Energy
middle half487 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 487 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 487–532 kcal
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 136 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small bag · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g
136calories
Potato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 136 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 487 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 1.8 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 153 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, potato chips, barbecue-flavor, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 12–414 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709430: “Potato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709430, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 2.5 g | 12 kcal | 0.2 g | 0.1 g | 14 mg |
| 1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 136 kcal | 1.8 g | 1.1 g | 153 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 414 kcal | 5.5 g | 3.2 g | 463 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Potato chips USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709430’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half487 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half3.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half545 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709430’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C17 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium333 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium153 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.1 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Potato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709431 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2.5 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 12 kcal to 414 kcal.
The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2709430 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “ruffled” and “cheese flavored”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPotato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored | 28 g136 kcal | 487 kcal | 6.5 g | 31.1 g | 3.8 g | 545 mg |
| Potato chips, cheese flavored | 28 g136 kcal | 487 kcal | 6.5 g | 31.1 g | 3.8 g | 545 mg |
| Potato chips, ruffled, barbecue flavored | 28 g136 kcal | 487 kcal | 6.5 g | 31.1 g | 3.8 g | 545 mg |
| Potato chips, ruffled, other flavored | 28 g136 kcal | 487 kcal | 6.5 g | 31.1 g | 3.8 g | 545 mg |
| Potato chips, barbecue flavored | 28 g136 kcal | 487 kcal | 6.5 g | 31.1 g | 3.8 g | 545 mg |
| Potato chips, other flavored | 28 g136 kcal | 487 kcal | 6.5 g | 31.1 g | 3.8 g | 545 mg |
| Potato chips, ruffled, sour cream and onion flavored | 28 g136 kcal | 487 kcal | 6.5 g | 31.1 g | 3.8 g | 545 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709430: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709430, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
12 kcal
3 g
136 kcal
28 g
278 kcal
57 g
414 kcal
85 g
88 kcal
18 g
156 kcal
32 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709430, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin C
17.5 mg≈ 19% Daily ValueTotal fat
8.7 g≈ 11% Daily ValuePotassium
333.2 mg≈ 7% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709430’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 136 kcal 487 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 1.8 g 6.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 15.7 g 55.9 g | 6% 20% |
| Total fat | 8.7 g 31.1 g | 11% 40% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g 3.8 g | 4% 14% |
| Sugars | 1.5 g 5.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 152.6 mg 545 mg | 7% 24% |
| Saturated fat | 1.1 g 4 g | 6% 20% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.7 g 13.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.4 g 12.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 333.2 mg 1,190 mg | 7% 25% |
| Calcium | 9 mg 32 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 0.4 mg 1.4 mg | 2% 8% |
| Magnesium | 16.2 mg 58 mg | 4% 14% |
| Vitamin C | 17.5 mg 62.4 mg | 19% 69% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 5.6 µg 20 µg | 1% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.7 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709430, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709430 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Snacks, potato chips, barbecue-flavor is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, potato chips, barbecue-flavorUSDA ingredient 19042 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709430, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Potato chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
Source-equivalent fields
Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2709430 and FDC 2709431 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.
Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709430 versus FDC 2709431 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full potato chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2709430 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Potato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709430 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Potato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709430 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 487 kcal per 100 g becomes 136 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709430
FNDDS food code: 71200230
The scaling for FDC 2709430 can be exact while the match to “Potato chips, ruffled, cheese flavored” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.