Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate calories: 245 per 1 cone (125 g)

This exact USDA record reports 245 calories for 1 cone (125 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cone · 125 g

Calories
245 kcal
Protein
6.4 g
Carbohydrate
34.8 g
Total fat
9 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
98 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cone · 125 g

245calories

Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate

Protein
6.4 g
Carbs
34.8 g
Fat
9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705651

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 245 calories for 1 cone at 125 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 196 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 6.4 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 98 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ice creams, chocolate, light, representing 96% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cone at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705651: “Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705651, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 93.8 g 184 kcal 4.8 g 0.8 g 73 mg
1 coneUSDA-listed household measure 125 g 245 kcal 6.4 g 1.1 g 98 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 156.3 g 306 kcal 8 g 1.4 g 122 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts

The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705651’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

196 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
218 kcal
Middle 50%
178–246 kcal

Based on 51 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

5.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
3.3–4.7 g

Based on 51 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.3 g

Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

78 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
83 mg
Middle 50%
68–98 mg

Based on 51 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705651’s 125 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium193 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A85 µg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat5.3 g

≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium98 mg

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705635 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 125 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 93.8–156.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 184 kcal and 306 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705635

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.1 g more dietary fiber than “Ice cream, soft serve, chocolate.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Ice creams, chocolate, light

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Ice creams, chocolate, light supplies 96% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “soft serve; chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2705635 when “soft serve; chocolate” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate

Exact source wording
“Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705651 · FNDDS 13120784
Named qualifiers
soft serve · chocolate
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Ice cream, soft serve, chocolate

Exact source wording
“Ice cream, soft serve, chocolate”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705635 · FNDDS 13110210
Named qualifiers
soft serve · chocolate

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “soft serve” and “chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordIce cream cone, soft serve, chocolate 125 g245 kcal 196 kcal 5.1 g 7.2 g 0.9 g 78 mg
Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate, waffle cone 255 g510 kcal 200 kcal 5.2 g 7 g 0.9 g 84 mg
Ice cream, soft serve, chocolate 175 g327 kcal 187 kcal 5 g 7.2 g 0.8 g 71 mg
Ice cream cone, soft serve, vanilla 125 g236 kcal 189 kcal 4.9 g 4.9 g 0.4 g 81 mg
Ice cream cone, soft serve, vanilla, waffle cone 255 g492 kcal 193 kcal 5 g 4.8 g 0.4 g 87 mg
Ice cream, soft serve, vanilla 175 g315 kcal 180 kcal 4.8 g 4.8 g 0.3 g 74 mg
Ice cream cone, scooped, chocolate 125 g280 kcal 224 kcal 4 g 10.8 g 1.3 g 83 mg

How to compare FDC 2705651: its source amount is 125 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705651, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cone

245 kcal

125 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705651, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

5.3 g≈ 27% Daily Value

Calcium

192.5 mg≈ 15% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705651’s 125 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705651 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 6.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 125 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 245 kcal Not established
Protein 6.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 34.8 g 13%
Total fat 9 g 12%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 30 g Not established
Sodium 97.5 mg 4%
Saturated fat 5.3 g 27%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 33.8 mg 11%
Potassium 210 mg 4%
Calcium 192.5 mg 15%
Iron 1 mg 6%
Magnesium 25 mg 6%
Vitamin C 1.5 mg 2%
Vitamin D 0.1 µg 1%
Vitamin A 85 µg 9%
Caffeine 2.5 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 74 g Not established

For FDC 2705651, approximate percentages divide the displayed 125 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705651 to 2 source inputs totaling 125 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Ice creams, chocolate, light, Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

125 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Ice creams, chocolate, lightUSDA ingredient 19114 · encyclopedia page available 120 GM 120 g 96%
2 Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-typeUSDA ingredient 18271 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705651, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories196 kcal187 kcal+9 kcal
Protein5.1 g5 g+0.1 g
Carbohydrate27.8 g25.7 g+2.1 g
Total fat7.2 g7.2 g−0 g
Dietary fiber0.9 g0.8 g+0.1 g
Sodium78 mg71 mg+7 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Ice creams, chocolate, light.

Listed only in this record: Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 125 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cone (125 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (175 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705651 with FDC 2705635 at equal mass; use their 125 g and 175 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705651 versus FDC 2705635 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705651 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 196 kcal per 100 g becomes 245 kcal at 125 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cone has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705651

FNDDS food code: 13120784

The scaling for FDC 2705651 can be exact while the match to “Ice cream cone, soft serve, chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 125 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.