Energy
upper quarter141 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 92 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 57–122 kcal
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 355 calories for 1 cup (252 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 252 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 252 g
355calories
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus)
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 355 calories for 1 cup at 252 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 141 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 239 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, abbott, ensure plus, ready-to-drink, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 44–355 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710718: “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710718, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure | 31.5 g | 44 kcal | 1.6 g | 0 g | 30 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 189 g | 266 kcal | 9.8 g | 0 g | 180 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 252 g | 355 kcal | 13 g | 0 g | 239 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Nutritional beverages USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2710718’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter141 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half5.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter95 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710718’s 252 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A375.5 µg
≈ 42% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin C30 mg
≈ 33% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium239 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.4 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710717 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 31.5 g and 252 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 44 kcal to 355 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2 g more total fat than “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus)” fits. Inspect FDC 2710717 when “ready-to-drink (Ensure)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus)”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordNutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus) | 252 g355 kcal | 141 kcal | 5.2 g | 4.5 g | 0 g | 95 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure) | 252 g265 kcal | 105 kcal | 3.8 g | 2.5 g | 0 g | 84 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost Plus) | 256 g353 kcal | 138 kcal | 5.4 g | 5.4 g | 1.2 g | 77 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost) | 256 g259 kcal | 101 kcal | 4.2 g | 1.7 g | 1.3 g | 63 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Slim Fast) | 341 g194 kcal | 57 kcal | 3.3 g | 1.9 g | 1.6 g | 68 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk) | 352 g183 kcal | 52 kcal | 5.9 g | 2.2 g | 0.2 g | 95 mg |
| Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Carnation Instant Breakfast) | 341 g314 kcal | 92 kcal | 5.5 g | 2 g | 0.1 g | 84 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710718: its source amount is 252 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710718, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
355 kcal
252 g
44 kcal
32 g
355 kcal
252 g
355 kcal
252 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710718, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin A
375.5 µg≈ 42% Daily ValueVitamin C
30 mg≈ 33% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710718’s 252 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2710718 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2710718 at 252 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 252 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 355 kcal 141 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13 g 5.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 50.1 g 19.9 g | 18% 7% |
| Total fat | 11.4 g 4.5 g | 15% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 21 g 8.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 239.4 mg 95 mg | 10% 4% |
| Saturated fat | 1.4 g 0.6 g | 7% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.8 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 6.7 g 2.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 5 mg 2 mg | 2% 1% |
| Potassium | 441 mg 175 mg | 9% 4% |
| Calcium | 199.1 mg 79 mg | 15% 6% |
| Iron | 4.5 mg 1.8 mg | 25% 10% |
| Magnesium | 100.8 mg 40 mg | 24% 10% |
| Vitamin C | 30 mg 11.9 mg | 33% 13% |
| Vitamin D | 2.5 µg 1 µg | 13% 5% |
| Vitamin A | 375.5 µg 149 µg | 42% 17% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 175.9 g 69.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710718, approximate percentages divide the displayed 252 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710718 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus)” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Beverages, ABBOTT, ENSURE PLUS, ready-to-drink is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, ABBOTT, ENSURE PLUS, ready-to-drinkUSDA ingredient 43528 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710718, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Nutritional beverages” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 141 kcal | 105 kcal | +36 kcal |
| Protein | 5.2 g | 3.8 g | +1.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 19.9 g | 16.9 g | +3 g |
| Total fat | 4.5 g | 2.5 g | +2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 95 mg | 84 mg | +11 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 36 more calories, 1.4 g more protein, and 3 g more carbohydrate than “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure).”
Only this record lists Beverages, ABBOTT, ENSURE PLUS, ready-to-drink. Only the comparison record lists Beverages, ABBOTT, ENSURE, Nutritional Shake, Ready-to-Drink. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Beverages, ABBOTT, ENSURE PLUS, ready-to-drink.
Listed only in the comparison: Beverages, ABBOTT, ENSURE, Nutritional Shake, Ready-to-Drink.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 252 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (252 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 252 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (252 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710718 with FDC 2710717 at equal mass; use their 252 g and 252 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710718 versus FDC 2710717 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full nutritional beverages source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus)” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2710718 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with drink size, recipe or formulation, milk or cream, sweeteners and add-ins.
For “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus),” resolve drink size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Resolve drink size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Identify the liquid base and fat level when you can. Dairy, plant-based beverages, cream, and water are different record choices—not interchangeable volume adjustments.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710718 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 141 kcal per 100 g becomes 355 kcal at 252 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710718
FNDDS food code: 95103010
The scaling for FDC 2710718 can be exact while the match to “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 252 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.