Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Roll, sweet, no frosting calories: 289 per 1 medium (90 g)

This exact USDA record reports 289 calories for 1 medium (90 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium · 90 g

Calories
289 kcal
Protein
9 g
Carbohydrate
48.2 g
Total fat
6.6 g
Fiber
2.8 g
Sodium
228 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium · 90 g

289calories

Roll, sweet, no frosting

Protein
9 g
Carbs
48.2 g
Fat
6.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707666

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 289 calories for 1 medium at 90 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 321 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 9 g protein, 2.8 g fiber, and 228 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is rolls, dinner, sweet, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 21–1,692 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707666: “Roll, sweet, no frosting.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707666, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 loaf” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 6.5 g 21 kcal 0.7 g 0.2 g 16 mg
1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure 90 g 289 kcal 9 g 2.8 g 228 mg
1 loafUSDA-listed household measure 527 g 1,692 kcal 52.7 g 16.3 g 1,333 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries

The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707666’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

321 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
376 kcal
Middle 50%
342–430 kcal

Based on 18 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

10 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.1 g
Middle 50%
4.6–7.6 g

Based on 18 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

3.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1.2–2.1 g

Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

253 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
298 mg
Middle 50%
205–418 mg

Based on 18 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707666’s 90 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber2.8 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat3.2 g

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium228 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Roll, sweet, no frosting,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707668 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 loaf

    USDA assigns those measures 6.5 g and 527 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 21 kcal to 1,692 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707668

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 19.2 g less total fat than “Roll, sweet, cinnamon bun, frosted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Rolls, dinner, sweet

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “sweet; no frosting” fits. Inspect FDC 2707668 when “sweet; cinnamon bun; frosted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Roll, sweet, no frosting

Exact source wording
“Roll, sweet, no frosting”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707666 · FNDDS 51160000
Named qualifiers
sweet · no frosting
Source inputs unique in this pair
Rolls, dinner, sweet

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Roll, sweet, cinnamon bun, frosted

Exact source wording
“Roll, sweet, cinnamon bun, frosted”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707668 · FNDDS 51160110
Named qualifiers
sweet · cinnamon bun · frosted
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cinnamon buns, frosted (includes honey buns)

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “sweet” and “no frosting”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordRoll, sweet, no frosting 90 g289 kcal 321 kcal 10 g 7.4 g 3.1 g 253 mg
Roll, sweet, cinnamon bun, frosted 90 g407 kcal 452 kcal 4.5 g 26.6 g 1.2 g 305 mg

How to compare FDC 2707666: its source amount is 90 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707666, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small

173 kcal

54 g

1 medium

289 kcal

90 g

1 large

491 kcal

153 g

1 loaf

1,692 kcal

527 g

1 cubic inch

21 kcal

7 g

1 miniature

96 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707666, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

48.2 g≈ 18% Daily Value

Cholesterol

49.5 mg≈ 17% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707666’s 90 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707666 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707666 at 90 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 2.8 g dietary fiber, about 10% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 90 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 289 kcal Not established
Protein 9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 48.2 g 18%
Total fat 6.6 g 9%
Dietary fiber 2.8 g 10%
Sugars 13.9 g Not established
Sodium 227.7 mg 10%
Saturated fat 3.2 g 16%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 49.5 mg 17%
Potassium 134.1 mg 3%
Calcium 55.8 mg 4%
Iron 2.5 mg 14%
Magnesium 21.6 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0.2 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 36 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 25 g Not established

For FDC 2707666, approximate percentages divide the displayed 90 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707666 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Roll, sweet, no frosting” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Rolls, dinner, sweet is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Rolls, dinner, sweetUSDA ingredient 28348 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707666, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories321 kcal452 kcal−131 kcal
Protein10 g4.5 g+5.6 g
Carbohydrate53.6 g48.6 g+5 g
Total fat7.4 g26.6 g−19.2 g
Dietary fiber3.1 g1.2 g+1.9 g
Sodium253 mg305 mg−52 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 131 less calories, 5.6 g more protein, and 19.2 g less total fat than “Roll, sweet, cinnamon bun, frosted.”

Only this record lists Rolls, dinner, sweet. Only the comparison record lists Cinnamon buns, frosted (includes honey buns). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Rolls, dinner, sweet.

Listed only in the comparison: Cinnamon buns, frosted (includes honey buns).

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (90 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (90 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707666 with FDC 2707668 at equal mass; use their 90 g and 90 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707666 versus FDC 2707668 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Roll, sweet, no frosting,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707666 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 321 kcal per 100 g becomes 289 kcal at 90 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707666

FNDDS food code: 51160000

The scaling for FDC 2707666 can be exact while the match to “Roll, sweet, no frosting” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 90 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.