrimp creole, no rice 123 g153 kcal 124 kcal 14.3 g 5.2 g 1 g 153 mg

How to compare FDC 2706726: its source amount is 305 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706726, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

217 kcal

244 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706726, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

1,220 mg≈ 53% Daily Value

Cholesterol

91.5 mg≈ 31% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706726’s 305 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706726 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 24.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706726 at 305 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 1220 mg sodium, about 53% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 305 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 271 kcal Not established
Protein 24.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 20 g 7%
Total fat 10.5 g 13%
Dietary fiber 2.7 g 10%
Sugars 5.2 g Not established
Sodium 1,220 mg 53%
Saturated fat 2.3 g 12%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 91.5 mg 31%
Potassium 536.8 mg 11%
Calcium 79.3 mg 6%
Iron 2 mg 11%
Magnesium 45.8 mg 11%
Vitamin C 13.7 mg 15%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 2%
Vitamin A 30.5 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 245.5 g Not established

For FDC 2706726, approximate percentages divide the displayed 305 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706726 to 12 source inputs totaling 4,198.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Gumbo with rice” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

12 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve, Tomatoes, red, ripe, canned, packed in tomato juice, Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

4,198.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eatenUSDA ingredient 24102070 · encyclopedia page available 363 GM 363 g 8.6%
2 Pork, fresh, composite of trimmed retail cuts (leg, loin, and shoulder), separable lean only, cookedUSDA ingredient 10093 · encyclopedia page available 363 GM 363 g 8.6%
3 Crustaceans, shrimp, mixed species, raw (may contain additives to retain moisture)USDA ingredient 15149 · encyclopedia page available 170 GM 170 g 4%
4 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 3 TB 42 g 1%
5 Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11283 · encyclopedia page available 2 C 420 g 10%
6 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 0.25 C 31.3 g 0.7%
7 Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6194 · encyclopedia page available 6 C 1,440 g 34.3%
8 Tomatoes, red, ripe, canned, packed in tomato juiceUSDA ingredient 11531 · encyclopedia page available 3.5 C 840 g 20%
9 Okra, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11281 · encyclopedia page available 200 GM 200 g 4.8%
10 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 2 TS 12 g 0.3%
11 Spices, pepper, blackUSDA ingredient 2030 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 TS 1.1 g 0%
12 Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cookedUSDA ingredient 20045 · encyclopedia page available 2 C 316 g 7.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706726, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Seafood mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories89 kcal83 kcal+6 kcal
Protein8.2 g8.5 g−0.4 g
Carbohydrate6.6 g4 g+2.5 g
Total fat3.4 g3.7 g−0.3 g
Dietary fiber0.9 g0.9 gSame listed value
Sodium400 mg433 mg−33 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 2.5 g more carbohydrate than “Gumbo, no rice.”

Only this record lists Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten; Pork, fresh, composite of trimmed retail cuts (leg, loin, and shoulder), separable lean only, cooked; Crustaceans, shrimp, mixed species, raw (may contain additives to retain moisture); Vegetable oil, NFS; and 7 more.

Listed only in this record: Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 305 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 122 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706726 with FDC 2706879 at equal mass; use their 305 g and 122 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706726 versus FDC 2706879 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full seafood mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.

For “Gumbo with rice,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    species or cut

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, butter, or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706726 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 89 kcal per 100 g becomes 271 kcal at 305 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” We display it as a USDA reference amount because it is a database comparison point—not a suggested portion or a claim about what most people should eat.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706726

FNDDS food code: 27363000

The scaling for FDC 2706726 can be exact while the match to “Gumbo with rice” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 305 g weight, 12-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.