Energy
upper quarter544 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 236 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 208–271 kcal
Based on 21 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 163 calories for 1 cup (30 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 30 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 30 g
163calories
Pork skin rinds
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 163 calories for 1 cup at 30 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 544 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 18.4 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 546 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, pork skins, plain, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 5–462 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705902: “Pork skin rinds.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705902, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 rind” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 rindUSDA-listed household measure | 1 g | 5 kcal | 0.6 g | 0 g | 18 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 163 kcal | 18.4 g | 0 g | 546 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 462 kcal | 52.1 g | 0 g | 1,547 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 21 exact records in the Pork USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705902’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter544 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter61.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter1,820 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705902’s 30 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium546 mg
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.4 g
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pork skin rinds,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705895 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 1 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 5 kcal to 462 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 530 mg more sodium than “Pork, cracklings.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Pork skin rinds” fits. Inspect FDC 2705895 when “cracklings” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPork skin rinds | 30 g163 kcal | 544 kcal | 61.3 g | 31.3 g | 0 g | 1,820 mg |
| Pork, cracklings | 90 g512 kcal | 569 kcal | 45 g | 41.7 g | 0 g | 1,290 mg |
| Pork, belly | 60 g242 kcal | 404 kcal | 26.6 g | 32.2 g | 0 g | 448 mg |
| Pork, ground | 85 g254 kcal | 299 kcal | 26.9 g | 21.2 g | 0 g | 395 mg |
| Pork, carnitas | 135 g366 kcal | 271 kcal | 24.6 g | 18.3 g | 0 g | 440 mg |
| Pork, ribs | 105 g267 kcal | 254 kcal | 16.2 g | 15.1 g | 0.3 g | 678 mg |
| Pork, ears | 85 g201 kcal | 236 kcal | 26.2 g | 13.8 g | 0 g | 364 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705902: its source amount is 30 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705902, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
5 kcal
1 g
152 kcal
28 g
310 kcal
57 g
462 kcal
85 g
163 kcal
30 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705902, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
546 mg≈ 24% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.4 g≈ 17% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705902’s 30 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705902 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 18.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705902 at 30 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 30 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 163 kcal 544 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 18.4 g 61.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 9.4 g 31.3 g | 12% 40% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 546 mg 1,820 mg | 24% 79% |
| Saturated fat | 3.4 g 11.4 g | 17% 57% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.4 g 14.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.1 g 3.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 28.5 mg 95 mg | 10% 32% |
| Potassium | 38.1 mg 127 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 9 mg 30 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 0.3 mg 0.9 mg | 1% 5% |
| Magnesium | 3.3 mg 11 mg | 1% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.5 mg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 3.6 µg 12 µg | 0% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.5 g 1.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705902, approximate percentages divide the displayed 30 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705902 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pork skin rinds” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Snacks, pork skins, plain is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, pork skins, plainUSDA ingredient 19041 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705902, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pork” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 544 kcal | 569 kcal | −25 kcal |
| Protein | 61.3 g | 45 g | +16.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 31.3 g | 41.7 g | −10.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 1,820 mg | 1,290 mg | +530 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 16.3 g more protein, 10.4 g less total fat, and 530 mg more sodium than “Pork, cracklings.”
Only the comparison record lists Pork, fresh, separable fat, cooked. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Snacks, pork skins, plain.
Listed only in the comparison: Pork, fresh, separable fat, cooked.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (90 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705902 with FDC 2705895 at equal mass; use their 30 g and 90 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705902 versus FDC 2705895 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pork source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Pork skin rinds,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705902 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 544 kcal per 100 g becomes 163 kcal at 30 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705902
FNDDS food code: 22709010
The scaling for FDC 2705902 can be exact while the match to “Pork skin rinds” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 30 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.