Beveragesmoderate variability

Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk) calories: 183 per 1 single serving box (352 g)

This exact USDA record reports 183 calories for 1 single serving box (352 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 single serving box · 352 g

Calories
183 kcal
Protein
20.7 g
Carbohydrate
8 g
Total fat
7.6 g
Fiber
0.7 g
Sodium
334 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 single serving box (11 fl oz) · 352 g

183calories

Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)

Protein
20.7 g
Carbs
8 g
Fat
7.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710720

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 183 calories for 1 single serving box at 352 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 52 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 20.7 g protein, 0.7 g fiber, and 334 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, cytosport, muscle milk, ready-to-drink, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 single serving box at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 17–283 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710720: “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710720, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 single serving box (17 fl oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure 32 g 17 kcal 1.9 g 0.1 g 30 mg
1 single serving box (11 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure 352 g 183 kcal 20.7 g 0.7 g 334 mg
1 single serving box (17 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure 544 g 283 kcal 31.9 g 1.1 g 517 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Nutritional beverages

The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Nutritional beverages USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2710720’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

52 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
92 kcal
Middle 50%
57–122 kcal

Based on 11 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

5.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.2 g
Middle 50%
4–5.4 g

Based on 11 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.4 g
Middle 50%
0.2–1.3 g

Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

95 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
77 mg
Middle 50%
68–84 mg

Based on 11 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710720’s 352 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C97 mg

≈ 108% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A309.8 µg

≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium334 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.3 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710721 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fl oz to 1 single serving box (17 fl oz)

    USDA assigns those measures 32 g and 544 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 17 kcal to 283 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710721

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 68 mg more sodium than “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink, light (Muscle Milk).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Beverages, CYTOSPORT, Muscle Milk, ready-to-drink

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)” fits. Inspect FDC 2710721 when “ready-to-drink; light (Muscle Milk)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)

Exact source wording
“Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710720 · FNDDS 95106000
Named qualifiers
ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beverages, CYTOSPORT, Muscle Milk, ready-to-drink

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink, light (Muscle Milk)

Exact source wording
“Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink, light (Muscle Milk)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710721 · FNDDS 95106010
Named qualifiers
ready-to-drink · light (Muscle Milk)
Source inputs unique in this pair
Protein supplement, milk based, Muscle Milk Light, powder · Beverages, water, tap, drinking

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordNutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk) 352 g183 kcal 52 kcal 5.9 g 2.2 g 0.2 g 95 mg
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink, light (Muscle Milk) 272 g103 kcal 38 kcal 4.8 g 1.2 g 0.2 g 27 mg
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost) 256 g259 kcal 101 kcal 4.2 g 1.7 g 1.3 g 63 mg
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure) 252 g265 kcal 105 kcal 3.8 g 2.5 g 0 g 84 mg
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Slim Fast) 341 g194 kcal 57 kcal 3.3 g 1.9 g 1.6 g 68 mg
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Boost Plus) 256 g353 kcal 138 kcal 5.4 g 5.4 g 1.2 g 77 mg
Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Ensure Plus) 252 g355 kcal 141 kcal 5.2 g 4.5 g 0 g 95 mg

How to compare FDC 2710720: its source amount is 352 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710720, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

133 kcal

256 g

1 fl oz

17 kcal

32 g

1 single serving box (11 fl oz)

183 kcal

352 g

1 bottle (14 fl oz)

233 kcal

448 g

1 single serving box (17 fl oz)

283 kcal

544 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710720, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin C

97.2 mg≈ 108% Daily Value

Vitamin A

309.8 µg≈ 34% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710720’s 352 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2710720 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 20.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2710720 at 352 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 334 mg sodium, about 15% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 352 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 183 kcal Not established
Protein 20.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 8 g 3%
Total fat 7.6 g 10%
Dietary fiber 0.7 g 3%
Sugars 2.7 g Not established
Sodium 334.4 mg 15%
Saturated fat 1.3 g 6%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 7 mg 2%
Potassium 697 mg 15%
Calcium 242.9 mg 19%
Iron 4.6 mg 25%
Magnesium 70.4 mg 17%
Vitamin C 97.2 mg 108%
Vitamin D 2.5 µg 12%
Vitamin A 309.8 µg 34%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 313.3 g Not established

For FDC 2710720, approximate percentages divide the displayed 352 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710720 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Beverages, CYTOSPORT, Muscle Milk, ready-to-drink is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beverages, CYTOSPORT, Muscle Milk, ready-to-drinkUSDA ingredient 14036 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710720, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Nutritional beverages” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories52 kcal38 kcal+14 kcal
Protein5.9 g4.8 g+1.1 g
Carbohydrate2.3 g2.1 g+0.2 g
Total fat2.2 g1.2 g+1 g
Dietary fiber0.2 g0.2 gSame listed value
Sodium95 mg27 mg+68 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 14 more calories, 1.1 g more protein, and 1 g more total fat than “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink, light (Muscle Milk).”

Only this record lists Beverages, CYTOSPORT, Muscle Milk, ready-to-drink. Only the comparison record lists Protein supplement, milk based, Muscle Milk Light, powder; Beverages, water, tap, drinking. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Beverages, CYTOSPORT, Muscle Milk, ready-to-drink.

Listed only in the comparison: Protein supplement, milk based, Muscle Milk Light, powder; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 352 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 single serving box (352 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 272 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 single serving box (272 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710720 with FDC 2710721 at equal mass; use their 352 g and 272 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710720 versus FDC 2710721 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full nutritional beverages source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with drink size, recipe or formulation, milk or cream, sweeteners and add-ins.

For “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk),” resolve drink size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    drink size

    Resolve drink size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    recipe or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    milk or cream

    Identify the liquid base and fat level when you can. Dairy, plant-based beverages, cream, and water are different record choices—not interchangeable volume adjustments.

  4. 04

    sweeteners and add-ins

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710720 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 52 kcal per 100 g becomes 183 kcal at 352 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 single serving box has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710720

FNDDS food code: 95106000

The scaling for FDC 2710720 can be exact while the match to “Nutritional drink or shake, ready-to-drink (Muscle Milk)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 352 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.