Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Muffin, oat bran calories: 351 per 1 medium (130 g)

This exact USDA record reports 351 calories for 1 medium (130 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium · 130 g

Calories
351 kcal
Protein
9.1 g
Carbohydrate
62.8 g
Total fat
9.6 g
Fiber
6 g
Sodium
511 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium · 130 g

351calories

Muffin, oat bran

Protein
9.1 g
Carbs
62.8 g
Fat
9.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707840

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 351 calories for 1 medium at 130 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 270 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 9.1 g protein, 6 g fiber, and 511 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is muffins, oat bran, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 27–486 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707840: “Muffin, oat bran.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707840, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 bite size” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 bite sizeUSDA-listed household measure 10 g 27 kcal 0.7 g 0.5 g 39 mg
1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure 130 g 351 kcal 9.1 g 6 g 511 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 180 g 486 kcal 12.6 g 8.3 g 707 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Biscuits, muffins, quick breads

The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707840’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

270 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
305 kcal
Middle 50%
271–372 kcal

Based on 34 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.2 g
Middle 50%
5–6.9 g

Based on 34 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

4.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.4 g

Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

393 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
393 mg
Middle 50%
337–449 mg

Based on 34 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707840’s 130 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium204 mg

≈ 49% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron5 mg

≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium511 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.4 g

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Muffin, oat bran,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707837 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 bite size to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 27 kcal to 486 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707837

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.4 g more dietary fiber than “Muffin, wheat bran.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Muffins, oat bran

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “oat bran” fits. Inspect FDC 2707837 when “wheat bran” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Muffin, oat bran

Exact source wording
“Muffin, oat bran”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707840 · FNDDS 52304150
Named qualifiers
oat bran
Source inputs unique in this pair
Muffins, oat bran

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Muffin, wheat bran

Exact source wording
“Muffin, wheat bran”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707837 · FNDDS 52304010
Named qualifiers
wheat bran
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached · Oat bran, raw · Sugars, granulated

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “oat bran”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordMuffin, oat bran 130 g351 kcal 270 kcal 7 g 7.4 g 4.6 g 393 mg
Muffin, wheat bran 130 g270 kcal 208 kcal 6.3 g 5 g 2.2 g 208 mg
Muffin, pumpkin 130 g397 kcal 305 kcal 5 g 12.9 g 1.4 g 285 mg
Muffin, carrot 130 g408 kcal 314 kcal 5 g 13.2 g 1.4 g 309 mg
Muffin, cheese 130 g477 kcal 367 kcal 9.7 g 23 g 1 g 491 mg
Muffin, oatmeal 130 g481 kcal 370 kcal 6.4 g 18.9 g 1.5 g 404 mg
Muffin, wheat 130 g484 kcal 372 kcal 6.9 g 18 g 1.8 g 389 mg

How to compare FDC 2707840: its source amount is 130 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707840, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 miniature

68 kcal

25 g

1 small

189 kcal

70 g

1 medium

351 kcal

130 g

1 large

486 kcal

180 g

1 bite size

27 kcal

10 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707840, Magnesium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Magnesium

204.1 mg≈ 49% Daily Value

Iron

5.5 mg≈ 30% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

62.8 g≈ 23% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707840’s 130 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707840 at 130 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 6 g dietary fiber, about 21% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 511 mg sodium, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 130 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 351 kcal Not established
Protein 9.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 62.8 g 23%
Total fat 9.6 g 12%
Dietary fiber 6 g 21%
Sugars 10.7 g Not established
Sodium 510.9 mg 22%
Saturated fat 1.4 g 7%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 5.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 659.1 mg 14%
Calcium 81.9 mg 6%
Iron 5.5 mg 30%
Magnesium 204.1 mg 49%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 45.5 g Not established

For FDC 2707840, approximate percentages divide the displayed 130 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707840 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Muffin, oat bran” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Muffins, oat bran is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Muffins, oat branUSDA ingredient 18283 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707840, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories270 kcal208 kcal+62 kcal
Protein7 g6.3 g+0.7 g
Carbohydrate48.3 g38.7 g+9.6 g
Total fat7.4 g5 g+2.4 g
Dietary fiber4.6 g2.2 g+2.4 g
Sodium393 mg208 mg+185 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 62 more calories, 9.6 g more carbohydrate, and 2.4 g more total fat than “Muffin, wheat bran.”

Only this record lists Muffins, oat bran. Only the comparison record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Oat bran, raw; Sugars, granulated; Leavening agents, baking soda. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Muffins, oat bran.

Listed only in the comparison: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Oat bran, raw; Sugars, granulated; Leavening agents, baking soda; and 4 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (130 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (130 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707840 with FDC 2707837 at equal mass; use their 130 g and 130 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707840 versus FDC 2707837 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Muffin, oat bran,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707840 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 270 kcal per 100 g becomes 351 kcal at 130 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707840

FNDDS food code: 52304150

The scaling for FDC 2707840 can be exact while the match to “Muffin, oat bran” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 130 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.