Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone calories: 556 per 1 cone (255 g)

This exact USDA record reports 556 calories for 1 cone (255 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cone · 255 g

Calories
556 kcal
Protein
9.6 g
Carbohydrate
69.4 g
Total fat
27 g
Fiber
2 g
Sodium
237 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cone · 255 g

556calories

Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone

Protein
9.6 g
Carbs
69.4 g
Fat
27 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705646

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 556 calories for 1 cone at 255 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 218 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 9.6 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 237 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ice creams, vanilla, representing 94.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cone at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705646: “Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705646, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 191.3 g 417 kcal 7.2 g 1.5 g 178 mg
1 coneUSDA-listed household measure 255 g 556 kcal 9.6 g 2 g 237 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 318.8 g 695 kcal 12 g 2.6 g 296 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts

The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705646’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

218 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
218 kcal
Middle 50%
178–246 kcal

Based on 51 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

3.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
3.3–4.7 g

Based on 51 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.3 g

Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

93 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
83 mg
Middle 50%
68–98 mg

Based on 51 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705646’s 255 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A283.1 µg

≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium314 mg

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat16.4 g

≈ 82% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium237 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705645 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 255 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 191.3–318.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 417 kcal and 695 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705645

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 6 mg more sodium than “Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Ice creams, vanilla

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Ice creams, vanilla supplies 94.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “scooped; vanilla; waffle cone” fits. Inspect FDC 2705645 when “scooped; vanilla” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone

Exact source wording
“Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705646 · FNDDS 13120735
Named qualifiers
scooped · vanilla · waffle cone
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ice cream cones, sugar, rolled-type

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla

Exact source wording
“Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705645 · FNDDS 13120730
Named qualifiers
scooped · vanilla
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “scooped”, “vanilla”, and “waffle cone”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordIce cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone 255 g556 kcal 218 kcal 3.8 g 10.6 g 0.8 g 93 mg
Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla 125 g269 kcal 215 kcal 3.7 g 10.8 g 0.8 g 87 mg
Ice cream cone, scooped, chocolate, waffle cone 255 g579 kcal 227 kcal 4 g 10.6 g 1.2 g 89 mg
Ice cream cone, soft serve, vanilla, waffle cone 255 g492 kcal 193 kcal 5 g 4.8 g 0.4 g 87 mg
Ice cream cone, scooped, chocolate 125 g280 kcal 224 kcal 4 g 10.8 g 1.3 g 83 mg
Light ice cream cone, vanilla, prepackaged 95 g212 kcal 223 kcal 5.4 g 7.3 g 0.7 g 133 mg
Ice cream, vanilla 135 g279 kcal 207 kcal 3.5 g 11 g 0.7 g 80 mg

How to compare FDC 2705646: its source amount is 255 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705646, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cone

556 kcal

255 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705646, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

16.4 g≈ 82% Daily Value

Cholesterol

104.6 mg≈ 35% Daily Value

Total fat

27 g≈ 35% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705646’s 255 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705646 at 255 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 237 mg sodium, about 10% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 255 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 556 kcal Not established
Protein 9.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 69.4 g 25%
Total fat 27 g 35%
Dietary fiber 2 g 7%
Sugars 54.8 g Not established
Sodium 237.2 mg 10%
Saturated fat 16.4 g 82%
Monounsaturated Fat 7.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 104.6 mg 35%
Potassium 499.8 mg 11%
Calcium 313.7 mg 24%
Iron 0.9 mg 5%
Magnesium 38.3 mg 9%
Vitamin C 1.5 mg 2%
Vitamin D 0.5 µg 3%
Vitamin A 283.1 µg 31%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 146.9 g Not established

For FDC 2705646, approximate percentages divide the displayed 255 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705646 to 2 source inputs totaling 255 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Ice creams, vanilla, Ice cream cones, sugar, rolled-type. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

255 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Ice creams, vanillaUSDA ingredient 19095 · encyclopedia page available 240 GM 240 g 94.1%
2 Ice cream cones, sugar, rolled-typeUSDA ingredient 18272 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 5.9%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705646, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories218 kcal215 kcal+3 kcal
Protein3.8 g3.7 g+0.1 g
Carbohydrate27.2 g25.8 g+1.4 g
Total fat10.6 g10.8 g−0.2 g
Dietary fiber0.8 g0.8 gSame listed value
Sodium93 mg87 mg+6 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Ice cream cones, sugar, rolled-type. Only the comparison record lists Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Ice creams, vanilla.

Listed only in this record: Ice cream cones, sugar, rolled-type.

Listed only in the comparison: Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cone (255 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 125 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cone (125 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705646 with FDC 2705645 at equal mass; use their 255 g and 125 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705646 versus FDC 2705645 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705646 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 218 kcal per 100 g becomes 556 kcal at 255 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cone has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705646

FNDDS food code: 13120735

The scaling for FDC 2705646 can be exact while the match to “Ice cream cone, scooped, vanilla, waffle cone” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 255 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.