Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, white bread calories: 238 per 1 sandwich (87 g)

This exact USDA record reports 238 calories for 1 sandwich (87 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread

Quick facts

1 sandwich · 87 g

Calories
238 kcal
Protein
8.4 g
Carbohydrate
17.6 g
Total fat
14.9 g
Fiber
0.7 g
Sodium
607 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 sandwich (1 slice bread) · 87 g

238calories

Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread

Protein
8.4 g
Carbs
17.6 g
Fat
14.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707066

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 238 calories for 1 sandwich at 87 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 274 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 8.4 g protein, 0.7 g fiber, and 607 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is frankfurter, meat and poultry, unheated, representing 65.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707066: “Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707066, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 65.3 g 179 kcal 6.3 g 0.5 g 455 mg
1 sandwich (1 slice bread)USDA-listed household measure 87 g 238 kcal 8.4 g 0.7 g 607 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 108.8 g 298 kcal 10.5 g 0.9 g 759 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Frankfurter sandwiches

The comparison set contains 24 exact records in the Frankfurter sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707066’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

274 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
246 kcal
Middle 50%
236–281 kcal

Based on 24 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

9.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
11.4 g
Middle 50%
10.4–12.1 g

Based on 24 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.9 g
Middle 50%
0.8–2.4 g

Based on 24 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

698 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
657 mg
Middle 50%
554–695 mg

Based on 24 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707066’s 87 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C10 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium124 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium607 mg

≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat4.6 g

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707064 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 87 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 65.3–108.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 179 kcal and 298 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707064

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.7 g less carbohydrate than “Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bun.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Frankfurter, meat and poultry, unheated

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Frankfurter, meat and poultry, unheated supplies 65.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “meat and poultry; on white bread” fits. Inspect FDC 2707064 when “meat and poultry; on white bun” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread

Exact source wording
“Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707066 · FNDDS 27564190
Named qualifiers
meat and poultry · on white bread
Source inputs unique in this pair
Bread, white, commercially prepared

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bun

Exact source wording
“Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bun”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707064 · FNDDS 27564180
Named qualifiers
meat and poultry · on white bun
Source inputs unique in this pair
Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “meat and poultry” and “on white bread”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordHot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread 87 g238 kcal 274 kcal 9.6 g 17.1 g 0.8 g 698 mg
Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on wheat bread 87 g237 kcal 272 kcal 10.3 g 17.2 g 1.9 g 694 mg
Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bun 102 g284 kcal 278 kcal 9.7 g 15.2 g 0.8 g 681 mg
Hot dog sandwich, beef, on white bread 87 g257 kcal 295 kcal 10.9 g 19.6 g 0.8 g 698 mg
Hot dog sandwich, turkey, on white bread 87 g207 kcal 238 kcal 11.3 g 12.6 g 0.8 g 722 mg
Chili hot dog sandwich, on white bread 151 g325 kcal 215 kcal 9.9 g 12.7 g 1.8 g 553 mg
Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on wheat bun 102 g276 kcal 271 kcal 10.5 g 15.3 g 2.4 g 657 mg

How to compare FDC 2707066: its source amount is 87 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707066, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 sandwich (1 slice bread)

238 kcal

87 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707066, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

607.3 mg≈ 26% Daily Value

Saturated fat

4.6 g≈ 23% Daily Value

Total fat

14.9 g≈ 19% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707066’s 87 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707066 at 87 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 607 mg sodium, about 26% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 87 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 238 kcal Not established
Protein 8.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 17.6 g 6%
Total fat 14.9 g 19%
Dietary fiber 0.7 g 2%
Sugars 3.2 g Not established
Sodium 607.3 mg 26%
Saturated fat 4.6 g 23%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 44.4 mg 15%
Potassium 229.7 mg 5%
Calcium 123.5 mg 10%
Iron 1.6 mg 9%
Magnesium 13.9 mg 3%
Vitamin C 10.3 mg 11%
Vitamin D 0.4 µg 2%
Vitamin A 14.8 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 43.5 g Not established

For FDC 2707066, approximate percentages divide the displayed 87 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707066 to 2 source inputs totaling 87 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Frankfurter, meat and poultry, unheated, Bread, white, commercially prepared. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

87 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Frankfurter, meat and poultry, unheatedUSDA ingredient 7962 · encyclopedia page available 57 GM 57 g 65.5%
2 Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 34.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707066, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Frankfurter sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories274 kcal278 kcal−4 kcal
Protein9.6 g9.7 g−0.1 g
Carbohydrate20.2 g24.9 g−4.7 g
Total fat17.1 g15.2 g+1.9 g
Dietary fiber0.8 g0.8 gSame listed value
Sodium698 mg681 mg+17 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 4.7 g less carbohydrate and 1.9 g more total fat than “Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bun.”

Only this record lists Bread, white, commercially prepared. Only the comparison record lists Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Frankfurter, meat and poultry, unheated.

Listed only in this record: Bread, white, commercially prepared.

Listed only in the comparison: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 87 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (87 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 102 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (102 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707066 with FDC 2707064 at equal mass; use their 87 g and 102 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707066 versus FDC 2707064 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full frankfurter sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2707066 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707066 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 274 kcal per 100 g becomes 238 kcal at 87 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707066

FNDDS food code: 27564190

The scaling for FDC 2707066 can be exact while the match to “Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 87 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.