Energy
lower quarter180 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 228 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 206–246 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 333 calories for 1 sandwich (185 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 185 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich, any size · 185 g
333calories
Sloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 333 calories for 1 sandwich at 185 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 180 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 21.8 g protein, 4.1 g fiber, and 635 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is sloppy joe, no bun, representing 67.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706884: “Sloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706884, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 138.8 g | 250 kcal | 16.4 g | 3.1 g | 476 mg |
| 1 sandwich, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 185 g | 333 kcal | 21.8 g | 4.1 g | 635 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 231.3 g | 416 kcal | 27.3 g | 5.1 g | 793 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Meat and BBQ sandwiches USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706884’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter180 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter11.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter343 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706884’s 185 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron4 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber4.1 g
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium635 mg
≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.1 g
≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Sloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706883 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 138.8–231.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 250 kcal and 416 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.1 g more dietary fiber than “Sloppy joe sandwich, on white bun.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Sloppy joe, no bun supplies 67.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “on wheat bun” fits. Inspect FDC 2706883 when “on white bun” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “on wheat bun”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun | 185 g333 kcal | 180 kcal | 11.8 g | 6.4 g | 2.2 g | 343 mg |
| Sloppy joe sandwich, on white bun | 185 g342 kcal | 185 kcal | 11.3 g | 6.4 g | 1.1 g | 360 mg |
| Barbecue chicken sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g358 kcal | 199 kcal | 16.5 g | 4.4 g | 2 g | 513 mg |
| Barbecue pork sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g428 kcal | 238 kcal | 15.5 g | 8.9 g | 2 g | 549 mg |
| Barbecue beef sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g432 kcal | 240 kcal | 17 g | 8.5 g | 2 g | 544 mg |
| Barbecue chicken sandwich, on white bun | 180 g367 kcal | 204 kcal | 15.9 g | 4.4 g | 0.8 g | 531 mg |
| Steak sandwich or sub on wheat | 115 g284 kcal | 247 kcal | 18.9 g | 8.3 g | 2.8 g | 406 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706884: its source amount is 185 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706884, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
333 kcal
185 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706884, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
634.6 mg≈ 28% Daily ValueIron
4 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706884’s 185 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706884 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 21.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706884 at 185 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 185 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 333 kcal 180 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 21.8 g 11.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 34 g 18.4 g | 12% 7% |
| Total fat | 11.9 g 6.4 g | 15% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.1 g 2.2 g | 15% 8% |
| Sugars | 7.9 g 4.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 634.6 mg 343 mg | 28% 15% |
| Saturated fat | 4.1 g 2.2 g | 20% 11% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.6 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 48.1 mg 26 mg | 16% 9% |
| Potassium | 468.1 mg 253 mg | 10% 5% |
| Calcium | 120.3 mg 65 mg | 9% 5% |
| Iron | 4 mg 2.2 mg | 22% 12% |
| Magnesium | 55.5 mg 30 mg | 13% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 10.2 mg 5.5 mg | 11% 6% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 13 µg 7 µg | 1% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 114.1 g 61.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706884, approximate percentages divide the displayed 185 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706884 to 2 source inputs totaling 185 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Sloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Sloppy joe, no bun, Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
185 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995135 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 32.4% |
| 2 | Sloppy joe, no bunUSDA ingredient 27111500 | 125 GM | 125 g | 67.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706884, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat and BBQ sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 180 kcal | 185 kcal | −5 kcal |
| Protein | 11.8 g | 11.3 g | +0.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 18.4 g | 20 g | −1.6 g |
| Total fat | 6.4 g | 6.4 g | +0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.2 g | 1.1 g | +1.1 g |
| Sodium | 343 mg | 360 mg | −17 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.1 g more dietary fiber than “Sloppy joe sandwich, on white bun.”
Only this record lists Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches. Only the comparison record lists Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Sloppy joe, no bun.
Listed only in this record: Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches.
Listed only in the comparison: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 185 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (185 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 185 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (185 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706884 with FDC 2706883 at equal mass; use their 185 g and 185 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706884 versus FDC 2706883 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat and bbq sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Sloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706884 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Sloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706884 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 180 kcal per 100 g becomes 333 kcal at 185 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706884
FNDDS food code: 27510105
The scaling for FDC 2706884 can be exact while the match to “Sloppy joe sandwich, on wheat bun” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 185 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.