Energy
lower quarter118 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 164 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 157–181 kcal
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 236 calories for 1 cup (200 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 200 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 200 g
236calories
Lentil curry with rice
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 236 calories for 1 cup at 200 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 118 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.6 g protein, 4.4 g fiber, and 656 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is lentil curry, representing 60% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707432: “Lentil curry with rice.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707432, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 150 g | 177 kcal | 4.9 g | 3.3 g | 492 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 200 g | 236 kcal | 6.6 g | 4.4 g | 656 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 250 g | 295 kcal | 8.2 g | 5.5 g | 820 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 23 exact records in the Bean, pea, legume dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707432’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter118 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter3.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter2.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half328 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707432’s 200 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber4.4 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium656 mg
≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.6 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Lentil curry with rice,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707431 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 150–250 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 177 kcal and 295 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.2 g less total fat than “Lentil curry.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Lentil curry supplies 60% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Lentil curry with rice” fits. Inspect FDC 2707431 when the exact wording “Lentil curry” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordLentil curry with rice | 200 g236 kcal | 118 kcal | 3.3 g | 3.5 g | 2.2 g | 328 mg |
| Lentil curry | 240 g266 kcal | 111 kcal | 3.7 g | 5.7 g | 3.4 g | 383 mg |
| Beans and rice, with tomatoes | 170 g233 kcal | 137 kcal | 4.7 g | 3.5 g | 3.8 g | 309 mg |
| Beans and rice, with meat | 170 g275 kcal | 162 kcal | 7.5 g | 4.2 g | 4.4 g | 263 mg |
| Beans and brown rice | 170 g275 kcal | 162 kcal | 6.4 g | 4.5 g | 3.9 g | 213 mg |
| Beans and white rice | 170 g279 kcal | 164 kcal | 6.5 g | 4.2 g | 3.7 g | 231 mg |
| Kidney beans and brown rice | 170 g264 kcal | 155 kcal | 5.8 g | 4.6 g | 4.5 g | 211 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707432: its source amount is 200 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707432, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
236 kcal
200 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707432, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
656 mg≈ 29% Daily ValueDietary fiber
4.4 g≈ 16% Daily ValueIron
2.7 mg≈ 15% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707432’s 200 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707432 at 200 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 200 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 236 kcal 118 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.6 g 3.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 37.2 g 18.6 g | 14% 7% |
| Total fat | 7 g 3.5 g | 9% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.4 g 2.2 g | 16% 8% |
| Sugars | 3.9 g 2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 656 mg 328 mg | 29% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 1.6 g 0.8 g | 8% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.4 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.4 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 378 mg 189 mg | 8% 4% |
| Calcium | 38 mg 19 mg | 3% 1% |
| Iron | 2.7 mg 1.3 mg | 15% 7% |
| Magnesium | 38 mg 19 mg | 9% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 9.2 mg 4.6 mg | 10% 5% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 44 µg 22 µg | 5% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 146.4 g 73.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707432, approximate percentages divide the displayed 200 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707432 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Lentil curry with rice” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Lentil curry, Rice, cooked, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lentil curryUSDA ingredient 41311030 | 60 GM | 60 g | 60% |
| 2 | Rice, cooked, NFSUSDA ingredient 56205000 | 40 GM | 40 g | 40% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707432, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Bean, pea, legume dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 118 kcal | 111 kcal | +7 kcal |
| Protein | 3.3 g | 3.7 g | −0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 18.6 g | 12.3 g | +6.3 g |
| Total fat | 3.5 g | 5.7 g | −2.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.2 g | 3.4 g | −1.2 g |
| Sodium | 328 mg | 383 mg | −55 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 6.3 g more carbohydrate, 2.2 g less total fat, and 1.2 g less dietary fiber than “Lentil curry.”
Only this record lists Lentil curry; Rice, cooked, NFS. Only the comparison record lists Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Lentils, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Lentil curry; Rice, cooked, NFS.
Listed only in the comparison: Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Lentils, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; and 2 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 200 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (200 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (240 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707432 with FDC 2707431 at equal mass; use their 200 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707432 versus FDC 2707431 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full bean, pea, legume dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Lentil curry with rice” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707432 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, preparation, added fat, sauce or seasoning.
For “Lentil curry with rice,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707432 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 118 kcal per 100 g becomes 236 kcal at 200 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707432
FNDDS food code: 41311040
The scaling for FDC 2707432 can be exact while the match to “Lentil curry with rice” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 200 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.