Energy
middle half178 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 161 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 144–191 kcal
Based on 16 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 409 calories for 1 cup (230 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 230 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 230 g
409calories
Macaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 409 calories for 1 cup at 230 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 178 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 28.8 g protein, 1.6 g fiber, and 527 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is macaroni or noodles with cheese, made from packaged mix, representing 65.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708823: “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708823, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 172.5 g | 307 kcal | 21.6 g | 1.2 g | 395 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 230 g | 409 kcal | 28.8 g | 1.6 g | 527 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 287.5 g | 512 kcal | 35.9 g | 2 g | 658 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 16 exact records in the Macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708823’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half178 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter12.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half229 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708823’s 230 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A124.2 µg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium41 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.2 g
≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium527 mg
≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708817 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 172.5–287.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 307 kcal and 512 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.9 g more protein than “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tuna.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Macaroni or noodles with cheese, made from packaged mix supplies 65.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey” fits. Inspect FDC 2708817 when the exact wording “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tuna” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordMacaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey | 230 g409 kcal | 178 kcal | 12.5 g | 7.6 g | 0.7 g | 229 mg |
| Macaroni or noodles with cheese | 230 g513 kcal | 223 kcal | 8.7 g | 10.5 g | 1.2 g | 358 mg |
| Macaroni or noodles with cheese and egg | 230 g426 kcal | 185 kcal | 5.9 g | 9.5 g | 0.8 g | 176 mg |
| Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tuna | 230 g377 kcal | 164 kcal | 7.6 g | 6.8 g | 0.8 g | 176 mg |
| Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese | 230 g363 kcal | 158 kcal | 4.7 g | 5.5 g | 1.3 g | 260 mg |
| Macaroni or noodles with cheese, from restaurant | 230 g347 kcal | 151 kcal | 5.4 g | 6.1 g | 1.1 g | 361 mg |
| Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tomato | 230 g340 kcal | 148 kcal | 3.9 g | 6.5 g | 1.1 g | 131 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708823: its source amount is 230 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708823, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
409 kcal
230 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708823, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
112.7 mg≈ 38% Daily ValueSaturated fat
6.2 g≈ 31% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708823’s 230 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708823 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 28.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708823 at 230 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 230 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 409 kcal 178 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 28.8 g 12.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 34 g 14.8 g | 12% 5% |
| Total fat | 17.5 g 7.6 g | 22% 10% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.6 g 0.7 g | 6% 3% |
| Sugars | 5.3 g 2.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 526.7 mg 229 mg | 23% 10% |
| Saturated fat | 6.2 g 2.7 g | 31% 14% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.2 g 2.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.7 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 112.7 mg 49 mg | 38% 16% |
| Potassium | 301.3 mg 131 mg | 6% 3% |
| Calcium | 101.2 mg 44 mg | 8% 3% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 0.7 mg | 9% 4% |
| Magnesium | 41.4 mg 18 mg | 10% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 0.2 µg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 124.2 µg 54 µg | 14% 6% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 147 g 63.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708823, approximate percentages divide the displayed 230 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708823 to 2 source inputs totaling 1,053 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Macaroni or noodles with cheese, made from packaged mix, Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,053 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Macaroni or noodles with cheese, made from packaged mixUSDA ingredient 58145112 · encyclopedia page available | 3 | 690 g | 65.5% |
| 2 | Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eatenUSDA ingredient 24102070 · encyclopedia page available | 363 GM | 363 g | 34.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708823, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 178 kcal | 164 kcal | +14 kcal |
| Protein | 12.5 g | 7.6 g | +4.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 14.8 g | 18.2 g | −3.4 g |
| Total fat | 7.6 g | 6.8 g | +0.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.7 g | 0.8 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 229 mg | 176 mg | +53 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 14 more calories, 4.9 g more protein, and 3.4 g less carbohydrate than “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tuna.”
Only this record lists Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten. Only the comparison record lists Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Macaroni or noodles with cheese, made from packaged mix.
Listed only in this record: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten.
Listed only in the comparison: Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 230 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (230 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 230 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (230 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708823 with FDC 2708817 at equal mass; use their 230 g and 230 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708823 versus FDC 2708817 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708823 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 178 kcal per 100 g becomes 409 kcal at 230 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708823
FNDDS food code: 58145190
The scaling for FDC 2708823 can be exact while the match to “Macaroni or noodles with cheese and chicken or turkey” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 230 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.