Energy
middle half136 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 340 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe
Quick facts
1 cup · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g
340calories
Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 340 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 136 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 10.3 g protein, 5.5 g fiber, and 515 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (includes foods for usda's food distribution program), representing 51.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708907: “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708907, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 187.5 g | 255 kcal | 7.7 g | 4.1 g | 386 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 340 kcal | 10.3 g | 5.5 g | 515 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 312.5 g | 425 kcal | 12.8 g | 6.9 g | 644 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708907’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half136 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter4.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter206 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708907’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber5.5 g
≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium78 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat8.2 g
≈ 41% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium515 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708913 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 187.5–312.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 255 kcal and 425 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.1 g less protein than “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, home recipe.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program) supplies 51.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole grain; with cream sauce; and added vegetables; home recipe” fits. Inspect FDC 2708913 when “whole grain; with cream sauce; meat; and added vegetables” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole grain”, “with cream sauce”, “and added vegetables”, and “home recipe”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe | 250 g340 kcal | 136 kcal | 4.1 g | 6.4 g | 2.2 g | 206 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, seafood, and added vegetables, home recipe | 250 g340 kcal | 136 kcal | 5.9 g | 5.5 g | 2.2 g | 212 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe | 250 g353 kcal | 141 kcal | 6.4 g | 6.1 g | 2.2 g | 201 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, home recipe | 250 g373 kcal | 149 kcal | 6.2 g | 6.9 g | 2.2 g | 202 mg |
| Pasta with cream sauce and added vegetables, from home recipe | 250 g353 kcal | 141 kcal | 4 g | 6 g | 1.1 g | 204 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, home recipe | 250 g375 kcal | 150 kcal | 4.1 g | 8.1 g | 2 g | 268 mg |
| Pasta with cream sauce, seafood, and added vegetables, home recipe | 250 g353 kcal | 141 kcal | 5.8 g | 5.1 g | 1.1 g | 210 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708907: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708907, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
340 kcal
250 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708907, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
8.2 g≈ 41% Daily ValueSodium
515 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueTotal fat
16.1 g≈ 21% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708907’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708907 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 340 kcal 136 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 10.3 g 4.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 42.3 g 16.9 g | 15% 6% |
| Total fat | 16.1 g 6.4 g | 21% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 5.5 g 2.2 g | 20% 8% |
| Sugars | 2.7 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 515 mg 206 mg | 22% 9% |
| Saturated fat | 8.2 g 3.3 g | 41% 16% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.1 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.4 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 40 mg 16 mg | 13% 5% |
| Potassium | 247.5 mg 99 mg | 5% 2% |
| Calcium | 80 mg 32 mg | 6% 2% |
| Iron | 2.4 mg 1 mg | 13% 5% |
| Magnesium | 77.5 mg 31 mg | 18% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 12.8 mg 5.1 mg | 14% 6% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 0.2 µg | 3% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 137.5 µg 55 µg | 15% 6% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 179 g 71.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708907, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708907 to 2 source inputs totaling 270 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Alfredo sauce with added vegetables. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
270 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 20125 · encyclopedia page available | 140 GM | 140 g | 51.9% |
| 2 | Alfredo sauce with added vegetablesUSDA ingredient 14650165 · encyclopedia page available | 130 GM | 130 g | 48.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708907, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 136 kcal | 149 kcal | −13 kcal |
| Protein | 4.1 g | 6.2 g | −2.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16.9 g | 16.6 g | +0.3 g |
| Total fat | 6.4 g | 6.9 g | −0.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.2 g | 2.2 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 206 mg | 202 mg | +4 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 13 less calories and 2.1 g less protein than “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, home recipe.”
Only this record lists Alfredo sauce with added vegetables. Only the comparison record lists Alfredo sauce with meat and added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
Listed only in this record: Alfredo sauce with added vegetables.
Listed only in the comparison: Alfredo sauce with meat and added vegetables.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708907 with FDC 2708913 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708907 versus FDC 2708913 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708907 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708907 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708907 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 136 kcal per 100 g becomes 340 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708907
FNDDS food code: 58146692
The scaling for FDC 2708907 can be exact while the match to “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.