Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned calories: 189 per 1 cup (230 g)

This exact USDA record reports 189 calories for 1 cup (230 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 230 g

Calories
189 kcal
Protein
7.8 g
Carbohydrate
26.5 g
Total fat
5.7 g
Fiber
1.2 g
Sodium
695 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 230 g

189calories

Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned

Protein
7.8 g
Carbs
26.5 g
Fat
5.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708814

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 189 calories for 1 cup at 230 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 82 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 7.8 g protein, 1.2 g fiber, and 695 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is macaroni and cheese, canned entree, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708814: “Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708814, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 172.5 g 141 kcal 5.8 g 0.9 g 521 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 230 g 189 kcal 7.8 g 1.2 g 695 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 287.5 g 236 kcal 9.7 g 1.4 g 868 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Macaroni and cheese

The comparison set contains 16 exact records in the Macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708814’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

82 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
161 kcal
Middle 50%
144–191 kcal

Based on 16 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

3.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6 g
Middle 50%
4.6–8.4 g

Based on 16 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.8 g
Middle 50%
0.7–1.1 g

Based on 16 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

302 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
256 mg
Middle 50%
176–300 mg

Based on 16 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708814’s 230 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium81 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium695 mg

≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat2 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708811 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 230 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 172.5–287.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 141 kcal and 236 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708811

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 8 g less total fat than “Macaroni or noodles with cheese.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Macaroni and Cheese, canned entree

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “canned” fits. Inspect FDC 2708811 when the exact wording “Macaroni or noodles with cheese” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned

Exact source wording
“Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708814 · FNDDS 58145113
Named qualifiers
canned
Source inputs unique in this pair
Macaroni and Cheese, canned entree

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Macaroni or noodles with cheese

Exact source wording
“Macaroni or noodles with cheese”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708811 · FNDDS 58145110
Source inputs unique in this pair
Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt · Table fat, NFS · Salt, table

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “canned”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordMacaroni or noodles with cheese, canned 230 g189 kcal 82 kcal 3.4 g 2.5 g 0.5 g 302 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese 230 g513 kcal 223 kcal 8.7 g 10.5 g 1.2 g 358 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tomato 230 g340 kcal 148 kcal 3.9 g 6.5 g 1.1 g 131 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese, from restaurant 230 g347 kcal 151 kcal 5.4 g 6.1 g 1.1 g 361 mg
Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese 230 g363 kcal 158 kcal 4.7 g 5.5 g 1.3 g 260 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tuna 230 g377 kcal 164 kcal 7.6 g 6.8 g 0.8 g 176 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese and egg 230 g426 kcal 185 kcal 5.9 g 9.5 g 0.8 g 176 mg

How to compare FDC 2708814: its source amount is 230 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708814, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

189 kcal

230 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708814, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

694.6 mg≈ 30% Daily Value

Iron

2.1 mg≈ 12% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708814’s 230 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708814 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 7.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708814 at 230 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 695 mg sodium, about 30% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 230 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 189 kcal Not established
Protein 7.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 26.5 g 10%
Total fat 5.7 g 7%
Dietary fiber 1.2 g 4%
Sugars 1.2 g Not established
Sodium 694.6 mg 30%
Saturated fat 2 g 10%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.7 g Not established
Cholesterol 13.8 mg 5%
Potassium 193.2 mg 4%
Calcium 80.5 mg 6%
Iron 2.1 mg 12%
Magnesium 20.7 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 39.1 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 187.2 g Not established

For FDC 2708814, approximate percentages divide the displayed 230 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708814 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Macaroni and Cheese, canned entree is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Macaroni and Cheese, canned entreeUSDA ingredient 22247 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708814, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories82 kcal223 kcal−141 kcal
Protein3.4 g8.7 g−5.3 g
Carbohydrate11.5 g23.1 g−11.6 g
Total fat2.5 g10.5 g−8 g
Dietary fiber0.5 g1.2 g−0.7 g
Sodium302 mg358 mg−56 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 141 less calories, 5.3 g less protein, and 11.6 g less carbohydrate than “Macaroni or noodles with cheese.”

Only this record lists Macaroni and Cheese, canned entree. Only the comparison record lists Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Table fat, NFS; Salt, table; Milk, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Macaroni and Cheese, canned entree.

Listed only in the comparison: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Table fat, NFS; Salt, table; Milk, NFS; and 3 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 230 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (230 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 230 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (230 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708814 with FDC 2708811 at equal mass; use their 230 g and 230 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708814 versus FDC 2708811 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708814 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708814 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 82 kcal per 100 g becomes 189 kcal at 230 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708814

FNDDS food code: 58145113

The scaling for FDC 2708814 can be exact while the match to “Macaroni or noodles with cheese, canned” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 230 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.