Energy
upper quarter300 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 246 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 236–281 kcal
Based on 24 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 405 calories for 1 sandwich (135 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 135 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich, any size · 135 g
405calories
Italian sausage sandwich on white
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 405 calories for 1 sandwich at 135 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 300 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 19.4 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 871 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is sausage, italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-fried, representing 55.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707053: “Italian sausage sandwich on white.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707053, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 101.3 g | 304 kcal | 14.6 g | 0.8 g | 653 mg |
| 1 sandwich, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 405 kcal | 19.4 g | 1.1 g | 871 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 168.8 g | 506 kcal | 24.3 g | 1.4 g | 1,088 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 24 exact records in the Frankfurter sandwiches USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707053’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter300 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter14.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half645 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707053’s 135 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium96 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium871 mg
≈ 38% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat7.4 g
≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Italian sausage sandwich on white,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707060 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 101.3–168.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 304 kcal and 506 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.6 g more protein than “Hot dog sandwich, beef, on white bun.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-fried supplies 55.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Italian sausage sandwich on white” fits. Inspect FDC 2707060 when “beef; on white bun” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordItalian sausage sandwich on white | 135 g405 kcal | 300 kcal | 14.4 g | 16.3 g | 0.8 g | 645 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, beef, on white bun | 102 g302 kcal | 296 kcal | 10.8 g | 17.4 g | 0.8 g | 681 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, beef, on white bread | 87 g257 kcal | 295 kcal | 10.9 g | 19.6 g | 0.8 g | 698 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bun | 102 g284 kcal | 278 kcal | 9.7 g | 15.2 g | 0.8 g | 681 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, turkey, on white bun | 102 g253 kcal | 248 kcal | 11.1 g | 11.4 g | 0.8 g | 702 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on white bread | 87 g238 kcal | 274 kcal | 9.6 g | 17.1 g | 0.8 g | 698 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, turkey, on white bread | 87 g207 kcal | 238 kcal | 11.3 g | 12.6 g | 0.8 g | 722 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707053: its source amount is 135 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707053, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
405 kcal
135 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707053, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
870.8 mg≈ 38% Daily ValueSaturated fat
7.4 g≈ 37% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707053’s 135 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707053 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 19.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707053 at 135 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 135 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 405 kcal 300 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 19.4 g 14.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 31.7 g 23.5 g | 12% 9% |
| Total fat | 22 g 16.3 g | 28% 21% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g 0.8 g | 4% 3% |
| Sugars | 5.5 g 4.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 870.8 mg 645 mg | 38% 28% |
| Saturated fat | 7.4 g 5.5 g | 37% 27% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 9.2 g 6.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.8 g 3.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 59.4 mg 44 mg | 20% 15% |
| Potassium | 305.1 mg 226 mg | 6% 5% |
| Calcium | 95.9 mg 71 mg | 7% 5% |
| Iron | 3 mg 2.2 mg | 17% 12% |
| Magnesium | 28.4 mg 21 mg | 7% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.8 mg 0.6 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.8 µg 0.6 µg | 4% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 16.2 µg 12 µg | 2% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 58.7 g 43.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707053, approximate percentages divide the displayed 135 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707053 to 2 source inputs totaling 135 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Italian sausage sandwich on white” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-fried, Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
135 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plainUSDA ingredient 18350 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 44.4% |
| 2 | Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-friedUSDA ingredient 7089 · encyclopedia page available | 75 GM | 75 g | 55.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707053, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Frankfurter sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 300 kcal | 296 kcal | +4 kcal |
| Protein | 14.4 g | 10.8 g | +3.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 23.5 g | 23.7 g | −0.2 g |
| Total fat | 16.3 g | 17.4 g | −1.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g | 0.8 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 645 mg | 681 mg | −36 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.6 g more protein than “Hot dog sandwich, beef, on white bun.”
Only this record lists Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-fried. Only the comparison record lists Frankfurter, beef, unheated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain.
Listed only in this record: Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-fried.
Listed only in the comparison: Frankfurter, beef, unheated.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 135 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (135 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 102 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (102 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707053 with FDC 2707060 at equal mass; use their 135 g and 102 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707053 versus FDC 2707060 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full frankfurter sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Italian sausage sandwich on white,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707053 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 300 kcal per 100 g becomes 405 kcal at 135 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707053
FNDDS food code: 27560710
The scaling for FDC 2707053 can be exact while the match to “Italian sausage sandwich on white” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 135 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.