Energy
middle half207 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 228 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 206–246 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 373 calories for 1 regular (180 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 180 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 180 g
373calories
Meatball sandwich or sub
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 373 calories for 1 regular at 180 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 207 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 20.3 g protein, 2.2 g fiber, and 920 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain, representing 33% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 186–559 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706945: “Meatball sandwich or sub.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706945, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 186 kcal | 10.2 g | 1.1 g | 460 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 373 kcal | 20.3 g | 2.2 g | 920 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 270 g | 559 kcal | 30.5 g | 3.2 g | 1,380 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Meat and BBQ sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706945’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half207 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter11.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half511 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706945’s 180 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium320 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron4 mg
≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium920 mg
≈ 40% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.2 g
≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Meatball sandwich or sub,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706960 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 90 g and 270 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 186 kcal to 559 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.1 g less protein than “Cheese steak sandwich or sub on white.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain supplies 33% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Meatball sandwich or sub” fits. Inspect FDC 2706960 when the exact wording “Cheese steak sandwich or sub on white” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordMeatball sandwich or sub | 180 g373 kcal | 207 kcal | 11.3 g | 8.2 g | 1.2 g | 511 mg |
| Steak sandwich or sub on wheat | 115 g284 kcal | 247 kcal | 18.9 g | 8.3 g | 2.8 g | 406 mg |
| Steak sandwich or sub on white | 115 g286 kcal | 249 kcal | 17.9 g | 8.1 g | 1.2 g | 411 mg |
| Cheese steak sandwich or sub on wheat | 145 g389 kcal | 268 kcal | 19.2 g | 12.2 g | 2.2 g | 523 mg |
| Cheese steak sandwich or sub on white | 145 g392 kcal | 270 kcal | 18.4 g | 12 g | 1 g | 527 mg |
| Meatloaf sandwich | 135 g293 kcal | 217 kcal | 11.8 g | 6.2 g | 1.3 g | 494 mg |
| Pork sandwich | 115 g260 kcal | 226 kcal | 17.7 g | 5.5 g | 1.2 g | 403 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706945: its source amount is 180 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706945, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
373 kcal
180 g
559 kcal
270 g
559 kcal
270 g
186 kcal
90 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706945, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
919.8 mg≈ 40% Daily ValueSaturated fat
6.2 g≈ 31% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706945’s 180 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706945 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 20.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706945 at 180 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 180 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 373 kcal 207 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 20.3 g 11.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 38.3 g 21.3 g | 14% 8% |
| Total fat | 14.8 g 8.2 g | 19% 11% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.2 g 1.2 g | 8% 4% |
| Sugars | 8.4 g 4.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 919.8 mg 511 mg | 40% 22% |
| Saturated fat | 6.2 g 3.4 g | 31% 17% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.5 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.8 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 61.2 mg 34 mg | 20% 11% |
| Potassium | 397.8 mg 221 mg | 8% 5% |
| Calcium | 320.4 mg 178 mg | 25% 14% |
| Iron | 3.6 mg 2 mg | 20% 11% |
| Magnesium | 37.8 mg 21 mg | 9% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 2 mg 1.1 mg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.9 µg 0.5 µg | 5% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 77.4 µg 43 µg | 9% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 102.6 g 57 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706945, approximate percentages divide the displayed 180 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706945 to 4 source inputs totaling 182 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Meatball sandwich or sub” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain, Meat loaf made with beef, Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
182 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plainUSDA ingredient 18350 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 33% |
| 2 | Meat loaf made with beefUSDA ingredient 27214100 | 56 GM | 56 g | 30.8% |
| 3 | Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6931 · encyclopedia page available | 45 GM | 45 g | 24.7% |
| 4 | Cheese as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99991400 · encyclopedia page available | 21 GM | 21 g | 11.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706945, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat and BBQ sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 207 kcal | 270 kcal | −63 kcal |
| Protein | 11.3 g | 18.4 g | −7.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 21.3 g | 21.5 g | −0.2 g |
| Total fat | 8.2 g | 12 g | −3.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 511 mg | 527 mg | −16 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 63 less calories, 7.1 g less protein, and 3.8 g less total fat than “Cheese steak sandwich or sub on white.”
Only this record lists Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain; Meat loaf made with beef; Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve. Only the comparison record lists Bread, white, commercially prepared; Beef, steak, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches.
Listed only in this record: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain; Meat loaf made with beef; Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve.
Listed only in the comparison: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Beef, steak, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (180 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 145 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (145 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706945 with FDC 2706960 at equal mass; use their 180 g and 145 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706945 versus FDC 2706960 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat and bbq sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Meatball sandwich or sub,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706945 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 207 kcal per 100 g becomes 373 kcal at 180 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706945
FNDDS food code: 27510700
The scaling for FDC 2706945 can be exact while the match to “Meatball sandwich or sub” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 180 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.