Energy
upper quarter143 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 125 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 101–139 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 315 calories for 1 cup (220 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 220 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 220 g
315calories
Pork chow mein or chop suey with noodles
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 315 calories for 1 cup at 220 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 143 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 22.9 g protein, 3.3 g fiber, and 715 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is restaurant, chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodles, representing 58.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706648: “Pork chow mein or chop suey with noodles.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706648, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 165 g | 236 kcal | 17.2 g | 2.5 g | 536 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 220 g | 315 kcal | 22.9 g | 3.3 g | 715 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 275 g | 393 kcal | 28.6 g | 4.1 g | 894 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Fried rice and lo/chow mein USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706648’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter143 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter10.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter325 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706648’s 220 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber3.3 g
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium715 mg
≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.4 g
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pork chow mein or chop suey with noodles,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706771 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 165–275 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 236 kcal and 393 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.4 g more carbohydrate than “Pork chow mein or chop suey, no noodles.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodles supplies 58.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Pork chow mein or chop suey with noodles” fits. Inspect FDC 2706771 when “no noodles” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPork chow mein or chop suey with noodles | 220 g315 kcal | 143 kcal | 10.4 g | 6.4 g | 1.5 g | 325 mg |
| Pork chow mein or chop suey, no noodles | 165 g162 kcal | 98 kcal | 10.3 g | 4.3 g | 0.8 g | 250 mg |
| Beef chow mein or chop suey with noodles | 220 g284 kcal | 129 kcal | 10.8 g | 4.9 g | 1.5 g | 328 mg |
| Shrimp chow mein or chop suey with noodles | 220 g257 kcal | 117 kcal | 9.1 g | 4 g | 1.5 g | 335 mg |
| Beef chow mein or chop suey, no noodles | 165 g135 kcal | 82 kcal | 10.8 g | 2.6 g | 0.8 g | 253 mg |
| Shrimp chow mein or chop suey, no noodles | 165 g114 kcal | 69 kcal | 8.8 g | 1.7 g | 0.8 g | 263 mg |
| Chicken or turkey chow mein or chop suey with noodles | 220 g288 kcal | 131 kcal | 9.9 g | 5.4 g | 1.5 g | 408 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706648: its source amount is 220 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706648, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
315 kcal
220 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706648, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
715 mg≈ 31% Daily ValueSaturated fat
4.4 g≈ 22% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706648’s 220 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706648 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 22.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706648 at 220 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 220 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 315 kcal 143 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 22.9 g 10.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 24.6 g 11.2 g | 9% 4% |
| Total fat | 14 g 6.4 g | 18% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.3 g 1.5 g | 12% 5% |
| Sugars | 3.4 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 715 mg 325 mg | 31% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 4.4 g 2 g | 22% 10% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.7 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.6 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 50.6 mg 23 mg | 17% 8% |
| Potassium | 475.2 mg 216 mg | 10% 5% |
| Calcium | 44 mg 20 mg | 3% 2% |
| Iron | 3 mg 1.4 mg | 17% 8% |
| Magnesium | 35.2 mg 16 mg | 8% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 9.7 mg 4.4 mg | 11% 5% |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg 0.2 µg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 17.6 µg 8 µg | 2% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 155.8 g 70.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706648, approximate percentages divide the displayed 220 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706648 to 3 source inputs totaling 1,157.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pork chow mein or chop suey with noodles” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodles, Pork, fresh, loin, whole, separable lean only, cooked, roasted, Noodles, chinese, chow mein. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,157.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pork, fresh, loin, whole, separable lean only, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 10027 · encyclopedia page available | 335 GM | 335 g | 29% |
| 2 | Noodles, chinese, chow meinUSDA ingredient 20113 · encyclopedia page available | 5 WO | 141.8 g | 12.2% |
| 3 | Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodlesUSDA ingredient 36624 · encyclopedia page available | 1.5 LB | 680.4 g | 58.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706648, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fried rice and lo/chow mein” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 143 kcal | 98 kcal | +45 kcal |
| Protein | 10.4 g | 10.3 g | +0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 11.2 g | 3.9 g | +7.4 g |
| Total fat | 6.4 g | 4.3 g | +2.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g | 0.8 g | +0.7 g |
| Sodium | 325 mg | 250 mg | +75 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 45 more calories, 7.4 g more carbohydrate, and 2.1 g more total fat than “Pork chow mein or chop suey, no noodles.”
Only this record lists Noodles, chinese, chow mein. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pork, fresh, loin, whole, separable lean only, cooked, roasted; Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodles.
Listed only in this record: Noodles, chinese, chow mein.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 220 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (220 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 165 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (220 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706648 with FDC 2706771 at equal mass; use their 220 g and 165 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706648 versus FDC 2706771 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full fried rice and lo/chow mein source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706648 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Pork chow mein or chop suey with noodles,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706648 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 143 kcal per 100 g becomes 315 kcal at 220 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706648
FNDDS food code: 27320310
The scaling for FDC 2706648 can be exact while the match to “Pork chow mein or chop suey with noodles” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 220 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.