Energy
upper quarter543 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 487 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 487–532 kcal
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 152 calories for 1 1-inch stack (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 1-inch stack · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 1-inch stack · 28 g
152calories
Potato chips, restructured, plain
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 152 calories for 1 1-inch stack at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 543 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 1.3 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, and 180 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snack, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, plain, representing 99.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 1-inch stack at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 11–1,005 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709432: “Potato chips, restructured, plain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709432, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 regular can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 2 g | 11 kcal | 0.1 g | 0.1 g | 13 mg |
| 1 1-inch stackUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 152 kcal | 1.3 g | 0.8 g | 180 mg |
| 1 regular canUSDA-listed household measure | 185 g | 1,005 kcal | 8.5 g | 5.4 g | 1,190 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Potato chips USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709432’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter543 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter4.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter2.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter643 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709432’s 28 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat2.4 g
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium180 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Potato chips, restructured, plain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709433 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 185 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 11 kcal to 1,005 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 114 mg less sodium than “Potato chips, restructured, flavored.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Snack, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, plain supplies 99.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “restructured; plain” fits. Inspect FDC 2709433 when “restructured; flavored” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “restructured” and “plain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPotato chips, restructured, plain | 28 g152 kcal | 543 kcal | 4.6 g | 35.2 g | 2.9 g | 643 mg |
| Potato chips, plain | 28 g149 kcal | 532 kcal | 6.4 g | 34 g | 3.1 g | 527 mg |
| Potato chips, restructured, flavored | 28 g152 kcal | 542 kcal | 4.6 g | 35.1 g | 2.9 g | 757 mg |
| Potato chips, ruffled, plain | 28 g149 kcal | 532 kcal | 6.4 g | 34 g | 3.1 g | 527 mg |
| Potato chips, restructured, multigrain | 28 g141 kcal | 505 kcal | 5.3 g | 24.7 g | 2.7 g | 544 mg |
| Potato chips, baked, plain | 28 g131 kcal | 469 kcal | 5 g | 18.2 g | 4.8 g | 536 mg |
| Potato chips, popped, plain | 28 g131 kcal | 469 kcal | 5 g | 18.2 g | 4.8 g | 536 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709432: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709432, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
11 kcal
2 g
152 kcal
28 g
109 kcal
20 g
326 kcal
60 g
1,005 kcal
185 g
98 kcal
18 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709432, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
9.9 g≈ 13% Daily ValueSaturated fat
2.4 g≈ 12% Daily ValueSodium
180 mg≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709432’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 152 kcal 543 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 1.3 g 4.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 15.5 g 55.2 g | 6% 20% |
| Total fat | 9.9 g 35.2 g | 13% 45% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g 2.9 g | 3% 10% |
| Sugars | 0.2 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 180 mg 643 mg | 8% 28% |
| Saturated fat | 2.4 g 8.6 g | 12% 43% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.7 g 6.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.3 g 15.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 177.8 mg 635 mg | 4% 14% |
| Calcium | 4.8 mg 17 mg | 0% 1% |
| Iron | 0.2 mg 0.8 mg | 1% 4% |
| Magnesium | 11.2 mg 40 mg | 3% 10% |
| Vitamin C | 0.3 mg 1.2 mg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.7 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709432, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709432 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato chips, restructured, plain” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snack, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, plain, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snack, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, plainUSDA ingredient 19410 | 100 GM | 100 g | 99.7% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709432, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Potato chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 543 kcal | 542 kcal | +1 kcal |
| Protein | 4.6 g | 4.6 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 55.2 g | 55 g | +0.2 g |
| Total fat | 35.2 g | 35.1 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.9 g | 2.9 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 643 mg | 757 mg | −114 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 114 mg less sodium than “Potato chips, restructured, flavored.”
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Snack, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, plain; Salt, table.
The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 1-inch stack (28 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 1-inch stack (28 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709432 with FDC 2709433 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709432 versus FDC 2709433 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full potato chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2709432 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Potato chips, restructured, plain” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709432 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Potato chips, restructured, plain,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709432 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 543 kcal per 100 g becomes 152 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 1-inch stack has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709432
FNDDS food code: 71200300
The scaling for FDC 2709432 can be exact while the match to “Potato chips, restructured, plain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.