Energy
upper quarter289 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 220 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 187–243 kcal
Based on 36 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 318 calories for 1 small fast food order (110 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Potato, french fries, restaurant
Quick facts
1 small fast food order · 110 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small fast food order · 110 g
318calories
Potato, french fries, restaurant
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 318 calories for 1 small fast food order at 110 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 289 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.8 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 393 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is restaurant, family style, french fries, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small fast food order at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 6–520 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709462: “Potato, french fries, restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709462, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 shoestring” through “1 large fast food order” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 shoestringUSDA-listed household measure | 2 g | 6 kcal | 0.1 g | 0.1 g | 7 mg |
| 1 small fast food orderUSDA-listed household measure | 110 g | 318 kcal | 3.8 g | 4.3 g | 393 mg |
| 1 large fast food orderUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 520 kcal | 6.3 g | 7 g | 643 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 36 exact records in the French fries and other fried white potatoes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709462’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter289 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter3.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half357 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709462’s 110 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber4.3 g
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium600 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium393 mg
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.7 g
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Potato, french fries, restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709465 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 6 kcal to 520 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.3 g more dietary fiber than “Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “french fries; restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2709465 when “french fries; with cheese; fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “french fries” and “restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPotato, french fries, restaurant | 110 g318 kcal | 289 kcal | 3.5 g | 14 g | 3.9 g | 357 mg |
| Potato, french fries, with cheese | 130 g338 kcal | 260 kcal | 3.3 g | 14.2 g | 2.6 g | 365 mg |
| Potato, french fries, with chili | 130 g313 kcal | 241 kcal | 5.2 g | 10.8 g | 3.6 g | 261 mg |
| Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant | 130 g338 kcal | 260 kcal | 3.3 g | 14.2 g | 2.6 g | 365 mg |
| Potato, french fries, with chili, fast food / restaurant | 130 g313 kcal | 241 kcal | 5.2 g | 10.8 g | 3.6 g | 261 mg |
| Potato, french fries, school | 110 g183 kcal | 166 kcal | 2 g | 9.2 g | 1.7 g | 147 mg |
| Potato, french fries, fast food | 110 g343 kcal | 312 kcal | 3.4 g | 14.7 g | 3.8 g | 210 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709462: its source amount is 110 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709462, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
202 kcal
70 g
246 kcal
85 g
318 kcal
110 g
419 kcal
145 g
520 kcal
180 g
14 kcal
5 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709462, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
15.4 g≈ 20% Daily ValueSodium
392.7 mg≈ 17% Daily ValueDietary fiber
4.3 g≈ 15% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709462’s 110 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2709462 at 110 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 110 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 318 kcal 289 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.8 g 3.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 40.9 g 37.2 g | 15% 14% |
| Total fat | 15.4 g 14 g | 20% 18% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.3 g 3.9 g | 15% 14% |
| Sugars | 0.3 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 392.7 mg 357 mg | 17% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 2.7 g 2.5 g | 14% 12% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.7 g 3.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 7.3 g 6.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 1.1 mg 1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 599.5 mg 545 mg | 13% 12% |
| Calcium | 18.7 mg 17 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 1 mg 0.9 mg | 6% 5% |
| Magnesium | 31.9 mg 29 mg | 8% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 1.2 mg 1.1 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 47.5 g 43.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709462, approximate percentages divide the displayed 110 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709462 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, french fries, restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Restaurant, family style, french fries is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Restaurant, family style, french friesUSDA ingredient 36014 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709462, the close-record rule searches the USDA “French fries and other fried white potatoes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 289 kcal | 260 kcal | +29 kcal |
| Protein | 3.5 g | 3.3 g | +0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 37.2 g | 29.8 g | +7.4 g |
| Total fat | 14 g | 14.2 g | −0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.9 g | 2.6 g | +1.3 g |
| Sodium | 357 mg | 365 mg | −8 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 29 more calories, 7.4 g more carbohydrate, and 1.3 g more dietary fiber than “Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant.”
Only this record lists Restaurant, family style, french fries. Only the comparison record lists Fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oil; Cheese sauce. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Restaurant, family style, french fries.
Listed only in the comparison: Fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oil; Cheese sauce.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 110 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small fast food order (110 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 value/dollar menu order (130 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709462 with FDC 2709465 at equal mass; use their 110 g and 130 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709462 versus FDC 2709465 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full french fries and other fried white potatoes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2709462 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Potato, french fries, restaurant” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709462 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method.
For “Potato, french fries, restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709462 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 289 kcal per 100 g becomes 318 kcal at 110 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small fast food order has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709462
FNDDS food code: 71401031
The scaling for FDC 2709462 can be exact while the match to “Potato, french fries, restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 110 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.