Energy
upper quarter247 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 228 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 206–246 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 284 calories for 1 regular (115 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 115 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 115 g
284calories
Steak sandwich or sub on wheat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 284 calories for 1 regular at 115 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 247 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 21.7 g protein, 3.2 g fiber, and 467 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, representing 51.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 148–432 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706959: “Steak sandwich or sub on wheat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706959, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure | 60 g | 148 kcal | 11.3 g | 1.7 g | 244 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 115 g | 284 kcal | 21.7 g | 3.2 g | 467 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 175 g | 432 kcal | 33.1 g | 4.9 g | 711 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Meat and BBQ sandwiches USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706959’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter247 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter18.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter406 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706959’s 115 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber3.2 g
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium467 mg
≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.4 g
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Steak sandwich or sub on wheat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706961 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 60 g and 175 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 148 kcal to 432 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.9 g less total fat than “Cheese steak sandwich or sub on wheat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches supplies 51.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Steak sandwich or sub on wheat” fits. Inspect FDC 2706961 when the exact wording “Cheese steak sandwich or sub on wheat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSteak sandwich or sub on wheat | 115 g284 kcal | 247 kcal | 18.9 g | 8.3 g | 2.8 g | 406 mg |
| Cheese steak sandwich or sub on wheat | 145 g389 kcal | 268 kcal | 19.2 g | 12.2 g | 2.2 g | 523 mg |
| Steak sandwich or sub on white | 115 g286 kcal | 249 kcal | 17.9 g | 8.1 g | 1.2 g | 411 mg |
| Cheese steak sandwich or sub on white | 145 g392 kcal | 270 kcal | 18.4 g | 12 g | 1 g | 527 mg |
| Meatball sandwich or sub | 180 g373 kcal | 207 kcal | 11.3 g | 8.2 g | 1.2 g | 511 mg |
| Barbecue beef sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g432 kcal | 240 kcal | 17 g | 8.5 g | 2 g | 544 mg |
| Barbecue pork sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g428 kcal | 238 kcal | 15.5 g | 8.9 g | 2 g | 549 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706959: its source amount is 115 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706959, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
284 kcal
115 g
432 kcal
175 g
432 kcal
175 g
148 kcal
60 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706959, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
466.9 mg≈ 20% Daily ValueIron
3.3 mg≈ 19% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706959’s 115 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706959 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 21.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706959 at 115 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 115 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 284 kcal 247 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 21.7 g 18.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 27 g 23.5 g | 10% 9% |
| Total fat | 9.5 g 8.3 g | 12% 11% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.2 g 2.8 g | 12% 10% |
| Sugars | 3.1 g 2.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 466.9 mg 406 mg | 20% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 3.4 g 2.9 g | 17% 15% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.6 g 3.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 46 mg 40 mg | 15% 13% |
| Potassium | 289.8 mg 252 mg | 6% 5% |
| Calcium | 104.7 mg 91 mg | 8% 7% |
| Iron | 3.3 mg 2.9 mg | 19% 16% |
| Magnesium | 44.9 mg 39 mg | 11% 9% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 2.3 µg 2 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 54.6 g 47.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706959, approximate percentages divide the displayed 115 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706959 to 2 source inputs totaling 116 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Steak sandwich or sub on wheat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, Beef, steak, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
116 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995130 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 51.7% |
| 2 | Beef, steak, NFSUSDA ingredient 21101000 | 56 GM | 56 g | 48.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706959, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat and BBQ sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 247 kcal | 268 kcal | −21 kcal |
| Protein | 18.9 g | 19.2 g | −0.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 23.5 g | 19.9 g | +3.6 g |
| Total fat | 8.3 g | 12.2 g | −3.9 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.8 g | 2.2 g | +0.6 g |
| Sodium | 406 mg | 523 mg | −117 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 21 less calories, 3.6 g more carbohydrate, and 3.9 g less total fat than “Cheese steak sandwich or sub on wheat.”
Only the comparison record lists Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches; Beef, steak, NFS.
Listed only in the comparison: Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (115 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 145 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (145 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706959 with FDC 2706961 at equal mass; use their 115 g and 145 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706959 versus FDC 2706961 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat and bbq sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Steak sandwich or sub on wheat,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706959 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 247 kcal per 100 g becomes 284 kcal at 115 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706959
FNDDS food code: 27514020
The scaling for FDC 2706959 can be exact while the match to “Steak sandwich or sub on wheat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 115 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.