Energy
middle half101 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 92 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 57–122 kcal
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 259 calories for 1 cup (256 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 256 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 256 g
259calories
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost)
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 259 calories for 1 cup at 256 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 101 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 10.8 g protein, 3.3 g fiber, and 161 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, chocolate drink, milk and soy based, ready to drink, fortified, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 32–259 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710714: “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710714, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure | 32 g | 32 kcal | 1.4 g | 0.4 g | 20 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 192 g | 194 kcal | 8.1 g | 2.5 g | 121 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 256 g | 259 kcal | 10.8 g | 3.3 g | 161 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Nutritional beverages USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710714’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half101 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half4.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter1.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter63 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710714’s 256 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C65 mg
≈ 72% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A404.5 µg
≈ 45% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium161 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.1 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710715 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 32 g and 256 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 32 kcal to 259 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.7 g less total fat than “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost Plus).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “ready-to-drink (Boost)” fits. Inspect FDC 2710715 when “ready-to-drink (Boost Plus)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “ready-to-drink (Boost)”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordNutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost) | 256 g259 kcal | 101 kcal | 4.2 g | 1.7 g | 1.3 g | 63 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost Plus) | 256 g353 kcal | 138 kcal | 5.4 g | 5.4 g | 1.2 g | 77 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure) | 252 g265 kcal | 105 kcal | 3.8 g | 2.5 g | 0 g | 84 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus) | 252 g355 kcal | 141 kcal | 5.2 g | 4.5 g | 0 g | 95 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Slim Fast) | 341 g194 kcal | 57 kcal | 3.3 g | 1.9 g | 1.6 g | 68 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk) | 352 g183 kcal | 52 kcal | 5.9 g | 2.2 g | 0.2 g | 95 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Carnation Instant Breakfast) | 341 g314 kcal | 92 kcal | 5.5 g | 2 g | 0.1 g | 84 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710714: its source amount is 256 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710714, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
259 kcal
256 g
32 kcal
32 g
259 kcal
256 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710714, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin C
64.8 mg≈ 72% Daily ValueVitamin A
404.5 µg≈ 45% Daily ValueVitamin D
6.4 µg≈ 32% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710714’s 256 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2710714 at 256 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 256 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 259 kcal 101 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 10.8 g 4.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 44.3 g 17.3 g | 16% 6% |
| Total fat | 4.3 g 1.7 g | 6% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.3 g 1.3 g | 12% 5% |
| Sugars | 21.6 g 8.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 161.3 mg 63 mg | 7% 3% |
| Saturated fat | 1.1 g 0.4 g | 5% 2% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.9 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 10.2 mg 4 mg | 3% 1% |
| Potassium | 627.2 mg 245 mg | 13% 5% |
| Calcium | 325.1 mg 127 mg | 25% 10% |
| Iron | 4.9 mg 1.9 mg | 27% 11% |
| Magnesium | 107.5 mg 42 mg | 26% 10% |
| Vitamin C | 64.8 mg 25.3 mg | 72% 28% |
| Vitamin D | 6.4 µg 2.5 µg | 32% 13% |
| Vitamin A | 404.5 µg 158 µg | 45% 18% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 194 g 75.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710714, approximate percentages divide the displayed 256 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710714 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost)” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Beverages, chocolate drink, milk and soy based, ready to drink, fortified is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, chocolate drink, milk and soy based, ready to drink, fortifiedUSDA ingredient 14163 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710714, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Nutritional beverages” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 101 kcal | 138 kcal | −37 kcal |
| Protein | 4.2 g | 5.4 g | −1.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 17.3 g | 17.3 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 1.7 g | 5.4 g | −3.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.3 g | 1.2 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 63 mg | 77 mg | −14 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 37 less calories, 1.2 g less protein, and 3.7 g less total fat than “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost Plus).”
Only this record lists Beverages, chocolate drink, milk and soy based, ready to drink, fortified. Only the comparison record lists Beverages, NESTLE, Boost plus, nutritional drink, ready-to-drink. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Beverages, chocolate drink, milk and soy based, ready to drink, fortified.
Listed only in the comparison: Beverages, NESTLE, Boost plus, nutritional drink, ready-to-drink.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 256 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (256 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 256 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (256 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710714 with FDC 2710715 at equal mass; use their 256 g and 256 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710714 versus FDC 2710715 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full nutritional beverages source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2710714 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost)” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2710714 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with drink size, recipe or formulation, milk or cream, sweeteners and add-ins.
For “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost),” resolve drink size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Resolve drink size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Identify the liquid base and fat level when you can. Dairy, plant-based beverages, cream, and water are different record choices—not interchangeable volume adjustments.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710714 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 101 kcal per 100 g becomes 259 kcal at 256 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710714
FNDDS food code: 95101000
The scaling for FDC 2710714 can be exact while the match to “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 256 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.