Energy
lower quarter267 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 360 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 340–373 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 267 calories for 1 sandwich (100 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Jelly sandwich, on white bread
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 100 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich · 100 g
267calories
Jelly sandwich, on white bread
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 267 calories for 1 sandwich at 100 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 267 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.7 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 282 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, white, commercially prepared, representing 60% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 134–267 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709138: “Jelly sandwich, on white bread.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709138, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 sandwich (1 slice bread)” through “1 sandwich” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 sandwich (1 slice bread)USDA-listed household measure | 50 g | 134 kcal | 2.9 g | 0.9 g | 141 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 75 g | 200 kcal | 4.3 g | 1.4 g | 212 mg |
| 1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure | 100 g | 267 kcal | 5.7 g | 1.8 g | 282 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2709138’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter267 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter5.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter1.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter282 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709138’s 100 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium129 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium282 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.5 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Jelly sandwich, on white bread,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707555 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 50 g and 100 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 134 kcal to 267 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 14.4 g less total fat than “Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on white bread.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Bread, white, commercially prepared supplies 60% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “on white bread” fits. Inspect FDC 2707555 when “with regular peanut butter; regular jelly; on white bread” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “on white bread”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordJelly sandwich, on white bread | 100 g267 kcal | 267 kcal | 5.7 g | 2.2 g | 1.8 g | 282 mg |
| Jelly sandwich, on wheat bread | 100 g265 kcal | 265 kcal | 6.9 g | 2.4 g | 3.6 g | 276 mg |
| Almond butter and jelly sandwich, on white bread | 112 g419 kcal | 374 kcal | 11 g | 17 g | 4.2 g | 313 mg |
| Nutella sandwich on white bread | 90 g326 kcal | 362 kcal | 8 g | 12.7 g | 3.4 g | 308 mg |
| Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on white bread | 112 g404 kcal | 361 kcal | 11.4 g | 16.6 g | 2.8 g | 368 mg |
| Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with reduced fat peanut butter, on white bread | 112 g380 kcal | 339 kcal | 12.5 g | 11.6 g | 2.9 g | 401 mg |
| Almond butter sandwich, on white bread | 92 g365 kcal | 397 kcal | 13.3 g | 20.7 g | 4.9 g | 374 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709138: its source amount is 100 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709138, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
267 kcal
100 g
134 kcal
50 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709138, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
57.5 g≈ 21% Daily ValueSodium
282 mg≈ 12% Daily ValueIron
2.1 mg≈ 12% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709138’s 100 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2709138 at 100 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 100 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 267 kcal 267 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.7 g 5.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 57.5 g 57.5 g | 21% 21% |
| Total fat | 2.2 g 2.2 g | 3% 3% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 1.8 g | 6% 6% |
| Sugars | 23.7 g 23.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 282 mg 282 mg | 12% 12% |
| Saturated fat | 0.5 g 0.5 g | 2% 2% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.1 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 92 mg 92 mg | 2% 2% |
| Calcium | 129 mg 129 mg | 10% 10% |
| Iron | 2.1 mg 2.1 mg | 12% 12% |
| Magnesium | 19 mg 19 mg | 5% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.4 mg 0.4 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 33.3 g 33.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709138, approximate percentages divide the displayed 100 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709138 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Jelly sandwich, on white bread” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, white, commercially prepared, Jellies. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 60% |
| 2 | JelliesUSDA ingredient 19300 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 40% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709138, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 267 kcal | 361 kcal | −94 kcal |
| Protein | 5.7 g | 11.4 g | −5.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 57.5 g | 45.2 g | +12.3 g |
| Total fat | 2.2 g | 16.6 g | −14.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g | 2.8 g | −1 g |
| Sodium | 282 mg | 368 mg | −86 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 94 less calories, 5.7 g less protein, and 12.3 g more carbohydrate than “Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on white bread.”
Only the comparison record lists Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Jellies.
Listed only in the comparison: Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 100 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (100 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 112 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (112 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709138 with FDC 2707555 at equal mass; use their 100 g and 112 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709138 versus FDC 2707555 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full peanut butter and jelly sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Jelly sandwich, on white bread” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709138 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Jelly sandwich, on white bread,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709138 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 267 kcal per 100 g becomes 267 kcal at 100 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709138
FNDDS food code: 58201005
The scaling for FDC 2709138 can be exact while the match to “Jelly sandwich, on white bread” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 100 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.