Energy
middle half58 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 68 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 58–84 kcal
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
One cooked cup (240 g) contains 139 calories in this exact USDA record. The source's generic survey amount and listed cooked cup share the same weight. Its dry-yield measures describe dry grits that yield cooked food; they are not alternate weights for one cooked cup.
Exact USDA description: Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat
Quick facts
1 cup, cooked · 240 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g
139calories
Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 139 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 58 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.9 g protein, 1.7 g fiber, and 168 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 86.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 107–560 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708365: “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708365, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, dry, yields” through “1 cup, dry, yields” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure | 185 g | 107 kcal | 2.2 g | 1.3 g | 130 mg |
| 1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 139 kcal | 2.9 g | 1.7 g | 168 mg |
| 1 cup, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure | 965 g | 560 kcal | 11.6 g | 6.8 g | 676 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Grits and other cooked cereals USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708365’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half58 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter70 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708365’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.7 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium168 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708366 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 185 g and 965 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 107 kcal to 560 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.6 g less total fat than “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, fat added.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 86.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “regular or quick; made with water; no added fat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708366 when “regular or quick; made with water; fat added” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “regular or quick”, “made with water”, and “no added fat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordGrits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat | 240 g139 kcal | 58 kcal | 1.2 g | 0.3 g | 0.7 g | 70 mg |
| Grits, regular or quick, made with water, fat added | 240 g170 kcal | 71 kcal | 1.2 g | 1.8 g | 0.7 g | 81 mg |
| Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat | 240 g122 kcal | 51 kcal | 1.5 g | 0.2 g | 0.5 g | 72 mg |
| Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, fat added | 240 g156 kcal | 65 kcal | 1.4 g | 1.8 g | 0.5 g | 83 mg |
| Grits, instant, made with water, no added fat | 240 g156 kcal | 65 kcal | 1.4 g | 0.4 g | 0.8 g | 215 mg |
| Grits, instant, made with water, fat added | 240 g204 kcal | 85 kcal | 1.4 g | 2.9 g | 0.8 g | 228 mg |
| Cream of wheat, instant, made with water, no added fat | 240 g161 kcal | 67 kcal | 1.5 g | 0.2 g | 0.5 g | 85 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708365: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708365, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
139 kcal
240 g
560 kcal
965 g
107 kcal
185 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708365, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
29.8 g≈ 11% Daily ValueSodium
168 mg≈ 7% Daily ValueIron
1.1 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708365’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 139 kcal 58 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.9 g 1.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 29.8 g 12.4 g | 11% 5% |
| Total fat | 0.7 g 0.3 g | 1% 0% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.7 g 0.7 g | 6% 3% |
| Sugars | 0.2 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 168 mg 70 mg | 7% 3% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | 1% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 50.4 mg 21 mg | 1% 0% |
| Calcium | 9.6 mg 4 mg | 1% 0% |
| Iron | 1.1 mg 0.5 mg | 6% 3% |
| Magnesium | 16.8 mg 7 mg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 205.9 g 85.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708365, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708365 to 3 source inputs totaling 277.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Cereals, corn grits, white, regular and quick, enriched, dry, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
277.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cereals, corn grits, white, regular and quick, enriched, dryUSDA ingredient 8090 · encyclopedia page available | 37 GM | 37 g | 13.3% |
| 2 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 240 GM | 240 g | 86.5% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.4 GM | 0.4 g | 0.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708365, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Grits and other cooked cereals” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 58 kcal | 71 kcal | −13 kcal |
| Protein | 1.2 g | 1.2 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 12.4 g | 12.2 g | +0.2 g |
| Total fat | 0.3 g | 1.8 g | −1.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.7 g | 0.7 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 70 mg | 81 mg | −11 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 13 less calories and 1.6 g less total fat than “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, fat added.”
Only the comparison record lists Table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cereals, corn grits, white, regular and quick, enriched, dry; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Table fat, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708365 with FDC 2708366 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708365 versus FDC 2708366 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full grits and other cooked cereals source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708365 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708365 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 58 kcal per 100 g becomes 139 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708365
FNDDS food code: 56201051
The scaling for FDC 2708365 can be exact while the match to “Grits, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.